Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Natchitoches, LA · 34 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 31 · Federal debt reported for 26

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$160,144 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

31.6 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−68%Estimated return after 10 years
$52,428Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$160,144at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$234,4240
2
4
6
8
−$160,14410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 31.6 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$8,864
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$19,652
Sticker price
Average net price$13,606
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$25,431
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$8,864$19,652 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,353Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$10,926$6,167 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$27,310Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $11,802 housing and food allowance plus $6,167 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$52,428 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online57%
5,967 students
Some online courses39%
4,084 students
No online courses4.7%
493 students
Undergraduates age 25+22%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,431 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Louisiana run 12% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall12% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing37% below U.S.
Utilities29% below U.S.
Other services4% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$13,606Average net price / year
$25,431Cost of attendance
$25,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$265/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$52,428Median earnings · year 5 after completion
43.2%Completion rate
92.5%Admission rate
1,088Average SAT score
19ACT midpoint
5,519Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Northwestern State University of Louisiana

What does Northwestern State University of Louisiana cost?

Northwestern State University of Louisiana reports an average annual net price of $13,606 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Northwestern State University of Louisiana graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $52,428 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Northwestern State University of Louisiana graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $25,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Northwestern State University of Louisiana worth the same?

No. The current release contains 34 field-and-degree records for Northwestern State University of Louisiana; 31 report year-4 earnings and 26 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year64%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years62%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years62%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years62%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$25,000Median federal debt · 2,205 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,713Median federal debt · 3,355 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

10,115Students enrolled at any point
9,025Undergraduate students
1,090Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,693
$30–48k$12,261
$48–75k$12,549
$75–110k$17,777
$110k+$19,077
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$52,428
Year 6$39,485
Year 10$47,021
Full-time retention
70.9%
Part-time retention
29.2%
Completion within 200% of normal time
49.6%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students38%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

46% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$10,071

Median Parent PLUS debt

604 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,250

Median federal student debt

61% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$43,900Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$48,949Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$53,037Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income54%
Middle income67%
Higher income76%
Undergraduate student composition
White53%
Black29%
Hispanic6%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$98,324Year 1
$115,766Year 5
$127,241Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 15
$48,487Year 1
$64,578Year 5
$103,464Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$72,585Year 1
$78,843Year 5
$92,577Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 15
$52,165Year 1
$76,554Year 5
$91,143Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$69,710Year 1
$77,617Year 5
$83,400Year 10
Clinical Psychology.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 42
$38,509Year 1
$51,223Year 5
$80,540Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$62,818Year 1
$71,298Year 5
$79,787Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$28,513Year 1
$51,600Year 5
$72,014Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

67thEarnings percentile
28thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$52,689Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$27,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
13%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$45,870Year 1
$56,762Year 4
$52,428Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$111,5362Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$86,6083Homeland Security · Master's Degree$81,7154Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$76,7105Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians · Bachelor's Degree$74,2096Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$67,7657Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Bachelor's Degree$66,5598Information Science/Studies · Bachelor's Degree$63,928

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $53,800 reported+14%vs same-degree national median$23,662federal debt2Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $67,765 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$42,605federal debt3HistoryBachelor's Degree · $55,115 reported+9%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree · $51,672 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$27,962federal debt5Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree · $43,417 reported-2%vs same-degree national median$23,735federal debt6Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree · $86,608 reported-3%vs same-degree national median$25,638federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in LA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Monroe, LA

University of Louisiana at Monroe

Annual net price
$13,466
Observed earnings · year 5
$50,508
Modeled 10-year ROI
-76%
Open college profile →
Lake Charles, LA

McNeese State University

Annual net price
$12,493
Observed earnings · year 5
$51,379
Modeled 10-year ROI
-72%
Open college profile →
New Orleans, LA

University of New Orleans

Annual net price
$12,384
Observed earnings · year 5
$51,173
Modeled 10-year ROI
-73%
Open college profile →
Lafayette, LA

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Annual net price
$13,530
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,844
Modeled 10-year ROI
-58%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 34 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$111,536Not available10
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$86,608$25,638Not reported
Homeland SecurityMaster's Degree$81,715Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$76,710$31,250Not reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$74,209$25,625Not reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$67,765$42,605Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$66,559$26,7970
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$63,928$29,000Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$62,268Not available3
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$60,861$29,371Not reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$58,603Not availableNot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$55,452$26,821Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$55,115Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$53,800$23,66215
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$53,469Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$52,689Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$51,927$28,7502
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$51,722$24,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$51,672$27,96214
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree$50,650Not availableNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$47,652$31,000Not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$47,296$28,875Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$44,492$26,959Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$44,267$31,000Not reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree$44,227$20,500Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$43,417$23,735Not reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$42,434$43,158Not reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$42,065$27,000Not reported
MusicBachelor's Degree$39,223$22,885Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$37,273$21,750Not reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree$36,229$22,250Not reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's DegreeNot available$27,000Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's DegreeNot available$31,000Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's DegreeNot available$31,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.