Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Clemson University

Clemson, SC · 80 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 78 · Federal debt reported for 52

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$3,618 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

9.9 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+1%Estimated return after 10 years
$72,263Observed earnings · year 5
$23,158Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $905 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$3,618at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$269,0120
2
4
6
8
+$3,61810
Years after graduationBreak-even: 9.9 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$15,554
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$40,866
Sticker price
Average net price$22,253
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$35,015
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$15,554$40,866 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,456Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$13,284$5,520 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$35,814Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $13,284 housing and food allowance plus $5,520 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$72,263 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online9.9%
3,114 students
Some online courses52%
16,487 students
No online courses38%
12,011 students
Undergraduates age 25+2.4%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Suburban
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
Land-grant institution
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in South Carolina run 6% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall6% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing20% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services2% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$22,253Average net price / year
$35,015Cost of attendance
$21,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$228/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$72,263Median earnings · year 5 after completion
86.6%Completion rate
38.3%Admission rate
1,353Average SAT score
30ACT midpoint
23,300Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Clemson University

What does Clemson University cost?

Clemson University reports an average annual net price of $22,253 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Clemson University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $72,263 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Clemson University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Clemson University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 80 field-and-degree records for Clemson University; 78 report year-4 earnings and 52 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year72%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years78%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,500Median federal debt · 4,860 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,750Median federal debt · 1,849 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

31,678Students enrolled at any point
24,916Undergraduate students
6,762Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$13,607
$30–48k$14,109
$48–75k$18,851
$75–110k$24,833
$110k+$27,922
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$72,263
Year 6$58,311
Year 10$71,513
Full-time retention
93.5%
Part-time retention
80.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
86.1%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students80%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

79% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$35,500

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,817 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$19,500

Median federal student debt

72% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$62,688Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$68,925Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$75,080Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income67%
Middle income75%
Higher income83%
Undergraduate student composition
White76%
Black5%
Hispanic9%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Clinical Psychology.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 42
Not availableYear 1
$123,601Year 5
$179,858Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$88,775Year 1
$134,767Year 5
$160,199Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$88,935Year 1
$124,854Year 5
$150,773Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$75,262Year 1
$107,201Year 5
$137,412Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$84,496Year 1
$107,546Year 5
$133,492Year 10
Agricultural Business and Management.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 01
$76,015Year 1
$115,056Year 5
$132,226Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$61,332Year 1
$107,824Year 5
$130,533Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$72,252Year 1
$102,556Year 5
$125,595Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

91thEarnings percentile
89thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$71,743Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$23,250Median federal debt across categories that report debt
47%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$51,401Year 1
$75,142Year 4
$72,263Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Industrial Engineering · Master's Degree$136,0582Real Estate · Master's Degree$119,1153Engineering, Other · Master's Degree$114,4554Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$114,3995Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$109,4706Information Science/Studies · Bachelor's Degree$105,6467Computer Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$102,7628Mechanical Engineering · Master's Degree$102,636

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1MarketingNon-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification) · $96,856 reported+47%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree · $67,102 reported+38%vs same-degree national median$23,250federal debt3Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, OtherBachelor's Degree · $69,274 reported+37%vs same-degree national median$22,715federal debt4Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyBachelor's Degree · $81,526 reported+30%vs same-degree national median$25,762federal debt5Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree · $66,150 reported+28%vs same-degree national median$26,000federal debt6Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree · $70,584 reported+28%vs same-degree national median$26,500federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in SC

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Charleston, SC

Citadel Military College of South Carolina

Annual net price
$20,723
Observed earnings · year 5
$77,277
Modeled 10-year ROI
+23%
Open college profile →
Columbia, SC

University of South Carolina-Columbia

Annual net price
$22,811
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,564
Modeled 10-year ROI
-35%
Open college profile →
Charleston, SC

College of Charleston

Annual net price
$18,960
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,011
Modeled 10-year ROI
-65%
Open college profile →
Spartanburg, SC

University of South Carolina-Upstate

Annual net price
$13,557
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,851
Modeled 10-year ROI
-66%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 80 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree$136,058Not availableNot reported
Real EstateMaster's Degree$119,115Not availableNot reported
Engineering, OtherMaster's Degree$114,455Not available15
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$114,399Not available1
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$109,470Not available0
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$105,646$25,964Not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$102,762$26,955Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$102,636Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$102,502Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$101,301$22,498Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$100,816Not availableNot reported
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$98,726$22,6751
MarketingNon-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification)$96,856Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$96,446$26,0000
Engineering-Related FieldsBachelor's Degree$94,449$25,0000
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$93,705$22,5000
Industrial EngineeringNon-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification)$93,702Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,491$26,7500
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$92,184Not availableNot reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,098$21,450Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$91,269$20,000Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$91,028$24,125Not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$89,331Not availableNot reported
Agricultural EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,338Not availableNot reported
Materials EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,883$25,243Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$84,873$25,7500
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$84,458$23,250Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$82,450$22,500Not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree$81,714$20,500Not reported
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyBachelor's Degree$81,526$25,762Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$81,109$23,250Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$79,651Not availableNot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$79,468$22,250Not reported
ArchitectureMaster's Degree$76,905Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$75,417Not available14
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$74,491$23,000Not reported
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyMaster's Degree$73,050Not availableNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$72,010$19,500Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree$71,968$23,375Not reported
Historic Preservation and ConservationMaster's Degree$71,518Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Clemson University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.