← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Electrical and Power Transmission Installers associate's degree at Western Dakota Technical College

Rapid City, SD · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are close to similar programs.

$3,604 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
18.7% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
$66,020 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
+93% · Positive payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$67,204 observed annual earnings · 2 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5$41,303 → Not available
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
20Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

30Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
Not reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
15Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
15Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$36,067Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$67,204$31,137 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$12,670

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$12,548

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$67,204

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$133/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$12,670Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$18,845Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATENot availableInstitution context
COMPLETION RATE54.2%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$41,303Year 1
$67,204Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

2.4% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$5,600
Estimated loan payment$133
20borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$67,204 vs. $70,808

$3,604 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers$97,310 median wageSD estimate · 740 jobs · 49-9051$87,490–$103,280 middle 50% of SD wages+10.3% projected U.S. growth · 10,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentFirst-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers$80,810 median wageSD estimate · 1,750 jobs · 49-1011$67,290–$98,060 middle 50% of SD wages+4.1% projected U.S. growth · 48,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentElectrical and Electronics Repairers, Powerhouse, Substation, and Relay$101,830 median wageSD estimate · 40 jobs · 49-2095$98,180–$125,550 middle 50% of SD wages+9.7% projected U.S. growth · 1,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardSignal and Track Switch Repairers$92,460 median wageU.S. estimate · 8,720 jobs · 49-9097+1.8% projected U.S. growth · 800 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentFirst-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers$77,690 median wageSD estimate · 2,360 jobs · 47-1011$67,400–$87,790 middle 50% of SD wages+5.0% projected U.S. growth · 67,000 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentElectricians$61,390 median wageSD estimate · 2,980 jobs · 47-2111$49,660–$72,450 middle 50% of SD wages+9.2% projected U.S. growth · 72,700 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentSecurity and Fire Alarm Systems Installers$55,690 median wageSD estimate · 220 jobs · 49-2098$47,900–$60,150 middle 50% of SD wages+6.8% projected U.S. growth · 8,500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalent
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Mitchell, SD

Mitchell Technical College

$3,335 higher earnings · $548 less debt

Earnings
$70,539
Debt
$12,000
Annual net price
$13,460
View outcomes →
Hamlet, NC

Richmond Community College

$35,744 higher earnings · $1,548 less debt · $7,599 lower annual net price

Earnings
$102,948
Debt
$11,000
Annual net price
$5,071
View outcomes →
Bismarck, ND

Bismarck State College

$34,624 higher earnings · $4,716 less debt · $2,400 lower annual net price

Earnings
$101,828
Debt
$7,832
Annual net price
$10,270
View outcomes →
Indianapolis, IN

Ivy Tech Community College

$26,656 higher earnings · $2,286 less debt · $5,412 lower annual net price

Earnings
$93,860
Debt
$10,262
Annual net price
$7,258
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

Not reported observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →