Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Boston University

Boston, MA · 96 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 94 · Federal debt reported for 41

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$45,462 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

8.6 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+16%Estimated return after 10 years
$77,307Observed earnings · year 5
$35,768Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $11,366 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$45,462at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$277,6080
2
4
6
8
+$45,46210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 8.6 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$68,102
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$68,102
Sticker price
Average net price$24,402
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$86,285
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$68,102Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,000Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$19,020$2,085 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$90,207Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $19,020 housing and food allowance plus $2,085 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$77,307 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students study without distance-education courses.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online15%
6,665 students
Some online courses9.8%
4,430 students
No online courses76%
34,285 students
Undergraduates age 25+2.9%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
New England Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

46 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Massachusetts run 6% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall6% above U.S.
Goods1% below U.S.
Housing28% above U.S.
Utilities52% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$24,402Average net price / year
$86,285Cost of attendance
$23,250Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$246/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$77,307Median earnings · year 5 after completion
88.7%Completion rate
11.1%Admission rate
1,480Average SAT score
33ACT midpoint
18,248Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Boston University

What does Boston University cost?

Boston University reports an average annual net price of $24,402 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Boston University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $77,307 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Boston University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $23,250. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Boston University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 96 field-and-degree records for Boston University; 94 report year-4 earnings and 41 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year79%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years89%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$23,250Median federal debt · 3,804 borrowers
Students who withdrew$12,000Median federal debt · 870 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

43,786Students enrolled at any point
21,711Undergraduate students
22,075Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$9,500
$30–48k$9,342
$48–75k$11,778
$75–110k$22,517
$110k+$47,504
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$77,307
Year 6$65,655
Year 10$83,238
Full-time retention
94.7%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
89.9%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students89%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

86% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$53,754

Median Parent PLUS debt

888 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$21,500

Median federal student debt

76% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$82,963Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$82,077Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$84,188Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income75%
Middle income80%
Higher income85%
Undergraduate student composition
White32%
Black6%
Hispanic11%
Asian21%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

94thEarnings percentile
91thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$77,709Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$26,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
85%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$55,834Year 1
$83,615Year 4
$77,307Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences · Graduate/Professional Certificate$263,4862Law · First Professional Degree$194,7503Dentistry · First Professional Degree$180,6334Insurance · Master's Degree$177,6425Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies · Master's Degree$156,0876Computer Science · Master's Degree$153,9377Health and Medical Administrative Services · Master's Degree$150,8278Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$147,178

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree · $110,622 reported+99%vs same-degree national median$22,625federal debt2LawFirst Professional Degree · $194,750 reported+81%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherMaster's Degree · $138,128 reported+69%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree · $150,827 reported+68%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree · $108,412 reported+59%vs same-degree national median$25,000federal debt6InsuranceMaster's Degree · $177,642 reported+55%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MA

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Boston, MA

Boston Architectural College

Annual net price
$25,865
Observed earnings · year 5
$75,759
Modeled 10-year ROI
+9%
Open college profile →
Brockton, MA

Signature Healthcare Brockton Hospital School of Nursing

Annual net price
$22,761
Observed earnings · year 5
$80,662
Modeled 10-year ROI
+32%
Open college profile →
Paxton, MA

Anna Maria College

Annual net price
$28,333
Observed earnings · year 5
$75,529
Modeled 10-year ROI
+4%
Open college profile →
Boston, MA

Simmons University

Annual net price
$25,265
Observed earnings · year 5
$72,384
Modeled 10-year ROI
-3%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 96 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesGraduate/Professional Certificate$263,486Not availableNot reported
LawFirst Professional Degree$194,750Not availableNot reported
DentistryFirst Professional Degree$180,633Not availableNot reported
InsuranceMaster's Degree$177,642Not availableNot reported
Legal Research and Advanced Professional StudiesMaster's Degree$156,087Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree$153,937Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$150,827Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$147,178Not availableNot reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsMaster's Degree$140,032Not availableNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherMaster's Degree$138,128Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$136,667$23,250Not reported
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree$136,425Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$135,394$26,8660
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$118,168Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesMaster's Degree$117,293Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$117,154Not availableNot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$113,482Not availableNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree$110,622$22,6255
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$108,412$25,0006
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$106,292Not availableNot reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyMaster's Degree$104,263Not availableNot reported
MarketingMaster's Degree$103,316Not availableNot reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree$102,530Not availableNot reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherMaster's Degree$101,267Not available0
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,024$26,848Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$98,953$26,646Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$96,723$24,500Not reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyMaster's Degree$96,565Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$95,757$26,400Not reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesDoctoral Degree$91,158Not available29
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster's Degree$90,212Not availableNot reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree$88,820Not availableNot reported
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherMaster's Degree$87,544Not availableNot reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$86,687Not available138
Nutrition SciencesMaster's Degree$84,870Not availableNot reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$84,784$19,750Not reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$83,413$26,773Not reported
JournalismMaster's Degree$82,549Not availableNot reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree$82,302$26,000Not reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesMaster's Degree$81,518Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Boston University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.