Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Pittsburg State University

Pittsburg, KS · 30 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 26 · Federal debt reported for 23

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$151,346 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

26.5 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−62%Estimated return after 10 years
$54,179Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$151,346at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$243,1360
2
4
6
8
−$151,34610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 26.5 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$8,400
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$19,744
Sticker price
Average net price$15,784
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$22,099
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$8,400$19,744 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$10,234$5,506 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$25,340Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $10,980 housing and food allowance plus $5,506 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$54,179 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online19%
1,310 students
Some online courses54%
3,650 students
No online courses27%
1,856 students
Undergraduates age 25+9.3%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

322 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Kansas run 10% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall10% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing29% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services6% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$15,784Average net price / year
$22,099Cost of attendance
$18,969Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$201/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$54,179Median earnings · year 5 after completion
56.6%Completion rate
89.4%Admission rate
1,050Average SAT score
21ACT midpoint
4,210Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Pittsburg State University

What does Pittsburg State University cost?

Pittsburg State University reports an average annual net price of $15,784 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Pittsburg State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $54,179 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Pittsburg State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $18,969. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Pittsburg State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 30 field-and-degree records for Pittsburg State University; 26 report year-4 earnings and 23 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years60%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years68%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years73%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$18,969Median federal debt · 1,817 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 1,396 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

6,813Students enrolled at any point
4,991Undergraduate students
1,822Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,968
$30–48k$11,453
$48–75k$14,676
$75–110k$18,873
$110k+$20,237
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$54,179
Year 6$43,793
Year 10$50,579
Full-time retention
77.2%
Part-time retention
75.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
56.6%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students46%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

51% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$8,660

Median Parent PLUS debt

379 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$14,000

Median federal student debt

56% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$44,319Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$50,798Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$56,699Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income48%
Middle income63%
Higher income75%
Undergraduate student composition
White78%
Black3%
Hispanic8%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

71thEarnings percentile
47thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$56,963Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$23,015Median federal debt across categories that report debt
19%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$45,942Year 1
$57,275Year 4
$54,179Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other · Bachelor's Degree$111,9202Construction Management · Bachelor's Degree$90,3213Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians · Bachelor's Degree$81,5624Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$76,8195Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$76,0336Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians · Bachelor's Degree$74,8787Computer Systems Analysis · Bachelor's Degree$71,1998Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$70,657

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, OtherBachelor's Degree · $111,920 reported+37%vs same-degree national median$21,235federal debt2Social WorkBachelor's Degree · $53,878 reported+4%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt3Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $51,640 reported+2%vs same-degree national median$22,951federal debt4English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $49,023 reported+1%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree · $81,562 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$22,250federal debt6Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $56,733 reported-1%vs same-degree national median$19,550federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in KS

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Topeka, KS

Washburn University

Annual net price
$15,280
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,209
Modeled 10-year ROI
-66%
Open college profile →
Wichita, KS

Wichita State University

Annual net price
$13,194
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,872
Modeled 10-year ROI
-58%
Open college profile →
Hays, KS

Fort Hays State University

Annual net price
$12,569
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,065
Modeled 10-year ROI
-65%
Open college profile →
Emporia, KS

Emporia State University

Annual net price
$16,261
Observed earnings · year 5
$50,287
Modeled 10-year ROI
-78%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 30 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, OtherBachelor's Degree$111,920$21,235Not reported
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$90,321$23,461Not reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$81,562$22,250Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$76,819Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$76,033$21,875Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$74,878$25,000Not reported
Computer Systems AnalysisBachelor's Degree$71,199$20,500Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$70,657$22,791Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$67,052Not available40
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$66,851$22,250Not reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$64,565$23,015Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$60,219$23,994Not reported
Psychology, GeneralMaster's Degree$57,192Not available0
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$56,733$19,550Not reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$56,317Not available0
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$56,313Not available0
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$53,878$27,0000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$52,964Not available1
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$51,640$22,951Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$49,023Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$48,757$24,1253
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$46,931$23,500Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$45,940$23,2502
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$43,465$22,7270
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree$39,946$25,500Not reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$34,318$25,000Not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's DegreeNot available$12,000Not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesBachelor's DegreeNot available$19,661Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's DegreeNot available$24,900Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's DegreeNot available$24,843Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.