Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians associate's degree at Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs, IA · Public
What this page covers
Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.
The short version
Reported earnings are close to similar programs.
$235 below the national median for the same field and degree level.
Debt as a share of earnings
33.9% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
−180% · Negative payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY
The price can change the verdict.
Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.
← Negative payoff$0Positive payoff →
$0Annual price−$185,750
$8,000Annual price−$201,750
$15,000Current college-wide context−$215,750
$16,000Annual price−$217,750
$24,000Annual price−$233,750
$32,000Annual price−$249,750
$40,000Annual price−$265,750
OUTCOME SIGNALS
Graduate outcomes from several angles.
Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.
+76%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$24,428 → $42,920Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort24Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median27Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt medianNot availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credentialNot availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT
Size, aid and an earnings floor.
The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.
65Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollmentNot reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers45Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count35Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
25.3%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 23 non-completers25Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$36,082Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$35,425$657 below the preliminary benchmark
Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.
01 · PRICE CONTEXT$14,629
Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.
02 · BORROWING$12,000
Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.
03 · EARNINGS$35,425
Observed median earnings four full years after completion.
04 · REPAYMENT$127/mo
Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.
ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS
6 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor
These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.Audio Engineering - Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 10.0203
Audio Engineering - Associate of Applied Science
Reported price
$15,540
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.Media Studies: Television/Video - Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 10.0202
Media Studies: Television/Video - Associate of Applied Science
Reported price
$15,780
Completion
32.0%
Employed in Q2
35.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$8,081
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.Media Studies: Television/Video - Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 10.0202
Media Studies: Television/Video - Associate of Applied Science
Reported price
$15,780
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
70.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$8,762
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.Media Studies: Radio - Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 10.0202
Media Studies: Radio - Associate of Applied Science
Reported price
$15,931
Completion
31.0%
Employed in Q2
46.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$5,610
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.Media Studies: Radio - Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 10.0202
Media Studies: Radio - Associate of Applied Science
Reported price
$15,931
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.
Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.
$24,428Year 1
$35,425Year 4
$42,920Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?
4.3% of gross monthly earnings
Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.
Gross monthly earnings$2,952
Estimated loan payment$127
27borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?
$35,425 vs. $35,660
$235 below the national median for the same field and credential.
Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?
Related occupations, wages and outlook.
Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.
BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Film and Video Editors$75,420 median wageU.S. estimate · 25,610 jobs · 27-4032+3.7% projected U.S. growth · 3,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeLighting Technicians$68,060 median wageU.S. estimate · 8,900 jobs · 27-4015-4.8% projected U.S. growth · 600 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardCamera Operators, Television, Video, and Film$57,220 median wageIA estimate · 90 jobs · 27-4031$45,280–$75,000 middle 50% of IA wages+1.3% projected U.S. growth · 2,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeAudio and Video Technicians$51,030 median wageIA estimate · 290 jobs · 27-4011$43,830–$64,260 middle 50% of IA wages+3.9% projected U.S. growth · 6,600 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardBroadcast Technicians$46,820 median wageIA estimate · 180 jobs · 27-4012$34,560–$63,950 middle 50% of IA wages-3.1% projected U.S. growth · 1,600 openings/yrTypical entry: Associate's degreeCourt Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners$93,810 median wageIA estimate · 160 jobs · 27-3092$70,780–$93,810 middle 50% of IA wages-0.1% projected U.S. growth · 1,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardSound Engineering Technicians$57,400 median wageIA estimate · 60 jobs · 27-4014$37,590–$57,400 middle 50% of IA wages-3.1% projected U.S. growth · 1,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardDisc Jockeys, Except RadioNot available median wageU.S. estimate · 130 jobs · 27-2091+3.8% projected U.S. growth · 1,700 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalent
Possible alternatives
Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.
Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.
Sioux City, IA
Western Iowa Tech Community College
$5,993 higher earnings · $5,859 lower annual net price