Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Conway, SC · 23 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 23 · Federal debt reported for 17

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$229,316 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−117%Estimated return after 10 years
$41,732Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$229,316at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$196,6360
2
4
6
8
−$229,31610
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$4,468
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$8,836
Sticker price
Average net price$4,159
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$11,909
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$4,468$8,836 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,000Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$5,468Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $12,870 housing and food allowance plus $2,700 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$41,732 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online32%
3,165 students
Some online courses48%
4,744 students
No online courses20%
1,937 students
Undergraduates age 25+29%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Certificates
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

1,693 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in South Carolina run 6% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall6% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing20% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services2% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$4,159Average net price / year
$11,909Cost of attendance
$14,250Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$151/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$41,732Median earnings · year 5 after completion
37.8%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
6,274Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Horry-Georgetown Technical College

What does Horry-Georgetown Technical College cost?

Horry-Georgetown Technical College reports an average annual net price of $4,159 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Horry-Georgetown Technical College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $41,732 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Horry-Georgetown Technical College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $14,250. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Horry-Georgetown Technical College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 23 field-and-degree records for Horry-Georgetown Technical College; 23 report year-4 earnings and 17 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year23%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years29%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years33%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years41%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$14,250Median federal debt · 1,137 borrowers
Students who withdrew$5,573Median federal debt · 2,693 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

10,649Students enrolled at any point
10,649Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$3,673
$30–48k$4,165
$48–75k$4,457
$75–110k$5,443
$110k+$7,666
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$41,732
Year 6$31,547
Year 10$35,507
Full-time retention
64.2%
Part-time retention
39.7%
Completion within 200% of normal time
32.5%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students30%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

31% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$8,361

Median Parent PLUS debt

101 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$8,822

Median federal student debt

28% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$32,999Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$40,525Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$46,707Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income23%
Middle income41%
Higher income50%
Undergraduate student composition
White60%
Black21%
Hispanic11%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$61,835Year 1
$66,881Year 5
$71,923Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 15
$41,019Year 1
$53,296Year 5
$69,418Year 10
Computer Programming.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 11
$44,669Year 1
$49,269Year 5
$60,219Year 10
Computer Programming.Associate degree · Broad federal field 11
$32,572Year 1
$51,223Year 5
$59,848Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 47
$38,341Year 1
$45,751Year 5
$57,867Year 10
Accounting and Computer Science.Associate degree · Broad federal field 30
$43,047Year 1
$41,818Year 5
$57,619Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 47
$42,838Year 1
$51,828Year 5
$55,621Year 10
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy.Associate degree · Broad federal field 03
$37,225Year 1
$49,855Year 5
$54,656Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

41thEarnings percentile
21thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$43,212Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$16,500Median federal debt across categories that report debt
13%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$37,706Year 1
$46,000Year 4
$41,732Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$74,5702Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Associate's Degree$61,4063Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services · Associate's Degree$59,7744Dental Support Services and Allied Professions · Associate's Degree$57,1815Electrical and Power Transmission Installers · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,9356Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$54,9557Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$54,0628Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$52,512

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business ServicesAssociate's Degree · $59,774 reported+32%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $54,062 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$9,500federal debt3Electrical and Power Transmission InstallersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $56,935 reported+7%vs same-degree national median$5,500federal debt4Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $26,203 reported-0%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $38,185 reported-1%vs same-degree national median$11,000federal debt6Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $54,955 reported-2%vs same-degree national median$27,826federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in SC

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Sumter, SC

Central Carolina Technical College

Annual net price
$5,571
Observed earnings · year 5
$40,928
Modeled 10-year ROI
-120%
Open college profile →
Florence, SC

Florence-Darlington Technical College

Annual net price
$2,004
Observed earnings · year 5
$41,201
Modeled 10-year ROI
-120%
Open college profile →
Rock Hill, SC

York Technical College

Annual net price
$5,931
Observed earnings · year 5
$42,686
Modeled 10-year ROI
-111%
Open college profile →
Graniteville, SC

Aiken Technical College

Annual net price
$4,807
Observed earnings · year 5
$44,708
Modeled 10-year ROI
-101%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 23 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$74,570$32,170Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$61,406$38,540Not reported
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business ServicesAssociate's Degree$59,774Not availableNot reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$57,181Not availableNot reported
Electrical and Power Transmission InstallersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,935$5,500Not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$54,955$27,82617
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$54,062$9,500Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$52,512$16,50050
Data ProcessingAssociate's Degree$45,817$16,500Not reported
ForestryAssociate's Degree$44,915$12,622Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree$44,432$15,500Not reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$43,212$5,8755
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherAssociate's Degree$42,457Not availableNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$39,007$16,500Not reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$38,185$11,0006
Business/Commerce, GeneralAssociate's Degree$37,551$26,100Not reported
Design and Applied ArtsAssociate's Degree$36,262$17,500Not reported
Human Services, GeneralAssociate's Degree$35,356$35,140Not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$32,732Not available17
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$31,470Not availableNot reported
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$30,524$19,500Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$27,308$19,656Not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$26,203Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.