← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies bachelor's degree at University of Maine at Farmington

Farmington, ME · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are below similar programs.

$8,390 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
−120% · Negative payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$40,081 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5Not available → Not available
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
18Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

60Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
Not reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
40Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
42Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$36,497Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$40,081$3,584 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$16,857

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$40,081

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS

1 related offering reported to the Department of Labor

These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.

Bachelor of Fine Arts · CIP 23.1302

Creative Writing

Reported price
$24,224
Completion
76.0%
Employed in Q2
43.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$3,440
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Program year 2022. Quarterly earnings are not annual salary. Suppressed values appear as “Not reported.” Source: U.S. Department of Labor TrainingProviderResults.gov. Showing 1 of 1 related records.
WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$16,857Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$25,822Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE96.7%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE51.5%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

Not availableYear 1
$40,081Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$3,340
Estimated loan paymentNot available
18borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$40,081 vs. $48,471

$8,390 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary$84,290 median wageME estimate · 230 jobs · 25-1123$61,450–$128,370 middle 50% of ME wages+0.0% projected U.S. growth · 4,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeWriters and Authors$76,910 median wageU.S. estimate · 200 jobs · 27-3043-0.3% projected U.S. growth · 11,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEditors$50,180 median wageME estimate · 300 jobs · 27-3041$46,280–$73,390 middle 50% of ME wages-1.1% projected U.S. growth · 7,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreePostsecondary Teachers, All Other$59,950 median wageME estimate · 280 jobs · 25-1199$56,430–$80,160 middle 50% of ME wages+2.0% projected U.S. growth · 12,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeTechnical Writers$90,390 median wageU.S. estimate · 310 jobs · 27-3042+0.8% projected U.S. growth · 3,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeProofreaders and Copy Markers$51,120 median wageU.S. estimate · 4,580 jobs · 43-9081-0.9% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degree
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Educational Services

about 28.7%
02

Health Care and Social Assistance

about 16.8%
03

Retail Trade

about 15.1%
04

Information

about 7.3%
05

Accommodation and Food Services

about 5.4%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Salt Lake City, UT

University of Utah

$35,605 higher earnings · $657 lower annual net price

Earnings
$75,686
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$16,200
View outcomes →
Berkeley, CA

University of California, Berkeley

$29,292 higher earnings · $3,376 lower annual net price

Earnings
$69,373
Debt
$14,037
Annual net price
$13,481
View outcomes →
Denton, TX

University of North Texas

$22,622 higher earnings · $1,208 lower annual net price

Earnings
$62,703
Debt
$19,424
Annual net price
$15,649
View outcomes →
Kearney, NE

University of Nebraska at Kearney

$21,860 higher earnings · $615 lower annual net price

Earnings
$61,941
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$16,242
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

Not reported observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →