Private for-profit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Associated Barber College of San Diego

San Diego, CA · 1 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 1 · Federal debt reported for 1

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$448,650 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−164%Estimated return after 10 years
$27,417Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$448,650at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$272,8200
2
4
6
8
−$448,65010
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuitionNot available
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuitionNot available
Sticker price
Average net price$23,205
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$30,229
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$27,417 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Attendance format is not fully reported.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully onlineNot reported
Not reported students
Some online coursesNot reported
Not reported students
No online courses100%
172 students
Undergraduates age 25+68%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Main award level
Certificates
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in California run 11% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% above U.S.
Goods6% above U.S.
Housing54% above U.S.
Utilities59% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$23,205Average net price / year
$30,229Cost of attendance
$16,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$175/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$27,417Median earnings · year 5 after completion
81.4%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
121Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Associated Barber College of San Diego

What does Associated Barber College of San Diego cost?

Associated Barber College of San Diego reports an average annual net price of $23,205 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Associated Barber College of San Diego graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $27,417 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Associated Barber College of San Diego graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $16,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Associated Barber College of San Diego worth the same?

No. The current release contains 1 field-and-degree records for Associated Barber College of San Diego; 1 report year-4 earnings and 1 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

Students who completed$16,500Median federal debt · 54 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

157Students enrolled at any point
157Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$22,954
$30–48k$23,514
$48–75k$26,031
$75–110k$29,256
$110k+Not available
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$27,417
Year 6Not available
Year 10Not available
Full-time retention
93.7%
Part-time retention
100.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
76.1%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students79%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

Pell receipt not reported
Parent borrowingNot available

Median Parent PLUS debt

Borrower count not reported
First-generation studentsNot available

Median federal student debt

Three-year repayment not reported
Undergraduate student composition
White8%
Black34%
Hispanic51%
Asian7%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

18thEarnings percentile
83thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$15,201Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$16,395Median federal debt across categories that report debt
0%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$11,558Year 1
$15,708Year 4
$27,417Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$15,201

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $15,201 reported-42%vs same-degree national median$16,395federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in CA

Currently operating private for-profit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Clovis, CA

Milan Institute-Clovis

Annual net price
$23,238
Observed earnings · year 5
$25,031
Modeled 10-year ROI
-173%
Open college profile →
Merced, CA

Milan Institute-Merced

Annual net price
$23,396
Observed earnings · year 5
$25,031
Modeled 10-year ROI
-173%
Open college profile →
Palm Desert, CA

Milan Institute-Palm Desert

Annual net price
$24,730
Observed earnings · year 5
$28,536
Modeled 10-year ROI
-159%
Open college profile →
Costa Mesa, CA

Paul Mitchell the School-Costa Mesa

Annual net price
$21,920
Observed earnings · year 5
$25,635
Modeled 10-year ROI
-172%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 1 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$15,201$16,39569

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.