← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

History bachelor's degree at Bowie State University

Bowie, MD · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are notably above similar programs.

$17,397 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
47.3% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
$12,693 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
−10% · Negative payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$68,077 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5Not available → Not available
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
20Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

78Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
Not reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
43Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
36Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
32.3%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 32 non-completers
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$36,491Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$68,077$31,586 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$19,298

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$32,229

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$68,077

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$342/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$19,298Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$25,220Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE72.4%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE38.2%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

Not availableYear 1
$68,077Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

6.0% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$5,673
Estimated loan payment$342
20borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$68,077 vs. $50,680

$17,397 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Managers, All Other$159,040 median wageMD estimate · 17,530 jobs · 11-9199$124,590–$185,220 middle 50% of MD wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 100,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeHistorians$120,580 median wageMD estimate · 50 jobs · 19-3093$83,470–$152,730 middle 50% of MD wages+3.0% projected U.S. growth · 300 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeHistory Teachers, Postsecondary$97,830 median wageMD estimate · 310 jobs · 25-1125$79,630–$126,310 middle 50% of MD wages+0.0% projected U.S. growth · 1,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeSecondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$78,670 median wageMD estimate · 16,640 jobs · 25-2031$62,300–$98,690 middle 50% of MD wages-0.2% projected U.S. growth · 63,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeNatural Sciences Managers$168,620 median wageMD estimate · 4,820 jobs · 11-9121$141,530–$200,510 middle 50% of MD wages+8.2% projected U.S. growth · 9,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeMuseum Technicians and Conservators$76,900 median wageMD estimate · 450 jobs · 25-4013$51,440–$108,160 middle 50% of MD wages+3.6% projected U.S. growth · 1,600 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeArchivists$76,440 median wageMD estimate · 660 jobs · 25-4011$58,910–$118,290 middle 50% of MD wages+3.4% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeCurators$63,750 median wageMD estimate · 170 jobs · 25-4012$53,660–$84,150 middle 50% of MD wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 1,600 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeTour Guides and EscortsNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 39-7011
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

College Park, MD

University of Maryland-College Park

$8,514 less debt · $3,620 lower annual net price

Earnings
$60,089
Debt
$23,715
Annual net price
$15,678
View outcomes →
Baltimore, MD

University of Maryland-Baltimore County

$10,944 less debt · $2,831 lower annual net price

Earnings
$56,394
Debt
$21,285
Annual net price
$16,467
View outcomes →
Towson, MD

Towson University

$16,509 less debt · $1,885 lower annual net price

Earnings
$56,318
Debt
$15,720
Annual net price
$17,413
View outcomes →
St. Mary's City, MD

St. Mary's College of Maryland

$8,286 less debt · $857 lower annual net price

Earnings
$55,472
Debt
$23,943
Annual net price
$18,441
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

Not reported observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →