Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Weatherford, OK · 24 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 22 · Federal debt reported for 14

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$108,786 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

18.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−46%Estimated return after 10 years
$57,905Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$108,786at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$237,8360
2
4
6
8
−$108,78610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 18.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$8,469
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$8,499
Sticker price
Average net price$14,459
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$23,334
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$8,469$8,499 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,318Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$7,634$8,746 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$26,167Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $8,162 housing and food allowance plus $8,746 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$57,905 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online37%
2,198 students
Some online courses48%
2,822 students
No online courses14%
849 students
Undergraduates age 25+21%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

668 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Oklahoma run 12% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall12% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing37% below U.S.
Utilities26% below U.S.
Other services5% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$14,459Average net price / year
$23,334Cost of attendance
$15,954Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$169/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$57,905Median earnings · year 5 after completion
39.7%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
20ACT midpoint
3,514Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Southwestern Oklahoma State University

What does Southwestern Oklahoma State University cost?

Southwestern Oklahoma State University reports an average annual net price of $14,459 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Southwestern Oklahoma State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $57,905 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Southwestern Oklahoma State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $15,954. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Southwestern Oklahoma State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 24 field-and-degree records for Southwestern Oklahoma State University; 22 report year-4 earnings and 14 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year57%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years57%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years64%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$15,954Median federal debt · 914 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,648Median federal debt · 1,019 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

6,276Students enrolled at any point
5,244Undergraduate students
1,032Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$10,987
$30–48k$10,094
$48–75k$12,069
$75–110k$17,500
$110k+$19,595
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$57,905
Year 6$42,896
Year 10$45,744
Full-time retention
67.7%
Part-time retention
34.8%
Completion within 200% of normal time
44.2%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students30%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

42% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$10,350

Median Parent PLUS debt

265 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$12,000

Median federal student debt

55% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$39,143Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$51,010Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$53,410Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income47%
Middle income65%
Higher income71%
Undergraduate student composition
White60%
Black5%
Hispanic14%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$68,179Year 1
$80,552Year 5
$99,353Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$40,865Year 1
$55,060Year 5
$68,098Year 10
Outdoor Education.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 31
$37,841Year 1
$51,694Year 5
$65,986Year 10
Clinical Psychology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 42
$28,154Year 1
$45,451Year 5
$58,363Year 10
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 13
$40,907Year 1
$46,720Year 5
$50,710Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

77thEarnings percentile
24thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$52,798Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$21,196Median federal debt across categories that report debt
27%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$49,371Year 1
$57,954Year 4
$57,905Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration · First Professional Degree$134,1412Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$101,6633Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$89,5494Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$78,7035Educational Administration and Supervision · Master's Degree$73,9126Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Associate's Degree$73,7807Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Research · Master's Degree$69,4308Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General · Bachelor's Degree$64,751

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree · $73,780 reported+13%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree · $47,268 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$15,750federal debt3Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and ResearchMaster's Degree · $69,430 reported+5%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree · $73,912 reported+3%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementBachelor's Degree · $50,937 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$19,757federal debt6Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree · $89,549 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$24,027federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in OK

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Claremore, OK

Rogers State University

Annual net price
$15,314
Observed earnings · year 5
$55,425
Modeled 10-year ROI
-57%
Open college profile →
Altus, OK

Southwest Technology Center

Annual net price
$14,313
Observed earnings · year 5
$51,814
Modeled 10-year ROI
-71%
Open college profile →
Stillwater, OK

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus

Annual net price
$17,447
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,338
Modeled 10-year ROI
-31%
Open college profile →
Langston, OK

Langston University

Annual net price
$11,504
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,850
Modeled 10-year ROI
-65%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 24 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree$134,141Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$101,663Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$89,549$24,027Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$78,703Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$73,912Not availableNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$73,780Not availableNot reported
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and ResearchMaster's Degree$69,430Not availableNot reported
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, GeneralBachelor's Degree$64,751$20,035Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$58,594Not available12
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$53,999Not availableNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$53,668$18,700Not reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$51,927Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$51,657$22,356Not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementBachelor's Degree$50,937$19,757Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree$50,716$27,063Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree$50,561Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$47,607$25,000Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree$47,268$15,750Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$46,983$16,500Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$45,982$23,250Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$42,538$23,125Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$33,988$22,500Not reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's DegreeNot available$16,816Not reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationBachelor's DegreeNot available$16,250Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.