Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Long Beach City College

Long Beach, CA · 5 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 5 · Federal debt reported for 1

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$121,358 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

24.5 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−59%Estimated return after 10 years
$53,345Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$121,358at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$204,8080
2
4
6
8
−$121,35810
Years after graduationBreak-even: 24.5 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$1,556
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$12,544
Sticker price
Average net price$6,202
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$14,503
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$1,556$12,544 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,062Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$2,618Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $22,086 housing and food allowance plus $6,930 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$53,345 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online33%
11,859 students
Some online courses45%
15,912 students
No online courses22%
7,771 students
Undergraduates age 25+37%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Main award level
Certificates
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,805 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in California run 11% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% above U.S.
Goods6% above U.S.
Housing54% above U.S.
Utilities59% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$6,202Average net price / year
$14,503Cost of attendance
$10,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$111/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$53,345Median earnings · year 5 after completion
29.8%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
22,427Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Long Beach City College

What does Long Beach City College cost?

Long Beach City College reports an average annual net price of $6,202 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Long Beach City College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $53,345 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Long Beach City College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $10,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Long Beach City College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 5 field-and-degree records for Long Beach City College; 5 report year-4 earnings and 1 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year20%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years25%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years26%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years36%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$10,500Median federal debt · 58 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,000Median federal debt · 967 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

36,729Students enrolled at any point
36,729Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$5,505
$30–48k$5,412
$48–75k$8,180
$75–110k$10,042
$110k+$10,089
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$53,345
Year 6$31,118
Year 10$38,870
Full-time retention
70.9%
Part-time retention
38.3%
Completion within 200% of normal time
33.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students26%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

29% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowingNot available

Median Parent PLUS debt

Borrower count not reported
First-generation students$7,000

Median federal student debt

26% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$36,981Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$43,617Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$49,496Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income23%
Middle income35%
Higher income39%
Undergraduate student composition
White12%
Black12%
Hispanic60%
Asian8%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

69thEarnings percentile
11thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$42,308Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$6,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
40%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$36,260Year 1
$51,407Year 4
$53,345Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Biology, General · Associate's Degree$62,8492Business Administration, Management and Operations · Associate's Degree$58,2123Social Sciences, General · Associate's Degree$42,3084Psychology, General · Associate's Degree$38,4375Communication and Media Studies · Associate's Degree$36,632

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Biology, GeneralAssociate's Degree · $62,849 reported+40%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree · $58,212 reported+19%vs same-degree national median$6,000federal debt3Social Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree · $42,308 reported-2%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Psychology, GeneralAssociate's Degree · $38,437 reported-2%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Communication and Media StudiesAssociate's Degree · $36,632 reported-15%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in CA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Livermore, CA

Las Positas College

Annual net price
$5,377
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,212
Modeled 10-year ROI
-59%
Open college profile →
Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Chaffey College

Annual net price
$5,672
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,671
Modeled 10-year ROI
-62%
Open college profile →
Sacramento, CA

Sacramento City College

Annual net price
$6,614
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,442
Modeled 10-year ROI
-64%
Open college profile →
Walnut, CA

Mt San Antonio College

Annual net price
$6,490
Observed earnings · year 5
$51,030
Modeled 10-year ROI
-71%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 5 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Biology, GeneralAssociate's Degree$62,849Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$58,212$6,000Not reported
Social Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree$42,308Not availableNot reported
Psychology, GeneralAssociate's Degree$38,437Not availableNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesAssociate's Degree$36,632Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.