SAME FIELD · SAME CREDENTIAL · ONE STATE

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies master's degree programs in New York

Compare 6 reporting programs using the same federal field and master's degree credential definition. Earnings are observed four years after completion.

6Programs reporting earnings
$60,959Median year-4 earnings
Not availableMedian federal debt
0Programs reporting debt
OUTCOME SPREAD

Highest reported earnings in New York

Each bar uses the same field, credential, state and earnings year.

1University at AlbanyAlbany · Debt not reported$76,4612New York UniversityNew York · Debt not reported$69,3713The New SchoolNew York · Debt not reported$67,9584CUNY Brooklyn CollegeBrooklyn · Debt not reported$60,9595Columbia University in the City of New YorkNew York · Debt not reported$53,5926Sarah Lawrence CollegeBronxville · Debt not reported$51,084
CAREER CONTEXT IN NY

What related occupations pay in New York

These are common occupational matches for this field, ranked by the strength of the federal education-to-occupation match.

27-3041Editors
State median wage
$101,480
Middle 50% wage range
$76,790–$140,320
State employment
16,800
Projected growth
-1.1%
Annual openings
7,900
10th–90th percentile: $57,910–$179,370
25-1123English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
State median wage
$84,850
Middle 50% wage range
$66,260–$122,980
State employment
6,110
Projected growth
0.0%
Annual openings
4,500
10th–90th percentile: $52,220–$173,580
25-1199Postsecondary Teachers, All Other
State median wage
$67,640
Middle 50% wage range
$49,920–$98,290
State employment
2,810
Projected growth
+2.0%
Annual openings
12,500
10th–90th percentile: $46,150–$132,640
27-3042Technical Writers
State median wage
$98,310
Middle 50% wage range
$73,440–$121,500
State employment
1,610
Projected growth
+0.8%
Annual openings
3,200
10th–90th percentile: $53,560–$152,570
43-9081Proofreaders and Copy Markers
State median wage
$59,740
Middle 50% wage range
$51,050–$78,140
State employment
1,030
Projected growth
-0.9%
Annual openings
1,100
10th–90th percentile: $39,080–$97,300

Career wages and employment are BLS estimates for everyone working in each occupation in New York; they are not earnings or placement rates for graduates of these programs. Wage ranges show the distribution across workers, not an entry-to-experienced career path. Growth and annual openings are national 2025–35 projections. BLS reports openings in thousands; DegreeVerdict displays the corresponding job count. These figures provide labor-market context and are not used in DegreeVerdict payoff or ROI calculations.

ALL REPORTING PROGRAMS

Compare every available outcome

Sorted by observed year-4 earnings. Open a row for its exact college-and-degree profile.

#CollegeCityMedian year-4 earningsMedian federal debt
1University at AlbanyAlbany$76,461Not available
2New York UniversityNew York$69,371Not available
3The New SchoolNew York$67,958Not available
4CUNY Brooklyn CollegeBrooklyn$60,959Not available
5Columbia University in the City of New YorkNew York$53,592Not available
6Sarah Lawrence CollegeBronxville$51,084Not available

This is an observed-outcomes comparison, not a universal quality ranking. Missing and privacy-suppressed programs are excluded.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

A quick read on Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in New York

What do Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies master's degree graduates earn in New York?

Across 6 reporting programs, the median observed earnings figure is $60,959 four years after completion.

How much federal debt is reported for these programs?

The current federal release does not contain enough reportable debt figures for this comparison.

Which New York colleges report the highest earnings for this degree?

The table compares the same federal field, credential and earnings year. University at Albany has the highest reported figure among the programs shown.