Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

University of Toledo

Toledo, OH · 63 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 61 · Federal debt reported for 40

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$85,346 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

15.2 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−34%Estimated return after 10 years
$61,365Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$85,346at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$248,9960
2
4
6
8
−$85,34610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 15.2 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$12,744
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$22,104
Sticker price
Average net price$17,249
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$26,512
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$12,744$22,104 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,290Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$14,830$3,827 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$32,691Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $11,711 housing and food allowance plus $5,234 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$61,365 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online19%
3,283 students
Some online courses51%
8,932 students
No online courses30%
5,282 students
Undergraduates age 25+10%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

1,560 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Ohio run 7% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall7% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing27% below U.S.
Utilities4% below U.S.
Other services1% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$17,249Average net price / year
$26,512Cost of attendance
$22,250Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$236/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$61,365Median earnings · year 5 after completion
57.0%Completion rate
92.0%Admission rate
1,235Average SAT score
25ACT midpoint
9,770Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about University of Toledo

What does University of Toledo cost?

University of Toledo reports an average annual net price of $17,249 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do University of Toledo graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $61,365 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do University of Toledo graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $22,250. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at University of Toledo worth the same?

No. The current release contains 63 field-and-degree records for University of Toledo; 61 report year-4 earnings and 40 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year41%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years47%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years52%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years60%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$22,250Median federal debt · 3,935 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,459Median federal debt · 3,529 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

17,084Students enrolled at any point
13,084Undergraduate students
4,000Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$13,524
$30–48k$13,365
$48–75k$16,407
$75–110k$19,659
$110k+$22,053
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$61,365
Year 6$44,162
Year 10$50,632
Full-time retention
77.3%
Part-time retention
50.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
58.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students42%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

44% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$16,879

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,936 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,000

Median federal student debt

43% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$41,380Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$52,341Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$61,187Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income33%
Middle income50%
Higher income64%
Undergraduate student composition
White65%
Black11%
Hispanic7%
Asian4%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Doctoral, professional practice · Broad federal field 51
$69,727Year 1
$140,291Year 5
$162,105Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$90,582Year 1
$121,802Year 5
$155,572Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$55,464Year 1
$67,692Year 5
$143,232Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$77,362Year 1
$104,709Year 5
$138,263Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$57,867Year 1
$114,306Year 5
$123,301Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$67,651Year 1
$95,909Year 5
$119,083Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$71,248Year 1
$89,593Year 5
$116,867Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$33,861Year 1
$87,170Year 5
$112,807Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

82thEarnings percentile
48thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$63,190Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$25,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
18%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$50,884Year 1
$66,084Year 4
$61,365Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration · Doctoral Degree$132,3082Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Master's Degree$127,2203Medicine · First Professional Degree$106,2684Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$103,8655Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians · Bachelor's Degree$98,5296Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$97,2417Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$95,8468Chemical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$94,065

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree · $68,866 reported+26%vs same-degree national median$22,797federal debt2Biology, GeneralMaster's Degree · $86,070 reported+23%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Electromechanical Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree · $98,529 reported+17%vs same-degree national median$26,000federal debt4International BusinessBachelor's Degree · $85,247 reported+16%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree · $56,264 reported+15%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $46,198 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$26,166federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in OH

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Blue Ash, OH

University of Cincinnati-Blue Ash College

Annual net price
$16,508
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,845
Modeled 10-year ROI
-23%
Open college profile →
Columbus, OH

Ohio State University-Main Campus

Annual net price
$17,339
Observed earnings · year 5
$66,114
Modeled 10-year ROI
-15%
Open college profile →
Wooster, OH

Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute

Annual net price
$17,809
Observed earnings · year 5
$66,114
Modeled 10-year ROI
-16%
Open college profile →
Dayton, OH

Wright State University-Main Campus

Annual net price
$15,415
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,485
Modeled 10-year ROI
-48%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 63 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationDoctoral Degree$132,308Not available110
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$127,220Not availableNot reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree$106,268Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$103,865Not available0
Electromechanical Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$98,529$26,000Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$97,241Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$95,846$21,250Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$94,065$25,750Not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$93,816$26,424Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$90,717$17,900Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$86,260Not availableNot reported
Biology, GeneralMaster's Degree$86,070Not availableNot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,751$19,750Not reported
International BusinessBachelor's Degree$85,247Not availableNot reported
LawFirst Professional Degree$85,086Not availableNot reported
Construction Engineering Technology/TechnicianBachelor's Degree$84,736$24,225Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$83,465$26,875Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$80,802Not available46
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$80,501$31,000Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$79,886$20,500Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$77,241$22,4008
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$74,825Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$74,304$18,5000
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$74,103$20,9731
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$73,932$25,193Not reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree$72,026Not available0
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$68,866$22,797Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$67,516$25,2503
MarketingBachelor's Degree$67,040$24,885Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$63,908$25,000Not reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationBachelor's Degree$63,190$25,000Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$60,561$25,0002
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$59,624Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$59,531Not availableNot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$59,246Not availableNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$56,606Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$56,264Not availableNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesMaster's Degree$56,105Not availableNot reported
Social WorkMaster's Degree$56,004Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree$54,335$26,438Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every University of Toledo program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.