Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Los Angeles Trade Technical College

Los Angeles, CA · 10 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 10 · Federal debt reported for 1

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$282,732 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−123%Estimated return after 10 years
$39,656Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$282,732at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$229,2920
2
4
6
8
−$282,73210
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$1,238
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$10,572
Sticker price
Average net price$12,323
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$20,457
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$1,238$10,572 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,062Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$2,300Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $25,407 housing and food allowance plus $6,930 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$39,656 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online35%
7,295 students
Some online courses27%
5,677 students
No online courses38%
8,077 students
Undergraduates age 25+39%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Main award level
Certificates
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

3,266 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in California run 11% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% above U.S.
Goods6% above U.S.
Housing54% above U.S.
Utilities59% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$12,323Average net price / year
$20,457Cost of attendance
$10,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$111/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$39,656Median earnings · year 5 after completion
34.8%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
9,998Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Los Angeles Trade Technical College

What does Los Angeles Trade Technical College cost?

Los Angeles Trade Technical College reports an average annual net price of $12,323 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Los Angeles Trade Technical College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $39,656 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Los Angeles Trade Technical College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $10,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Los Angeles Trade Technical College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 10 field-and-degree records for Los Angeles Trade Technical College; 10 report year-4 earnings and 1 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year24%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years29%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years24%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$10,500Median federal debt · 79 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,500Median federal debt · 359 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

20,547Students enrolled at any point
20,547Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,716
$30–48k$12,210
$48–75k$14,008
$75–110k$16,399
$110k+$17,270
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$39,656
Year 6$31,801
Year 10$35,233
Full-time retention
64.8%
Part-time retention
31.7%
Completion within 200% of normal time
31.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students41%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

33% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowingNot available

Median Parent PLUS debt

Borrower count not reported
First-generation students$9,500

Median federal student debt

31% making progress in repayment after three years
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income27%
Middle incomeNot reported
Higher incomeNot reported
Undergraduate student composition
White6%
Black14%
Hispanic73%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

38thEarnings percentile
18thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$53,938Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$14,833Median federal debt across categories that report debt
70%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$32,209Year 1
$46,673Year 4
$39,656Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$116,6622Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$73,4053Electrical and Power Transmission Installers · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$64,8904Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$59,6025Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$54,6436Biological and Physical Sciences · Associate's Degree$53,2337Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities · Associate's Degree$41,5588Culinary Arts and Related Services · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$35,196

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree · $116,662 reported+44%vs same-degree national median$14,833federal debt2Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $73,405 reported+36%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Environmental Control Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $59,602 reported+32%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Electrical and Power Transmission InstallersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $64,890 reported+22%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Culinary Arts and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $35,196 reported+15%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree · $53,233 reported+6%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in CA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Quincy, CA

Feather River Community College District

Annual net price
$10,800
Observed earnings · year 5
$39,056
Modeled 10-year ROI
-127%
Open college profile →
Porterville, CA

Porterville College

Annual net price
$12,301
Observed earnings · year 5
$37,102
Modeled 10-year ROI
-134%
Open college profile →
Barstow, CA

Barstow Community College

Annual net price
$12,773
Observed earnings · year 5
$36,878
Modeled 10-year ROI
-135%
Open college profile →
Coalinga, CA

Coalinga College

Annual net price
$10,477
Observed earnings · year 5
$41,250
Modeled 10-year ROI
-117%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 10 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$116,662$14,833Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$73,405Not available0
Electrical and Power Transmission InstallersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$64,890Not available172
Environmental Control Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$59,602Not available109
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$54,643Not available122
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree$53,233Not availableNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$41,558Not availableNot reported
Culinary Arts and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$35,196Not available149
Design and Applied ArtsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$34,383Not available77
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$17,455Not available167

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.