← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Communication and Media Studies master's degree at Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD · Private nonprofit

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are notably above similar programs.

$35,456 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$267,045 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+23%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$82,754 → $101,413
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
45Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

133Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
35Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
61Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
50Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$58,761Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$107,409$48,648 above the preliminary benchmark

Additional borrowing reported for this category: Parent PLUS not reported · 21 Grad PLUS borrowers.

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$107,409 vs. $56,359

$51,050 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis673 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$18,809

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$107,409

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$18,809Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$85,947Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE6.4%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE93.8%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$82,754Year 1
$107,409Year 4
$101,413Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$8,951
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$107,409 vs. $71,953

$35,456 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Public Relations Managers$149,380 median wageMD estimate · 1,530 jobs · 11-2032$113,100–$198,340 middle 50% of MD wages+5.7% projected U.S. growth · 6,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeWriters and Authors$104,330 median wageMD estimate · 540 jobs · 27-3043$77,020–$140,670 middle 50% of MD wages-0.3% projected U.S. growth · 11,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeCommunications Teachers, Postsecondary$83,510 median wageMD estimate · 440 jobs · 25-1122$62,010–$114,120 middle 50% of MD wages+2.1% projected U.S. growth · 2,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreePublic Relations Specialists$79,560 median wageMD estimate · 4,190 jobs · 27-3031$58,600–$108,160 middle 50% of MD wages+1.8% projected U.S. growth · 23,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEditors$75,550 median wageMD estimate · 1,850 jobs · 27-3041$60,820–$100,300 middle 50% of MD wages-1.1% projected U.S. growth · 7,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeBroadcast Announcers and Radio Disc Jockeys$74,480 median wageMD estimate · 290 jobs · 27-3011$55,950–$110,140 middle 50% of MD wages-7.6% projected U.S. growth · 2,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeNews Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists$63,680 median wageMD estimate · 580 jobs · 27-3023$46,140–$85,400 middle 50% of MD wages-5.9% projected U.S. growth · 3,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeFundraising Managers$130,750 median wageMD estimate · 810 jobs · 11-2033$103,090–$172,290 middle 50% of MD wages+5.4% projected U.S. growth · 3,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeFundraisers$79,780 median wageMD estimate · 2,010 jobs · 13-1131$66,710–$95,580 middle 50% of MD wages+5.5% projected U.S. growth · 10,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeMedia and Communication Workers, All Other$57,590 median wageMD estimate · 350 jobs · 27-3099$48,330–$80,840 middle 50% of MD wages+3.9% projected U.S. growth · 2,000 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentNO MATCHNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 99-9999
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

about 23.8%
02

Educational Services

about 14.0%
03

Other Services (except Public Administration)

about 13.4%
04

Public Administration

about 12.8%
05

Information

about 7.0%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

New York, NY

Columbia University in the City of New York

$12,594 higher earnings

Earnings
$120,003
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$21,590
View outcomes →
Evanston, IL

Northwestern University

$8,692 higher earnings

Earnings
$116,101
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$29,167
View outcomes →
Chapel Hill, NC

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

$7,154 lower annual net price

Earnings
$88,174
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$11,655
View outcomes →
Detroit, MI

Wayne State University

$6,043 lower annual net price

Earnings
$87,918
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$12,766
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

45 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →