SAME FIELD · SAME CREDENTIAL · ONE STATE

Political Science and Government bachelor's degree programs in Texas

Compare 27 reporting programs using the same federal field and bachelor's degree credential definition. Earnings are observed four years after completion.

27Programs reporting earnings
$59,466Median year-4 earnings
$21,500Median federal debt
24Programs reporting debt
OUTCOME SPREAD

Highest reported earnings in Texas

Each bar uses the same field, credential, state and earnings year.

1Rice UniversityHouston · Debt not reported$87,8042The University of Texas at AustinAustin · $20,500 federal debt$75,9883Texas Christian UniversityFort Worth · $25,000 federal debt$75,4194Texas A&M University-College StationCollege Station · $19,749 federal debt$69,3755Trinity UniversitySan Antonio · $25,000 federal debt$68,9346The University of Texas at DallasRichardson · $23,000 federal debt$65,8697Saint Edward's UniversityAustin · $23,250 federal debt$63,5048Dallas Baptist UniversityDallas · Debt not reported$62,3729Southwestern UniversityGeorgetown · $24,625 federal debt$61,93510Baylor UniversityWaco · $26,000 federal debt$61,578
CAREER CONTEXT IN TX

What related occupations pay in Texas

These are common occupational matches for this field, ranked by the strength of the federal education-to-occupation match.

11-9199Managers, All Other
State median wage
$134,390
Middle 50% wage range
$102,620–$173,480
State employment
61,410
Projected growth
+4.9%
Annual openings
100,900
10th–90th percentile: $78,050–$220,370
19-3094Political Scientists
State median wage
$114,050
Middle 50% wage range
$101,900–$128,320
State employment
160
Projected growth
-2.0%
Annual openings
400
10th–90th percentile: $87,530–$139,010
25-1065Political Science Teachers, Postsecondary
State median wage
$86,950
Middle 50% wage range
$63,840–$120,690
State employment
1,890
Projected growth
+2.5%
Annual openings
1,500
10th–90th percentile: $49,010–$168,900
25-2031Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
State median wage
$63,590
Middle 50% wage range
$61,390–$73,720
State employment
111,660
Projected growth
-0.2%
Annual openings
63,500
10th–90th percentile: $50,410–$78,020
19-4061Social Science Research Assistants
State median wage
$58,070
Middle 50% wage range
$44,950–$77,130
State employment
1,180
Projected growth
+5.0%
Annual openings
4,900
10th–90th percentile: $38,120–$108,730
19-3011Economists
State median wage
$121,420
Middle 50% wage range
$83,900–$175,000
State employment
560
Projected growth
+4.7%
Annual openings
1,100
10th–90th percentile: $66,760–$219,140
25-1063Economics Teachers, Postsecondary
State median wage
$118,530
Middle 50% wage range
$83,130–$160,330
State employment
770
Projected growth
+2.4%
Annual openings
1,000
10th–90th percentile: $58,920–$221,670

Career wages and employment are BLS estimates for everyone working in each occupation in Texas; they are not earnings or placement rates for graduates of these programs. Wage ranges show the distribution across workers, not an entry-to-experienced career path. Growth and annual openings are national 2025–35 projections. BLS reports openings in thousands; DegreeVerdict displays the corresponding job count. These figures provide labor-market context and are not used in DegreeVerdict payoff or ROI calculations.

ALL REPORTING PROGRAMS

Compare every available outcome

Sorted by observed year-4 earnings. Open a row for its exact college-and-degree profile.

#CollegeCityMedian year-4 earningsMedian federal debt
1Rice UniversityHouston$87,804Not available
2The University of Texas at AustinAustin$75,988$20,500
3Texas Christian UniversityFort Worth$75,419$25,000
4Texas A&M University-College StationCollege Station$69,375$19,749
5Trinity UniversitySan Antonio$68,934$25,000
6The University of Texas at DallasRichardson$65,869$23,000
7Saint Edward's UniversityAustin$63,504$23,250
8Dallas Baptist UniversityDallas$62,372Not available
9Southwestern UniversityGeorgetown$61,935$24,625
10Baylor UniversityWaco$61,578$26,000
11University of HoustonHouston$61,533$19,500
12University of DallasIrving$61,484$21,500
13Tarleton State UniversityStephenville$59,542Not available
14Texas Tech UniversityLubbock$59,466$23,375
15University of Houston-DowntownHouston$59,261$21,600
16University of North TexasDenton$57,852$17,750
17Texas State UniversitySan Marcos$56,716$22,760
18Sam Houston State UniversityHuntsville$55,894$25,125
19The University of Texas at El PasoEl Paso$54,069$21,097
20The University of Texas at San AntonioSan Antonio$53,674$20,000
21Texas A&M International UniversityLaredo$50,544$14,606
22The University of Texas at ArlingtonArlington$50,006$20,406
23Stephen F Austin State UniversityNacogdoches$49,980$20,250
24Texas Woman's UniversityDenton$48,429$30,162
25St. Mary's UniversitySan Antonio$46,620$19,500
26The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyEdinburg$44,895$10,250
27Prairie View A&M UniversityPrairie View$41,831$23,538

This is an observed-outcomes comparison, not a universal quality ranking. Missing and privacy-suppressed programs are excluded.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

A quick read on Political Science and Government in Texas

What do Political Science and Government bachelor's degree graduates earn in Texas?

Across 27 reporting programs, the median observed earnings figure is $59,466 four years after completion.

How much federal debt is reported for these programs?

The median is $21,500 among the 24 programs reporting federal debt.

Which Texas colleges report the highest earnings for this degree?

The table compares the same federal field, credential and earnings year. Rice University has the highest reported figure among the programs shown.