Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

SUNY at Purchase College

Purchase, NY · 21 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 20 · Federal debt reported for 19

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$289,222 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−113%Estimated return after 10 years
$41,643Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$289,222at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$255,6520
2
4
6
8
−$289,22210
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$8,953
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$19,203
Sticker price
Average net price$18,913
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$29,043
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$8,953$19,203 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,240Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$16,436$3,450 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$30,079Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $17,850 housing and food allowance plus $4,070 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$41,643 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online5.3%
194 students
Some online courses36%
1,330 students
No online courses59%
2,162 students
Undergraduates age 25+6.2%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Suburban
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in New York run 8% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall8% above U.S.
Goods7% above U.S.
Housing22% above U.S.
Utilities34% above U.S.
Other services4% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$18,913Average net price / year
$29,043Cost of attendance
$21,067Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$223/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$41,643Median earnings · year 5 after completion
62.8%Completion rate
74.1%Admission rate
1,312Average SAT score
29ACT midpoint
3,197Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about SUNY at Purchase College

What does SUNY at Purchase College cost?

SUNY at Purchase College reports an average annual net price of $18,913 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do SUNY at Purchase College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $41,643 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do SUNY at Purchase College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,067. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at SUNY at Purchase College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 21 field-and-degree records for SUNY at Purchase College; 20 report year-4 earnings and 19 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years60%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years72%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years73%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,067Median federal debt · 994 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,750Median federal debt · 730 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

3,756Students enrolled at any point
3,671Undergraduate students
85Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,835
$30–48k$15,230
$48–75k$19,658
$75–110k$20,886
$110k+$25,428
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$41,643
Year 6$31,229
Year 10$45,092
Full-time retention
80.3%
Part-time retention
40.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
67.5%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students57%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

66% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$25,746

Median Parent PLUS debt

625 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$16,000

Median federal student debt

54% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$45,590Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$44,840Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$44,593Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income51%
Middle income58%
Higher income67%
Undergraduate student composition
White47%
Black12%
Hispanic29%
Asian4%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$44,398Year 1
$73,442Year 5
$95,590Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$48,487Year 1
$68,363Year 5
$87,772Year 10
Communication and Media Studies.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 09
$32,595Year 1
$53,718Year 5
$75,786Year 10
Clinical Psychology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 42
$33,209Year 1
$52,527Year 5
$74,491Year 10
Anthropology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 45
$38,226Year 1
$57,013Year 5
$74,301Year 10
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 24
$38,003Year 1
$56,534Year 5
$70,788Year 10
English Language and Literature, General.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 23
$29,263Year 1
$50,831Year 5
$70,679Year 10
History.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 54
$30,926Year 1
$54,051Year 5
$66,619Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

41thEarnings percentile
56thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$46,809Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
25%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$21,082Year 1
$45,570Year 4
$41,643Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Mathematics and Statistics, Other · Bachelor's Degree$72,2372Economics · Bachelor's Degree$63,2073Biology, General · Bachelor's Degree$55,7184Visual and Performing Arts, Other · Bachelor's Degree$53,1005Sociology · Bachelor's Degree$53,0426Journalism · Bachelor's Degree$52,8597Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management · Bachelor's Degree$51,9548Literature · Bachelor's Degree$49,153

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Visual and Performing Arts, OtherBachelor's Degree · $53,100 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$24,363federal debt2Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementBachelor's Degree · $51,954 reported+8%vs same-degree national median$22,418federal debt3LiteratureBachelor's Degree · $49,153 reported+6%vs same-degree national median$25,000federal debt4SociologyBachelor's Degree · $53,042 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$19,949federal debt5Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree · $39,974 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$26,000federal debt6Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree · $43,265 reported-1%vs same-degree national median$26,949federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NY

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Lockport, NY

Orleans Niagara BOCES-Practical Nursing Program

Annual net price
$18,371
Observed earnings · year 5
$44,527
Modeled 10-year ROI
-102%
Open college profile →
Hudson Falls, NY

Washington Saratoga Warren Hamilton Essex BOCES-Practical Nursing Program

Annual net price
$18,800
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,224
Modeled 10-year ROI
-99%
Open college profile →
Liverpool, NY

Onondaga Cortland Madison BOCES

Annual net price
$19,002
Observed earnings · year 5
$37,826
Modeled 10-year ROI
-128%
Open college profile →
Elmira, NY

Schuyler Steuben Chemung Tioga Allegany BOCES

Annual net price
$20,757
Observed earnings · year 5
$38,859
Modeled 10-year ROI
-123%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 21 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Mathematics and Statistics, OtherBachelor's Degree$72,237Not availableNot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$63,207$23,250Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$55,718$24,237Not reported
Visual and Performing Arts, OtherBachelor's Degree$53,100$24,363Not reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree$53,042$19,949Not reported
JournalismBachelor's Degree$52,859$23,947Not reported
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementBachelor's Degree$51,954$22,418Not reported
LiteratureBachelor's Degree$49,153$25,000Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$47,922$25,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$47,022$24,250Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$46,596$24,000Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$45,661$22,076Not reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree$43,265$26,9490
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree$42,372$23,250Not reported
MusicBachelor's Degree$41,926$22,1790
AnthropologyBachelor's Degree$40,048$15,375Not reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree$39,974$26,0000
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralBachelor's Degree$39,791$27,000Not reported
Social Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$36,895Not availableNot reported
DanceBachelor's Degree$30,406$27,0000
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's DegreeNot available$23,850Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.