Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

DePaul University

Chicago, IL · 82 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 81 · Federal debt reported for 44

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$46,468 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

11.8 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−15%Estimated return after 10 years
$70,714Observed earnings · year 5
$19,285Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $11,617 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$46,468at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$303,6080
2
4
6
8
−$46,46810
Years after graduationBreak-even: 11.8 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$45,999
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$45,999
Sticker price
Average net price$30,902
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$63,052
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$45,999Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,104Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$19,095$2,829 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$69,027Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $19,095 housing and food allowance plus $2,829 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$70,714 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online22%
5,382 students
Some online courses60%
14,732 students
No online courses18%
4,319 students
Undergraduates age 25+9.7%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

18 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Illinois run 0% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall0% below U.S.
Goods4% above U.S.
Housing6% below U.S.
Utilities15% below U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$30,902Average net price / year
$63,052Cost of attendance
$23,168Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$246/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$70,714Median earnings · year 5 after completion
67.8%Completion rate
75.9%Admission rate
1,262Average SAT score
14,090Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about DePaul University

What does DePaul University cost?

DePaul University reports an average annual net price of $30,902 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do DePaul University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $70,714 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do DePaul University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $23,168. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at DePaul University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 82 field-and-degree records for DePaul University; 81 report year-4 earnings and 44 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year57%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years62%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years66%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years71%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$23,168Median federal debt · 4,792 borrowers
Students who withdrew$10,000Median federal debt · 2,995 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

24,279Students enrolled at any point
15,665Undergraduate students
8,614Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$27,359
$30–48k$25,950
$48–75k$28,687
$75–110k$31,057
$110k+$37,092
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$70,714
Year 6$54,695
Year 10$68,751
Full-time retention
85.5%
Part-time retention
75.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
70.7%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students63%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

63% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$41,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

2,970 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$19,500

Median federal student debt

60% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$65,097Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$69,926Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$72,399Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income51%
Middle income62%
Higher income74%
Undergraduate student composition
White44%
Black8%
Hispanic25%
Asian13%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$109,801Year 1
$135,951Year 5
$175,207Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$91,685Year 1
$119,554Year 5
$164,985Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$101,900Year 1
$125,646Year 5
$153,894Year 10
Law.Doctoral, professional practice · Broad federal field 22
$69,713Year 1
$100,928Year 5
$137,562Year 10
Clinical Psychology.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 42
$70,012Year 1
$105,799Year 5
$134,767Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$79,999Year 1
$99,890Year 5
$128,031Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$60,248Year 1
$87,389Year 5
$120,263Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$54,327Year 1
$83,819Year 5
$118,140Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

90thEarnings percentile
64thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$75,622Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,875Median federal debt across categories that report debt
73%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$47,990Year 1
$73,466Year 4
$70,714Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Doctoral Degree$187,3642Computer Software and Media Applications · Master's Degree$158,6673Computer Programming · Master's Degree$158,5094Real Estate · Master's Degree$152,6945Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$144,8596Computer Engineering · Master's Degree$134,4497Taxation · Master's Degree$129,5658Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management · Master's Degree$124,777

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Computer Software and Media ApplicationsBachelor's Degree · $96,616 reported+64%vs same-degree national median$23,249federal debt2Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree · $86,444 reported+63%vs same-degree national median$42,350federal debt3Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $144,859 reported+40%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree · $187,364 reported+36%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree · $113,645 reported+34%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt6MarketingMaster's Degree · $105,355 reported+33%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IL

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Chicago, IL

Loyola University Chicago

Annual net price
$36,079
Observed earnings · year 5
$70,419
Modeled 10-year ROI
-22%
Open college profile →
Bloomington, IL

Illinois Wesleyan University

Annual net price
$28,199
Observed earnings · year 5
$66,515
Modeled 10-year ROI
-27%
Open college profile →
Peoria, IL

Bradley University

Annual net price
$22,719
Observed earnings · year 5
$67,615
Modeled 10-year ROI
-17%
Open college profile →
Lake Forest, IL

Lake Forest College

Annual net price
$28,673
Observed earnings · year 5
$61,366
Modeled 10-year ROI
-44%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 82 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree$187,364Not available31
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsMaster's Degree$158,667Not available0
Computer ProgrammingMaster's Degree$158,509Not availableNot reported
Real EstateMaster's Degree$152,694Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$144,859Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringMaster's Degree$134,449Not availableNot reported
TaxationMaster's Degree$129,565Not availableNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementMaster's Degree$124,777Not available0
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree$121,391Not available0
Human Computer InteractionMaster's Degree$118,027Not availableNot reported
EconomicsMaster's Degree$117,154Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyDoctoral Degree$116,242Not available11
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree$113,645$27,00018
LawFirst Professional Degree$107,264Not availableNot reported
MarketingMaster's Degree$105,355Not availableNot reported
Applied MathematicsMaster's Degree$101,965Not availableNot reported
Computer ProgrammingBachelor's Degree$101,315$25,497Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$100,185$22,433Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$100,161Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$99,840Not availableNot reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsBachelor's Degree$96,616$23,2490
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$94,197$24,016Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$93,719$23,000Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$93,592$24,500Not reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$93,563$21,666Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$91,098Not available18
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsBachelor's Degree$91,007$24,750Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$89,908$26,1540
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$86,444$42,350Not reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$86,093Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$84,568Not available0
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$84,554$24,321Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster's Degree$83,583Not available0
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$82,551$25,916Not reported
Sustainability StudiesMaster's Degree$81,457Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$78,164$25,000Not reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$77,204Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree$76,420$24,500Not reported
Geography and CartographyUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$76,354$23,4129
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural EducationMaster's Degree$75,891Not available0

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every DePaul University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.