← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Journalism bachelor's degree at Louisiana Tech University

Ruston, LA · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are below similar programs.

$15,058 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
60.7% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
−117% · Negative payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$41,220 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5$21,087 → Not available
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
35Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

78Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
Not reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
40Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
49Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$32,203Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$41,220$9,017 above the preliminary benchmark

Additional borrowing reported for this category: 15 Parent PLUS borrowers.

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$11,864

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$25,000

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$41,220

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$265/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS

1 related offering reported to the Department of Labor

These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.

Bachelor's Degree · CIP 09.0401

Communication

Reported price
$47,028
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Program year 2022. Quarterly earnings are not annual salary. Suppressed values appear as “Not reported.” Source: U.S. Department of Labor TrainingProviderResults.gov. Showing 1 of 1 related records.
WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$11,864Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$24,280Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE86.4%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE63.8%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$21,087Year 1
$41,220Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

7.7% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$3,435
Estimated loan payment$265
35borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$41,220 vs. $56,278

$15,058 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists$50,750 median wageLA estimate · 410 jobs · 27-3023$43,740–$76,490 middle 50% of LA wages-5.9% projected U.S. growth · 3,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeCommunications Teachers, Postsecondary$77,250 median wageLA estimate · 170 jobs · 25-1122$60,710–$94,310 middle 50% of LA wages+2.1% projected U.S. growth · 2,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeWriters and Authors$89,520 median wageLA estimate · 480 jobs · 27-3043$55,860–$105,970 middle 50% of LA wages-0.3% projected U.S. growth · 11,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEditors$58,860 median wageLA estimate · 330 jobs · 27-3041$44,640–$76,030 middle 50% of LA wages-1.1% projected U.S. growth · 7,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeFilm and Video Editors$66,870 median wageLA estimate · 80 jobs · 27-4032$55,400–$73,380 middle 50% of LA wages+3.7% projected U.S. growth · 3,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeProofreaders and Copy Markers$51,120 median wageU.S. estimate · 4,580 jobs · 43-9081-0.9% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreePhotographers$36,830 median wageLA estimate · 510 jobs · 27-4021$26,240–$56,550 middle 50% of LA wages-0.7% projected U.S. growth · 10,700 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentBroadcast Announcers and Radio Disc Jockeys$33,020 median wageLA estimate · 190 jobs · 27-3011$22,530–$46,060 middle 50% of LA wages-7.6% projected U.S. growth · 2,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degree
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Educational Services

about 18.9%
02

Information

about 12.8%
03

Retail Trade

about 10.6%
04

Health Care and Social Assistance

about 10.0%
05

Manufacturing

about 7.8%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Orlando, FL

University of Central Florida

$19,667 higher earnings · $2,356 less debt · $1,453 lower annual net price

Earnings
$60,887
Debt
$22,644
Annual net price
$10,411
View outcomes →
Brooklyn, NY

CUNY Brooklyn College

$19,052 higher earnings · $14,710 less debt · $8,761 lower annual net price

Earnings
$60,272
Debt
$10,290
Annual net price
$3,103
View outcomes →
Waterbury, CT

University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus

$18,384 higher earnings · $1,750 less debt · $989 lower annual net price

Earnings
$59,604
Debt
$23,250
Annual net price
$10,875
View outcomes →
Saint Clairsville, OH

Ohio University-Eastern Campus

$18,056 higher earnings · $792 less debt · $7,939 lower annual net price

Earnings
$59,276
Debt
$24,208
Annual net price
$3,925
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

Not reported observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →