← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions master's degree at Virginia Commonwealth University

Richmond, VA · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are notably above similar programs.

$23,391 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$144,810 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5$77,108 → Not available
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

35Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
15Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
21Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$60,817Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$82,962$22,145 above the preliminary benchmark

Additional borrowing reported for this category: Parent PLUS not reported · 15 Grad PLUS borrowers.

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$82,962 vs. $52,119

$30,843 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis50 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$23,433

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$82,962

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$23,433Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$38,954Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE92.6%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE63.2%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$77,108Year 1
$82,962Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$6,914
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$82,962 vs. $59,571

$23,391 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Mental Health CounselorsNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 21-1014Marriage and Family Therapists$79,900 median wageVA estimate · 930 jobs · 21-1013$52,000–$91,250 middle 50% of VA wages+13.5% projected U.S. growth · 6,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeHealthcare Social Workers$66,550 median wageVA estimate · 3,070 jobs · 21-1022$60,430–$78,170 middle 50% of VA wages+8.5% projected U.S. growth · 16,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeCounselors, All Other$76,450 median wageVA estimate · 470 jobs · 21-1019$55,310–$126,980 middle 50% of VA wages+5.9% projected U.S. growth · 4,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeSubstance Abuse and Behavioral Disorder CounselorsNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 21-1011Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary$106,880 median wageVA estimate · 5,040 jobs · 25-1071$69,580–$178,530 middle 50% of VA wages+17.9% projected U.S. growth · 24,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeGenetic Counselors$99,960 median wageVA estimate · 100 jobs · 29-9092$87,840–$121,170 middle 50% of VA wages+10.4% projected U.S. growth · 300 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeSocial Workers, All Other$92,930 median wageVA estimate · 860 jobs · 21-1029$70,800–$111,360 middle 50% of VA wages+2.3% projected U.S. growth · 5,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeClinical and Counseling Psychologists$86,520 median wageVA estimate · 2,140 jobs · 19-3033$61,130–$110,990 middle 50% of VA wages+11.7% projected U.S. growth · 4,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreePsychology Teachers, Postsecondary$77,950 median wageVA estimate · 1,050 jobs · 25-1066$62,070–$102,110 middle 50% of VA wages+4.0% projected U.S. growth · 3,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeSocial Work Teachers, Postsecondary$77,180 median wageVA estimate · 390 jobs · 25-1113$61,320–$94,580 middle 50% of VA wages+2.6% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeMental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers$64,240 median wageVA estimate · 3,670 jobs · 21-1023$53,620–$80,390 middle 50% of VA wages+10.3% projected U.S. growth · 12,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degree
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Health Care and Social Assistance

about 73.0%
02

Educational Services

about 8.6%
03

Public Administration

about 4.4%
04

Management of Companies and Enterprises

about 4.0%
05

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

about 3.4%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Virginia Beach, VA

Regent University

$3,510 lower annual net price

Earnings
$58,142
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$19,923
View outcomes →
Lynchburg, VA

University of Lynchburg

$1,198 lower annual net price

Earnings
$53,407
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$22,235
View outcomes →
Columbus, OH

Ohio State University-Main Campus

$8,904 higher earnings · $6,094 lower annual net price

Earnings
$91,866
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$17,339
View outcomes →
Bronxville, NY

Sarah Lawrence College

$17,752 higher earnings

Earnings
$100,714
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$41,437
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

Not reported observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →