SAME FIELD · SAME CREDENTIAL · ONE STATE

Education, General doctoral degree programs in California

Compare 10 reporting programs using the same federal field and doctoral degree credential definition. Earnings are observed four years after completion.

10Programs reporting earnings
$105,195Median year-4 earnings
Not availableMedian federal debt
0Programs reporting debt
OUTCOME SPREAD

Highest reported earnings in California

Each bar uses the same field, credential, state and earnings year.

1University of California, San DiegoLa Jolla · Debt not reported$131,3582University of California, BerkeleyBerkeley · Debt not reported$130,5473Stanford UniversityStanford · Debt not reported$125,3904Claremont Graduate UniversityClaremont · Debt not reported$118,3975Azusa Pacific UniversityAzusa · Debt not reported$113,2526University of California, RiversideRiverside · Debt not reported$105,1957University of California, IrvineIrvine · Debt not reported$98,5548University of California, Los AngelesLos Angeles · Debt not reported$96,2459University of California, Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara · Debt not reported$89,98910Northcentral UniversitySan Diego · Debt not reported$80,493
CAREER CONTEXT IN CA

What related occupations pay in California

These are common occupational matches for this field, ranked by the strength of the federal education-to-occupation match.

25-1081Education Teachers, Postsecondary
State median wage
$111,850
Middle 50% wage range
$79,040–$132,730
State employment
3,100
Projected growth
+2.5%
Annual openings
5,300
10th–90th percentile: $59,620–$159,270

Career wages and employment are BLS estimates for everyone working in each occupation in California; they are not earnings or placement rates for graduates of these programs. Wage ranges show the distribution across workers, not an entry-to-experienced career path. Growth and annual openings are national 2025–35 projections. BLS reports openings in thousands; DegreeVerdict displays the corresponding job count. These figures provide labor-market context and are not used in DegreeVerdict payoff or ROI calculations.

ALL REPORTING PROGRAMS

Compare every available outcome

Sorted by observed year-4 earnings. Open a row for its exact college-and-degree profile.

#CollegeCityMedian year-4 earningsMedian federal debt
1University of California, San DiegoLa Jolla$131,358Not available
2University of California, BerkeleyBerkeley$130,547Not available
3Stanford UniversityStanford$125,390Not available
4Claremont Graduate UniversityClaremont$118,397Not available
5Azusa Pacific UniversityAzusa$113,252Not available
6University of California, RiversideRiverside$105,195Not available
7University of California, IrvineIrvine$98,554Not available
8University of California, Los AngelesLos Angeles$96,245Not available
9University of California, Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara$89,989Not available
10Northcentral UniversitySan Diego$80,493Not available

This is an observed-outcomes comparison, not a universal quality ranking. Missing and privacy-suppressed programs are excluded.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

A quick read on Education, General in California

What do Education, General doctoral degree graduates earn in California?

Across 10 reporting programs, the median observed earnings figure is $105,195 four years after completion.

How much federal debt is reported for these programs?

The current federal release does not contain enough reportable debt figures for this comparison.

Which California colleges report the highest earnings for this degree?

The table compares the same federal field, credential and earnings year. University of California, San Diego has the highest reported figure among the programs shown.