Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Abilene Christian University

Abilene, TX · 30 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 29 · Federal debt reported for 15

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$171,098 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

25.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−60%Estimated return after 10 years
$56,363Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$171,098at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$284,7280
2
4
6
8
−$171,09810
Years after graduationBreak-even: 25.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$44,200
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$44,200
Sticker price
Average net price$26,182
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$59,256
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$44,200Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,250Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$14,540$3,272 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$63,262Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,540 housing and food allowance plus $3,272 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$56,363 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online36%
2,105 students
Some online courses39%
2,318 students
No online courses25%
1,449 students
Undergraduates age 25+2.0%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Texas run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing3% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$26,182Average net price / year
$59,256Cost of attendance
$24,250Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$257/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$56,363Median earnings · year 5 after completion
59.0%Completion rate
66.0%Admission rate
1,194Average SAT score
25ACT midpoint
3,195Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Abilene Christian University

What does Abilene Christian University cost?

Abilene Christian University reports an average annual net price of $26,182 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Abilene Christian University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $56,363 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Abilene Christian University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $24,250. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Abilene Christian University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 30 field-and-degree records for Abilene Christian University; 29 report year-4 earnings and 15 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year66%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years70%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years74%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years77%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$24,250Median federal debt · 981 borrowers
Students who withdrew$6,334Median federal debt · 778 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

6,355Students enrolled at any point
3,664Undergraduate students
2,691Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$20,285
$30–48k$21,150
$48–75k$23,012
$75–110k$27,576
$110k+$31,763
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$56,363
Year 6$46,727
Year 10$55,736
Full-time retention
80.5%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
61.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students45%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

42% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$26,839

Median Parent PLUS debt

381 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$13,500

Median federal student debt

58% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$46,572Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$54,322Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$60,528Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income57%
Middle income65%
Higher income79%
Undergraduate student composition
White61%
Black7%
Hispanic19%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

74thEarnings percentile
51thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$60,600Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,021Median federal debt across categories that report debt
48%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$45,274Year 1
$59,305Year 4
$56,363Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$105,1732Accounting and Related Services · Master's Degree$99,3193Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$93,0324Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$91,8945Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$89,0796Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other · Master's Degree$84,1727Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$83,5258Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions · Master's Degree$78,976

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree · $93,032 reported+22%vs same-degree national median$22,142federal debt2Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree · $70,864 reported+20%vs same-degree national median$16,500federal debt3Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree · $62,645 reported+15%vs same-degree national median$21,948federal debt4Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherMaster's Degree · $84,172 reported+12%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree · $78,976 reported+11%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Theology and Religious Vocations, OtherBachelor's Degree · $47,663 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$23,250federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TX

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Austin, TX

Saint Edward's University

Annual net price
$25,578
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,788
Modeled 10-year ROI
-58%
Open college profile →
Dallas, TX

Dallas Baptist University

Annual net price
$28,516
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,964
Modeled 10-year ROI
-59%
Open college profile →
Belton, TX

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Annual net price
$26,106
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,381
Modeled 10-year ROI
-49%
Open college profile →
Georgetown, TX

Southwestern University

Annual net price
$29,224
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,682
Modeled 10-year ROI
-61%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 30 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$105,173Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$99,319Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$93,032$22,142Not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$91,894Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$89,079$24,850Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherMaster's Degree$84,172Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$83,525$22,406Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree$78,976Not availableNot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree$70,864$16,500Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$65,244$24,021Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$64,230Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$63,259$21,5002
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$62,645$21,948Not reported
Social WorkMaster's Degree$60,816Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$60,600Not availableNot reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree$57,443Not availableNot reported
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionGraduate/Professional Certificate$56,391Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$55,649Not availableNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree$55,407Not available0
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionMaster's Degree$54,949Not availableNot reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$53,877$25,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$51,705$26,375Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree$51,695Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$51,334$27,209Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$50,525$26,000Not reported
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree$49,818$21,875Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$49,566$27,000Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$49,202Not availableNot reported
Theology and Religious Vocations, OtherBachelor's Degree$47,663$23,250Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's DegreeNot available$26,500Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.