Electrical and Power Transmission Installers undergraduate certificate or diploma at Virginia Highlands Community College
Abingdon, VA · Public
What this page covers
Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.
The short version
Reported earnings are below similar programs.
$7,970 below the national median for the same field and degree level.
Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS
Graduate outcomes from several angles.
Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.
Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5$36,340 → Not availableNot availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 medianNot availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt medianNot availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential10Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT
Size, aid and an earnings floor.
The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.
38Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollmentNot reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers32Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program countNot reportedFederal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmarkNot availableInformational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$45,108A like-for-like comparison is unavailable
Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.
01 · PRICE CONTEXT$5,375
Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.
02 · BORROWINGNot available
Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.
03 · EARNINGS$45,108
Observed median earnings four full years after completion.
04 · REPAYMENTNot available
Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.
ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS
2 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor
These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.
Electricity (Certificate) · CIP 46.0302
Electricity (Certificate)
Reported price
$6,478
Completion
100.0%
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.Certificate of Completion · CIP 46.0302
ELECTRICITY (CERT)
Reported price
$7,913
Completion
100.0%
Employed in Q2
87.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$11,040
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.
Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.
$36,340Year 1
$45,108Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?
Repayment pressure is not available
Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.
Gross monthly earnings$3,759
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?
$45,108 vs. $53,078
$7,970 below the national median for the same field and credential.
Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?
Related occupations, wages and outlook.
Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.
BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers$76,590 median wageVA estimate · 2,920 jobs · 49-9051$60,740–$100,460 middle 50% of VA wages+10.3% projected U.S. growth · 10,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentFirst-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers$80,770 median wageVA estimate · 16,910 jobs · 49-1011$64,730–$99,720 middle 50% of VA wages+4.1% projected U.S. growth · 48,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentElectrical and Electronics Repairers, Powerhouse, Substation, and Relay$99,390 median wageVA estimate · 910 jobs · 49-2095$72,840–$104,500 middle 50% of VA wages+9.7% projected U.S. growth · 1,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardSignal and Track Switch Repairers$95,620 median wageVA estimate · 170 jobs · 49-9097$95,400–$95,620 middle 50% of VA wages+1.8% projected U.S. growth · 800 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentFirst-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers$78,640 median wageVA estimate · 24,970 jobs · 47-1011$63,010–$96,150 middle 50% of VA wages+5.0% projected U.S. growth · 67,000 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentElectricians$62,900 median wageVA estimate · 23,630 jobs · 47-2111$49,410–$78,190 middle 50% of VA wages+9.2% projected U.S. growth · 72,700 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentSecurity and Fire Alarm Systems Installers$60,790 median wageVA estimate · 2,130 jobs · 49-2098$49,240–$72,700 middle 50% of VA wages+6.8% projected U.S. growth · 8,500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalent
Possible alternatives
Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.
Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.
Roanoke, VA
Virginia Western Community College
$4,494 higher earnings · $409 lower annual net price