← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians associate's degree at Kirkwood Community College

Cedar Rapids, IA · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are close to similar programs.

$3,062 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
16.3% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
$37,430 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
+51% · Positive payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$61,486 observed annual earnings · 2 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+21%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$44,896 → $54,430
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
23Working in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
26Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
31Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

207Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
39Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
137Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
103Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
39.6%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 36 non-completers
25Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$36,082Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$61,486$25,404 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$9,705

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$10,000

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$61,486

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$106/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS

4 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor

These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.

Automotive Collision Repair Diploma · CIP 47.0603

Automotive Collision Repair & Restoration

Reported price
$18,249
Completion
33.0%
Employed in Q2
63.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$9,441
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Aviation Maintenance Technology Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 47.0607

Aviation Maintenance Technology

Reported price
$25,324
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Diesel Truck Technology Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 47.0605

Diesel Truck Technology

Reported price
$28,561
Completion
65.0%
Employed in Q2
96.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$12,020
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Automotive Technology Associate of Applied Science Degree · CIP 47.0604

Automotive Technology

Reported price
$29,530
Completion
69.0%
Employed in Q2
69.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$6,590
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Program year 2022. Quarterly earnings are not annual salary. Suppressed values appear as “Not reported.” Source: U.S. Department of Labor TrainingProviderResults.gov. Showing 4 of 4 related records.
WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$9,705Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$15,579Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATENot availableInstitution context
COMPLETION RATE43.0%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$44,896Year 1
$61,486Year 4
$54,430Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

2.1% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$5,124
Estimated loan payment$106
31borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$61,486 vs. $58,424

$3,062 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics$50,510 median wageIA estimate · 7,610 jobs · 49-3023$39,340–$67,200 middle 50% of IA wages+5.0% projected U.S. growth · 66,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardFirst-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers$78,340 median wageIA estimate · 6,450 jobs · 49-1011$63,380–$96,030 middle 50% of IA wages+4.1% projected U.S. growth · 48,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentAircraft Structure, Surfaces, Rigging, and Systems Assemblers$65,380 median wageU.S. estimate · 34,020 jobs · 51-2011-5.6% projected U.S. growth · 3,100 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentAircraft Mechanics and Service Technicians$69,890 median wageIA estimate · 330 jobs · 49-3011$43,720–$80,510 middle 50% of IA wages+5.4% projected U.S. growth · 11,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardBus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists$59,680 median wageIA estimate · 4,140 jobs · 49-3031$48,770–$71,570 middle 50% of IA wages+3.6% projected U.S. growth · 24,400 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentMotorboat Mechanics and Service Technicians$49,930 median wageIA estimate · 110 jobs · 49-3051$40,780–$58,670 middle 50% of IA wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 2,600 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentAerospace Engineering and Operations Technologists and Technicians$82,890 median wageU.S. estimate · 11,280 jobs · 17-3021+11.9% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Associate's degreeAvionics Technicians$82,280 median wageU.S. estimate · 18,830 jobs · 49-2091+9.4% projected U.S. growth · 1,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardInsurance Appraisers, Auto Damage$79,090 median wageIA estimate · 11,560 jobs · 13-1032$46,420–$81,840 middle 50% of IA wages-8.7% projected U.S. growth · 700 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardElectrical and Electronics Installers and Repairers, Transportation Equipment$75,130 median wageIA estimate · 100 jobs · 49-2093$54,130–$75,680 middle 50% of IA wages+5.4% projected U.S. growth · 500 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardElectronic Equipment Installers and Repairers, Motor Vehicles$55,160 median wageIA estimate · 8,550 jobs · 49-2096$47,250–$61,480 middle 50% of IA wages-14.5% projected U.S. growth · 400 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentAutomotive Body and Related Repairers$49,400 median wageIA estimate · 1,830 jobs · 49-3021$43,380–$63,270 middle 50% of IA wages+3.7% projected U.S. growth · 12,600 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalent
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Ankeny, IA

Des Moines Area Community College

$2,187 higher earnings · $376 less debt

Earnings
$63,673
Debt
$9,624
Annual net price
$11,171
View outcomes →
Waterloo, IA

Hawkeye Community College

$1,331 higher earnings · $56 lower annual net price

Earnings
$62,817
Debt
$12,000
Annual net price
$9,649
View outcomes →
Council Bluffs, IA

Iowa Western Community College

$914 higher earnings

Earnings
$62,400
Debt
$13,000
Annual net price
$14,629
View outcomes →
Sheldon, IA

Northwest Iowa Community College

$421 higher earnings

Earnings
$61,907
Debt
$11,326
Annual net price
$14,800
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

26 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →