Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Illinois Eastern Community Colleges

Olney, IL · 5 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 4 · Federal debt reported for 3

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$281,698 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−128%Estimated return after 10 years
$38,867Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$281,698at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$220,3680
2
4
6
8
−$281,69810
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$5,260
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$12,460
Sticker price
Average net price$10,092
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$17,333
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$5,260$12,460 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,460Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$6,720Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $7,338 housing and food allowance plus $9,852 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$38,867 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students study without distance-education courses.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online4.7%
750 students
Some online courses8.3%
1,331 students
No online courses87%
13,948 students
Undergraduates age 25+17%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Certificates
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,602 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Illinois run 0% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall0% below U.S.
Goods4% above U.S.
Housing6% below U.S.
Utilities15% below U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$10,092Average net price / year
$17,333Cost of attendance
$6,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$69/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$38,867Median earnings · year 5 after completion
63.2%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
1,634Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Illinois Eastern Community Colleges

What does Illinois Eastern Community Colleges cost?

Illinois Eastern Community Colleges reports an average annual net price of $10,092 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Illinois Eastern Community Colleges graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $38,867 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Illinois Eastern Community Colleges graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $6,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges worth the same?

No. The current release contains 5 field-and-degree records for Illinois Eastern Community Colleges; 4 report year-4 earnings and 3 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$6,500Median federal debt · 381 borrowers
Students who withdrew$4,500Median federal debt · 459 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

14,314Students enrolled at any point
14,314Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$9,365
$30–48k$8,716
$48–75k$10,864
$75–110k$12,053
$110k+$12,874
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$38,867
Year 6$34,213
Year 10$37,533
Full-time retention
65.7%
Part-time retention
48.6%
Completion within 200% of normal time
56.1%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students58%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

54% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$6,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

19 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$5,250

Median federal student debt

59% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$34,286Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$43,182Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$57,090Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income44%
Middle incomeNot reported
Higher incomeNot reported
Undergraduate student composition
White84%
Black5%
Hispanic4%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$58,065Year 1
$59,034Year 5
$65,676Year 10
Boilermaking/Boilermaker.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 48
$37,132Year 1
$49,855Year 5
$62,818Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 47
$41,695Year 1
$50,311Year 5
$60,442Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 51
$38,914Year 1
$52,417Year 5
$60,254Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate degree · Broad federal field 43
$51,223Year 1
$44,398Year 5
$59,476Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 47
$43,293Year 1
$58,858Year 5
$55,078Year 10
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate degree · Broad federal field 24
$31,905Year 1
$42,638Year 5
$54,333Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 51
$26,063Year 1
$34,959Year 5
$41,019Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

36thEarnings percentile
57thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$34,752Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$7,500Median federal debt across categories that report debt
0%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$31,252Year 1
$39,831Year 4
$38,867Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$68,5342Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities · Associate's Degree$35,1893Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$34,3154Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$25,012

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $25,012 reported-5%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $34,315 reported-11%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree · $68,534 reported-15%vs same-degree national median$14,437federal debt4Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree · $35,189 reported-20%vs same-degree national median$6,365federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IL

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Ina, IL

Rend Lake College

Annual net price
$9,187
Observed earnings · year 5
$39,750
Modeled 10-year ROI
-124%
Open college profile →
Belleville, IL

Southwestern Illinois College

Annual net price
$10,427
Observed earnings · year 5
$43,207
Modeled 10-year ROI
-108%
Open college profile →
Moline, IL

Black Hawk College

Annual net price
$6,944
Observed earnings · year 5
$41,233
Modeled 10-year ROI
-118%
Open college profile →
Carterville, IL

John A Logan College

Annual net price
$5,541
Observed earnings · year 5
$37,816
Modeled 10-year ROI
-136%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 5 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$68,534$14,437Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$35,189$6,365Not reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$34,315Not available9
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$25,012Not available9
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$7,50047

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.