Special Education and Teaching bachelor's degree at Shawnee State University
Portsmouth, OH · Public
What this page covers
Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.
The short version
Reported earnings are below similar programs.
$6,356 below the national median for the same field and degree level.
Debt as a share of earnings
61.2% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
−104% · Negative payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY
The price can change the verdict.
Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.
← Negative payoff$0Positive payoff →
$0Annual price−$188,570
$8,000Annual price−$220,570
$14,000Current college-wide context−$244,570
$16,000Annual price−$252,570
$24,000Annual price−$284,570
$32,000Annual price−$316,570
$40,000Annual price−$348,570
OUTCOME SIGNALS
Graduate outcomes from several angles.
Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.
Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5$37,020 → Not availableNot availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median31Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt medianNot availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential0Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT
Size, aid and an earnings floor.
The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.
78Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment15Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers45Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count45Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$34,808Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$44,143$9,335 above the preliminary benchmark
Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.
01 · PRICE CONTEXT$14,381
Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.
02 · BORROWING$27,000
Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.
03 · EARNINGS$44,143
Observed median earnings four full years after completion.
04 · REPAYMENT$286/mo
Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.
ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS
2 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor
These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.
Baccalaureate degree · CIP 13.1001
Intervention Specialist Bachelor's Degree Program (K-12)
Reported price
$8,930
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.Baccalaureate degree · CIP 13.1015
Primary/Primary Special Education Bachelor's (Dual License) - PreK to Grade 5
Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.
$37,020Year 1
$44,143Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?
7.8% of gross monthly earnings
Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.
Gross monthly earnings$3,679
Estimated loan payment$286
31borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?
$44,143 vs. $50,499
$6,356 below the national median for the same field and credential.
Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?
Related occupations, wages and outlook.
Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.
BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Education Teachers, Postsecondary$62,400 median wageOH estimate · 2,120 jobs · 25-1081$50,130–$83,810 middle 50% of OH wages+2.5% projected U.S. growth · 5,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeSpecial Education Teachers, Secondary School$76,180 median wageOH estimate · 10,580 jobs · 25-2058$58,910–$85,170 middle 50% of OH wages-0.2% projected U.S. growth · 10,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSpecial Education Teachers, Middle School$74,590 median wageOH estimate · 7,540 jobs · 25-2057$60,080–$86,150 middle 50% of OH wages-0.4% projected U.S. growth · 6,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSpecial Education Teachers, Preschool$60,700 median wageOH estimate · 1,150 jobs · 25-2051$49,270–$81,950 middle 50% of OH wages+2.4% projected U.S. growth · 2,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSpecial Education Teachers, All Other$51,230 median wageOH estimate · 580 jobs · 25-2059$39,210–$74,700 middle 50% of OH wages+1.9% projected U.S. growth · 2,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSpecial Education Teachers, Elementary SchoolNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 25-2056Special Education Teachers, KindergartenNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 25-2055Interpreters and Translators$61,230 median wageOH estimate · 2,030 jobs · 27-3091$48,590–$79,040 middle 50% of OH wages+2.0% projected U.S. growth · 6,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeNO MATCHNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 99-9999Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 25-9043
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS
Where graduates work five years later
The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.
01
Educational Services
about 78.3%02
Health Care and Social Assistance
about 6.5%03
Retail Trade
about 3.3%04
Accommodation and Food Services
about 1.7%05
Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services
about 1.5%
Possible alternatives
Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.
Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.
Saint Clairsville, OH
Ohio University-Eastern Campus
$7,115 higher earnings · $50 less debt · $10,456 lower annual net price