Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

The University of Texas at Arlington

Arlington, TX · 69 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 64 · Federal debt reported for 48

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$46,436 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

8.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+20%Estimated return after 10 years
$73,224Observed earnings · year 5
$25,560Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $11,609 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$46,436at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$235,8040
2
4
6
8
+$46,43610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 8.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$11,950
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$29,582
Sticker price
Average net price$13,951
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$25,261
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$11,950$29,582 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,000Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$11,228$5,384 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$29,562Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $13,092 housing and food allowance plus $5,384 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$73,224 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online36%
19,176 students
Some online courses33%
17,702 students
No online courses32%
17,068 students
Undergraduates age 25+29%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

190 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Texas run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing3% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$13,951Average net price / year
$25,261Cost of attendance
$17,527Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$186/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$73,224Median earnings · year 5 after completion
54.0%Completion rate
79.9%Admission rate
1,124Average SAT score
23ACT midpoint
32,294Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about The University of Texas at Arlington

What does The University of Texas at Arlington cost?

The University of Texas at Arlington reports an average annual net price of $13,951 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do The University of Texas at Arlington graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $73,224 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do The University of Texas at Arlington graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $17,527. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at The University of Texas at Arlington worth the same?

No. The current release contains 69 field-and-degree records for The University of Texas at Arlington; 64 report year-4 earnings and 48 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year51%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years63%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years71%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$17,527Median federal debt · 9,038 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,500Median federal debt · 9,884 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

54,752Students enrolled at any point
38,975Undergraduate students
15,777Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,893
$30–48k$12,003
$48–75k$12,612
$75–110k$16,371
$110k+$24,692
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$73,224
Year 6$60,902
Year 10$63,199
Full-time retention
72.9%
Part-time retention
28.6%
Completion within 200% of normal time
55.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students52%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

56% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$14,865

Median Parent PLUS debt

782 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$11,594

Median federal student debt

57% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$58,919Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$65,595Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$69,013Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income51%
Middle income60%
Higher income67%
Undergraduate student composition
White22%
Black15%
Hispanic40%
Asian14%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$86,139Year 1
$126,202Year 5
$167,903Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$91,235Year 1
$127,070Year 5
$161,782Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 52
$131,778Year 1
$166,655Year 5
$159,763Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$72,120Year 1
$112,010Year 5
$149,635Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$109,243Year 1
$133,141Year 5
$140,841Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$80,010Year 1
$109,422Year 5
$139,107Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 40
$74,872Year 1
$109,070Year 5
$133,072Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$71,723Year 1
$96,762Year 5
$126,433Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

92thEarnings percentile
43thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$66,850Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$20,828Median federal debt across categories that report debt
42%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$64,801Year 1
$79,176Year 4
$73,224Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$122,9942Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$115,4273Information Science/Studies · Master's Degree$112,0154Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$109,1975Computer Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$105,8716Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities · Master's Degree$103,2197Mechanical Engineering · Master's Degree$101,8948Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$99,993

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1MusicBachelor's Degree · $59,198 reported+38%vs same-degree national median$24,911federal debt2Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree · $59,430 reported+23%vs same-degree national median$17,417federal debt3Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationBachelor's Degree · $60,617 reported+20%vs same-degree national median$21,302federal debt4Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree · $47,106 reported+14%vs same-degree national median$26,562federal debt5HistoryBachelor's Degree · $57,159 reported+13%vs same-degree national median$24,875federal debt6Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree · $99,393 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$26,182federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TX

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Richardson, TX

The University of Texas at Dallas

Annual net price
$18,267
Observed earnings · year 5
$71,089
Modeled 10-year ROI
+3%
Open college profile →
Austin, TX

The University of Texas at Austin

Annual net price
$19,857
Observed earnings · year 5
$74,802
Modeled 10-year ROI
+15%
Open college profile →
College Station, TX

Texas A&M University-College Station

Annual net price
$21,315
Observed earnings · year 5
$72,578
Modeled 10-year ROI
+4%
Open college profile →
Houston, TX

University of Houston

Annual net price
$14,276
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,161
Modeled 10-year ROI
-23%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 69 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$122,994Not available9
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$115,427Not availableNot reported
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree$112,015Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$109,197$19,500Not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$105,871$20,8331
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and HumanitiesMaster's Degree$103,219Not available4
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$101,894Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,993$25,9903
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$99,393$26,18240
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,239$25,260Not reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$97,788$22,50323
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$96,956Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$95,846Not availableNot reported
Construction EngineeringMaster's Degree$92,546Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$90,158$24,0804
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$86,844$20,5421
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$83,344Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$83,295Not availableNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$81,538$19,500Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchMaster's Degree$81,015Not availableNot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$80,711$16,063Not reported
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$78,953$20,205Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$78,245$19,458Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$76,623$20,250Not reported
ArchitectureMaster's Degree$74,622Not availableNot reported
International BusinessBachelor's Degree$72,486$17,999Not reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree$71,830$22,314Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$71,821$20,500Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsMaster's Degree$71,022Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$70,437Not availableNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$68,754Not availableNot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$67,246$26,106Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree$66,454$22,639Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$66,261$17,161Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$65,294$27,931Not reported
Curriculum and InstructionMaster's Degree$64,929Not availableNot reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$63,766Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$63,088$18,616Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$62,978$20,8234
Social WorkMaster's Degree$62,890Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every The University of Texas at Arlington program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.