Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Lewis and Clark Community College

Godfrey, IL · 21 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 19 · Federal debt reported for 13

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$185,676 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

250.5 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−96%Estimated return after 10 years
$45,772Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$185,676at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$193,3960
2
4
6
8
−$185,67610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 250.5 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$4,340
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$7,840
Sticker price
Average net price$3,349
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$9,592
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$4,340$7,840 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,120Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$5,460Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $7,200 housing and food allowance plus $3,060 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$45,772 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online9.0%
512 students
Some online courses23%
1,316 students
No online courses68%
3,861 students
Undergraduates age 25+16%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Certificates
Campus setting
Suburban
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,097 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Illinois run 0% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall0% below U.S.
Goods4% above U.S.
Housing6% below U.S.
Utilities15% below U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$3,349Average net price / year
$9,592Cost of attendance
$6,751Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$72/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$45,772Median earnings · year 5 after completion
44.4%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
2,487Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Lewis and Clark Community College

What does Lewis and Clark Community College cost?

Lewis and Clark Community College reports an average annual net price of $3,349 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Lewis and Clark Community College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $45,772 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Lewis and Clark Community College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $6,751. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Lewis and Clark Community College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 21 field-and-degree records for Lewis and Clark Community College; 19 report year-4 earnings and 13 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year51%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$6,751Median federal debt · 307 borrowers
Students who withdrew$4,500Median federal debt · 706 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

5,977Students enrolled at any point
5,977Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$721
$30–48k$1,461
$48–75k$4,651
$75–110k$6,522
$110k+$8,517
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$45,772
Year 6$35,365
Year 10$37,724
Full-time retention
69.8%
Part-time retention
50.4%
Completion within 200% of normal time
51.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students36%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

44% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowingNot available

Median Parent PLUS debt

12 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$5,500

Median federal student debt

54% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$32,183Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$44,271Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$53,433Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income46%
Middle income57%
Higher income61%
Undergraduate student composition
White76%
Black11%
Hispanic5%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 43
$82,300Year 1
$79,368Year 5
$95,044Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 15
$52,839Year 1
$70,402Year 5
$84,083Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 43
$31,252Year 1
$58,363Year 5
$81,043Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$52,132Year 1
$64,718Year 5
$73,492Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate degree · Broad federal field 43
$31,485Year 1
$60,696Year 5
$69,154Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 52
$35,355Year 1
$45,751Year 5
$66,779Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 47
$31,905Year 1
$45,751Year 5
$64,996Year 10
Computer Programming.Associate degree · Broad federal field 11
$37,408Year 1
$46,171Year 5
$63,522Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

50thEarnings percentile
30thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$48,944Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$9,480Median federal debt across categories that report debt
42%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$37,413Year 1
$47,508Year 4
$45,772Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Mining and Petroleum Technologies/Technicians · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$119,9462Mining and Petroleum Technologies/Technicians · Associate's Degree$112,0933Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$70,2914Dental Support Services and Allied Professions · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$59,7055Dental Support Services and Allied Professions · Associate's Degree$59,3666Criminal Justice and Corrections · Associate's Degree$52,0607Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications · Associate's Degree$51,1658Criminal Justice and Corrections · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$50,995

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $59,705 reported+77%vs same-degree national median$12,000federal debt2Mining and Petroleum Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $119,946 reported+67%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Mining and Petroleum Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree · $112,093 reported+44%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $43,546 reported+27%vs same-degree national median$6,360federal debt5Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $48,261 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$7,388federal debt6Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree · $52,060 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$9,120federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IL

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Galesburg, IL

Carl Sandburg College

Annual net price
$3,662
Observed earnings · year 5
$44,862
Modeled 10-year ROI
-101%
Open college profile →
Springfield, IL

Lincoln Land Community College

Annual net price
$4,299
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,142
Modeled 10-year ROI
-94%
Open college profile →
Rockford, IL

Rock Valley College

Annual net price
$5,242
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,150
Modeled 10-year ROI
-94%
Open college profile →
Freeport, IL

Highland Community College

Annual net price
$5,713
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,875
Modeled 10-year ROI
-96%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 21 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Mining and Petroleum Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$119,946Not available7
Mining and Petroleum Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree$112,093Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$70,291$12,500Not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$59,705$12,00045
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$59,366$13,417Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree$52,060$9,120Not reported
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsAssociate's Degree$51,165Not availableNot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$50,995Not available28
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$49,566Not available13
Accounting and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$48,944$9,5009
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$48,261$7,3880
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree$46,834$8,315Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$44,828$7,500Not reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$44,604Not available11
Legal Support ServicesAssociate's Degree$43,909Not availableNot reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$43,546$6,36029
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree$37,422$11,242Not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$35,567$9,480Not reported
Graphic CommunicationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$31,763Not available11
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$12,000384
Business Administration, Management and OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$6,0007

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.