SAME FIELD · SAME CREDENTIAL · ONE STATE

English Language and Literature, General bachelor's degree programs in Illinois

Compare 21 reporting programs using the same federal field and bachelor's degree credential definition. Earnings are observed four years after completion.

21Programs reporting earnings
$48,442Median year-4 earnings
$23,250Median federal debt
18Programs reporting debt
OUTCOME SPREAD

Highest reported earnings in Illinois

Each bar uses the same field, credential, state and earnings year.

1University of ChicagoChicago · Debt not reported$78,1692Northwestern UniversityEvanston · $15,564 federal debt$62,1473Lake Forest CollegeLake Forest · $23,250 federal debt$58,9014Loyola University ChicagoChicago · $26,000 federal debt$56,2895University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignChampaign · $20,961 federal debt$54,5706Wheaton CollegeWheaton · $21,500 federal debt$52,6477DePaul UniversityChicago · $23,499 federal debt$52,6088Illinois Wesleyan UniversityBloomington · Debt not reported$51,1079Governors State UniversityUniversity Park · $22,520 federal debt$50,42610Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago · $19,000 federal debt$49,141
CAREER CONTEXT IN IL

What related occupations pay in Illinois

These are common occupational matches for this field, ranked by the strength of the federal education-to-occupation match.

25-2031Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
State median wage
$79,990
Middle 50% wage range
$62,330–$104,670
State employment
44,670
Projected growth
-0.2%
Annual openings
63,500
10th–90th percentile: $49,020–$135,960
25-1123English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
State median wage
$77,570
Middle 50% wage range
$51,090–$102,600
State employment
2,570
Projected growth
0.0%
Annual openings
4,500
10th–90th percentile: $37,270–$125,520
43-9081Proofreaders and Copy Markers
State median wage
$50,060
Middle 50% wage range
$37,770–$59,350
State employment
300
Projected growth
-0.9%
Annual openings
1,100
10th–90th percentile: $33,950–$77,030

Career wages and employment are BLS estimates for everyone working in each occupation in Illinois; they are not earnings or placement rates for graduates of these programs. Wage ranges show the distribution across workers, not an entry-to-experienced career path. Growth and annual openings are national 2025–35 projections. BLS reports openings in thousands; DegreeVerdict displays the corresponding job count. These figures provide labor-market context and are not used in DegreeVerdict payoff or ROI calculations.

ALL REPORTING PROGRAMS

Compare every available outcome

Sorted by observed year-4 earnings. Open a row for its exact college-and-degree profile.

#CollegeCityMedian year-4 earningsMedian federal debt
1University of ChicagoChicago$78,169Not available
2Northwestern UniversityEvanston$62,147$15,564
3Lake Forest CollegeLake Forest$58,901$23,250
4Loyola University ChicagoChicago$56,289$26,000
5University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignChampaign$54,570$20,961
6Wheaton CollegeWheaton$52,647$21,500
7DePaul UniversityChicago$52,608$23,499
8Illinois Wesleyan UniversityBloomington$51,107Not available
9Governors State UniversityUniversity Park$50,426$22,520
10Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago$49,141$19,000
11University of Illinois ChicagoChicago$48,442$18,750
12University of Illinois SpringfieldSpringfield$48,196$32,574
13Northern Illinois UniversityDekalb$47,981$25,375
14Illinois State UniversityNormal$47,445$23,125
15Eastern Illinois UniversityCharleston$47,222$25,053
16Dominican UniversityRiver Forest$46,780Not available
17Elmhurst UniversityElmhurst$46,021$19,500
18Augustana CollegeRock Island$43,492$26,759
19Western Illinois UniversityMacomb$41,984$23,750
20Southern Illinois University EdwardsvilleEdwardsville$41,310$25,250
21Southern Illinois University-CarbondaleCarbondale$37,786$26,500

This is an observed-outcomes comparison, not a universal quality ranking. Missing and privacy-suppressed programs are excluded.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

A quick read on English Language and Literature, General in Illinois

What do English Language and Literature, General bachelor's degree graduates earn in Illinois?

Across 21 reporting programs, the median observed earnings figure is $48,442 four years after completion.

How much federal debt is reported for these programs?

The median is $23,250 among the 18 programs reporting federal debt.

Which Illinois colleges report the highest earnings for this degree?

The table compares the same federal field, credential and earnings year. University of Chicago has the highest reported figure among the programs shown.