SAME FIELD · SAME CREDENTIAL · ONE STATE

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies master's degree programs in Pennsylvania

Compare 6 reporting programs using the same federal field and master's degree credential definition. Earnings are observed four years after completion.

6Programs reporting earnings
$48,110Median year-4 earnings
Not availableMedian federal debt
0Programs reporting debt
OUTCOME SPREAD

Highest reported earnings in Pennsylvania

Each bar uses the same field, credential, state and earnings year.

1Saint Joseph's University - PhiladelphiaPhiladelphia · Debt not reported$129,1922Carnegie Mellon UniversityPittsburgh · Debt not reported$78,7163Arcadia UniversityGlenside · Debt not reported$52,3584Chatham UniversityPittsburgh · Debt not reported$48,1105Seton Hill UniversityGreensburg · Debt not reported$42,0326Wilkes UniversityWilkes-Barre · Debt not reported$37,334
CAREER CONTEXT IN PA

What related occupations pay in Pennsylvania

These are common occupational matches for this field, ranked by the strength of the federal education-to-occupation match.

25-1123English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
State median wage
$80,670
Middle 50% wage range
$63,200–$102,840
State employment
2,530
Projected growth
0.0%
Annual openings
4,500
10th–90th percentile: $49,290–$122,700
27-3043Writers and Authors
State median wage
$77,410
Middle 50% wage range
$54,030–$102,480
State employment
1,080
Projected growth
-0.3%
Annual openings
11,900
10th–90th percentile: $40,270–$178,490
27-3041Editors
State median wage
$63,460
Middle 50% wage range
$46,530–$87,770
State employment
3,240
Projected growth
-1.1%
Annual openings
7,900
10th–90th percentile: $37,240–$114,560
25-1199Postsecondary Teachers, All Other
State median wage
$65,400
Middle 50% wage range
$35,770–$104,910
State employment
12,100
Projected growth
+2.0%
Annual openings
12,500
10th–90th percentile: $35,770–$199,700
27-3042Technical Writers
State median wage
$87,620
Middle 50% wage range
$71,980–$105,300
State employment
1,330
Projected growth
+0.8%
Annual openings
3,200
10th–90th percentile: $54,220–$158,180
43-9081Proofreaders and Copy Markers
State median wage
$47,510
Middle 50% wage range
$44,280–$66,150
State employment
230
Projected growth
-0.9%
Annual openings
1,100
10th–90th percentile: $38,000–$82,340

Career wages and employment are BLS estimates for everyone working in each occupation in Pennsylvania; they are not earnings or placement rates for graduates of these programs. Wage ranges show the distribution across workers, not an entry-to-experienced career path. Growth and annual openings are national 2025–35 projections. BLS reports openings in thousands; DegreeVerdict displays the corresponding job count. These figures provide labor-market context and are not used in DegreeVerdict payoff or ROI calculations.

ALL REPORTING PROGRAMS

Compare every available outcome

Sorted by observed year-4 earnings. Open a row for its exact college-and-degree profile.

#CollegeCityMedian year-4 earningsMedian federal debt
1Saint Joseph's University - PhiladelphiaPhiladelphia$129,192Not available
2Carnegie Mellon UniversityPittsburgh$78,716Not available
3Arcadia UniversityGlenside$52,358Not available
4Chatham UniversityPittsburgh$48,110Not available
5Seton Hill UniversityGreensburg$42,032Not available
6Wilkes UniversityWilkes-Barre$37,334Not available

This is an observed-outcomes comparison, not a universal quality ranking. Missing and privacy-suppressed programs are excluded.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

A quick read on Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in Pennsylvania

What do Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies master's degree graduates earn in Pennsylvania?

Across 6 reporting programs, the median observed earnings figure is $48,110 four years after completion.

How much federal debt is reported for these programs?

The current federal release does not contain enough reportable debt figures for this comparison.

Which Pennsylvania colleges report the highest earnings for this degree?

The table compares the same federal field, credential and earnings year. Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia has the highest reported figure among the programs shown.