Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Northern Arizona University

Flagstaff, AZ · 84 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 83 · Federal debt reported for 62

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$109,812 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

18.7 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−46%Estimated return after 10 years
$57,682Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$109,812at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$236,6320
2
4
6
8
−$109,81210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 18.7 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$13,009
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$29,881
Sticker price
Average net price$14,158
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$29,933
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$13,009$29,881 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$900Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$14,432$4,936 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$33,277Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $18,342 housing and food allowance plus $4,936 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$57,682 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online21%
6,722 students
Some online courses49%
15,299 students
No online courses30%
9,427 students
Undergraduates age 25+13%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

1 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Arizona run 1% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall1% above U.S.
Goods5% below U.S.
Housing7% above U.S.
Utilities8% below U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$14,158Average net price / year
$29,933Cost of attendance
$19,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$201/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$57,682Median earnings · year 5 after completion
61.3%Completion rate
89.6%Admission rate
22,903Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Northern Arizona University

What does Northern Arizona University cost?

Northern Arizona University reports an average annual net price of $14,158 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Northern Arizona University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $57,682 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Northern Arizona University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $19,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Northern Arizona University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 84 field-and-degree records for Northern Arizona University; 83 report year-4 earnings and 62 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year50%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years56%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years64%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$19,000Median federal debt · 6,729 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 5,699 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

31,387Students enrolled at any point
24,919Undergraduate students
6,468Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$9,709
$30–48k$10,398
$48–75k$13,330
$75–110k$18,050
$110k+$20,686
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$57,682
Year 6$47,308
Year 10$54,384
Full-time retention
75.5%
Part-time retention
25.7%
Completion within 200% of normal time
60.5%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students53%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

57% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$22,534

Median Parent PLUS debt

3,244 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$12,500

Median federal student debt

52% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$52,230Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$54,774Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$56,890Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income47%
Middle income56%
Higher income68%
Undergraduate student composition
White52%
Black3%
Hispanic27%
Asian4%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$71,931Year 1
$111,125Year 5
$134,767Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$67,174Year 1
$91,987Year 5
$117,651Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$46,435Year 1
$62,818Year 5
$112,807Year 10
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 13
$98,163Year 1
$121,481Year 5
$111,686Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$74,545Year 1
$99,230Year 5
$111,618Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Doctoral, professional practice · Broad federal field 51
$77,210Year 1
$86,108Year 5
$97,122Year 10
Clinical Psychology.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 42
$72,448Year 1
$76,015Year 5
$92,330Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 52
$50,539Year 1
$73,607Year 5
$91,500Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

77thEarnings percentile
54thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$58,054Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$21,350Median federal debt across categories that report debt
47%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$45,100Year 1
$60,629Year 4
$57,682Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Master's Degree$123,4002Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$117,1103Educational Administration and Supervision · Doctoral Degree$102,7604Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$99,0675Construction Management · Bachelor's Degree$99,0156Computer Systems Analysis · Bachelor's Degree$97,5117Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$95,3888Mechanical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$91,941

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1English Language and Literature, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $50,851 reported+74%vs same-degree national median$18,712federal debt2Finance and Financial Management ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $81,688 reported+53%vs same-degree national median$20,594federal debt3Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $52,015 reported+50%vs same-degree national median$18,700federal debt4Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $78,057 reported+48%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5MarketingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $69,605 reported+40%vs same-degree national median$18,500federal debt6Hospitality Administration/ManagementUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $51,008 reported+25%vs same-degree national median$16,930federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in AZ

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Phoenix, AZ

GateWay Community College-Central City

Annual net price
$14,438
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,678
Modeled 10-year ROI
-38%
Open college profile →
Phoenix, AZ

GateWay Community College

Annual net price
$13,339
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,678
Modeled 10-year ROI
-37%
Open college profile →
Phoenix, AZ

Paradise Valley Community College

Annual net price
$12,180
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,590
Modeled 10-year ROI
-49%
Open college profile →
Chandler, AZ

Chandler-Gilbert Community College

Annual net price
$12,726
Observed earnings · year 5
$55,313
Modeled 10-year ROI
-55%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 84 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$123,400Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$117,110Not available4
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$102,760Not available10
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$99,067$27,000Not reported
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$99,015$23,700Not reported
Computer Systems AnalysisBachelor's Degree$97,511Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$95,388$20,500Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$91,941$24,409Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,184$28,000Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$86,375Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$84,996$24,2763
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$82,299Not available140
Finance and Financial Management ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$81,688$20,594118
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$81,144$19,450Not reported
Special Education and TeachingGraduate/Professional Certificate$80,727Not availableNot reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree$78,955$27,000Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$78,057Not available103
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$77,855$20,5940
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$76,041$25,000Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$74,354Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$73,940Not availableNot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$72,971$21,36746
MarketingBachelor's Degree$69,834$21,500Not reported
MarketingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$69,605$18,500111
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$68,917$26,169Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$67,995Not availableNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$67,306$21,75038
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate$66,646Not availableNot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$66,606Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$66,376$20,500Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$65,758Not availableNot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$63,605$23,021Not reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree$61,757$24,25011
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$61,250$19,650Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree$60,735Not availableNot reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$60,630$21,500Not reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesBachelor's Degree$60,448$20,632Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$60,402$22,000Not reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree$58,857$20,0460
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$58,571$19,500Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Northern Arizona University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.