Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Iowa Central Community College

Fort Dodge, IA · 18 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 18 · Federal debt reported for 16

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$207,922 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

231.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−96%Estimated return after 10 years
$45,939Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$207,922at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$217,3120
2
4
6
8
−$207,92210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 231.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$5,496
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$7,788
Sticker price
Average net price$9,328
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$15,222
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$5,496$7,788 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,460Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$8,655$3,522 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$19,133Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $8,655 housing and food allowance plus $4,282 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$45,939 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online20%
1,173 students
Some online courses32%
1,835 students
No online courses48%
2,729 students
Undergraduates age 25+17%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Associate degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,161 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Iowa run 12% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall12% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing35% below U.S.
Utilities17% below U.S.
Other services7% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$9,328Average net price / year
$15,222Cost of attendance
$11,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$117/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$45,939Median earnings · year 5 after completion
41.6%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
3,103Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Iowa Central Community College

What does Iowa Central Community College cost?

Iowa Central Community College reports an average annual net price of $9,328 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Iowa Central Community College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $45,939 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Iowa Central Community College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $11,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Iowa Central Community College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 18 field-and-degree records for Iowa Central Community College; 18 report year-4 earnings and 16 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year35%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years39%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years44%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years56%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$11,000Median federal debt · 944 borrowers
Students who withdrew$6,000Median federal debt · 1,852 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

6,039Students enrolled at any point
6,039Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$7,837
$30–48k$7,865
$48–75k$8,948
$75–110k$12,252
$110k+$12,424
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$45,939
Year 6$35,830
Year 10$42,046
Full-time retention
51.7%
Part-time retention
39.5%
Completion within 200% of normal time
45.7%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students36%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

31% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$5,500

Median Parent PLUS debt

256 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$8,000

Median federal student debt

37% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$36,056Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$46,623Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$51,500Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income26%
Middle income54%
Higher income63%
Undergraduate student composition
White57%
Black14%
Hispanic11%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 47
$49,816Year 1
$63,530Year 5
$68,679Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$57,144Year 1
$60,865Year 5
$67,359Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 15
$49,703Year 1
$67,042Year 5
$65,759Year 10
Boilermaking/Boilermaker.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 48
$40,037Year 1
$50,831Year 5
$62,818Year 10
Computer Programming.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 11
$29,948Year 1
$49,035Year 5
$61,630Year 10
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 46
$36,412Year 1
$52,920Year 5
$59,848Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 51
$36,613Year 1
$50,338Year 5
$59,724Year 10
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate degree · Broad federal field 24
$27,505Year 1
$44,634Year 5
$57,575Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

51thEarnings percentile
26thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$50,407Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$15,343Median federal debt across categories that report debt
61%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$36,243Year 1
$46,682Year 4
$45,939Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$71,4022Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians · Associate's Degree$70,0483Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Associate's Degree$65,5964Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications · Associate's Degree$60,9825Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,6656Dental Support Services and Allied Professions · Associate's Degree$59,3657Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians · Associate's Degree$58,2598Business Administration, Management and Operations · Associate's Degree$52,782

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsAssociate's Degree · $60,982 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$25,375federal debt2Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree · $70,048 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$12,000federal debt3Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree · $52,782 reported+8%vs same-degree national median$19,000federal debt4Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $60,665 reported+8%vs same-degree national median$18,557federal debt5Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $36,531 reported+7%vs same-degree national median$15,621federal debt6Agricultural Business and ManagementAssociate's Degree · $50,555 reported+6%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Sioux City, IA

Western Iowa Tech Community College

Annual net price
$8,770
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,729
Modeled 10-year ROI
-97%
Open college profile →
Creston, IA

Southwestern Community College

Annual net price
$9,871
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,649
Modeled 10-year ROI
-97%
Open college profile →
Cedar Rapids, IA

Kirkwood Community College

Annual net price
$9,705
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,921
Modeled 10-year ROI
-91%
Open college profile →
Waterloo, IA

Hawkeye Community College

Annual net price
$9,649
Observed earnings · year 5
$47,065
Modeled 10-year ROI
-91%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 18 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$71,402$21,093Not reported
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree$70,048$12,000Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$65,596$15,186Not reported
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsAssociate's Degree$60,982$25,375Not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,665$18,557121
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$59,365$18,500Not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree$58,259$12,000Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$52,782$19,000Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementAssociate's Degree$50,555Not availableNot reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$50,258Not available48
Accounting and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$48,068$14,275Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$46,910$11,00032
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree$45,922$14,473Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$41,319$11,330Not reported
Social WorkAssociate's Degree$39,933$29,500Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$36,531$15,62122
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree$35,406$15,499Not reported
Ground TransportationUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$21,740$4,750Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.