← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Applied Mathematics bachelor's degree at Virginia Military Institute

Lexington, VA · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are below similar programs.

$16,792 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$29,350 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
+20% · Positive payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$74,740 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5Not available → Not available
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
14Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

15Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
Not reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
15Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$35,969Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$74,740$38,771 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$17,113

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$74,740

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$17,113Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$34,824Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE71.3%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE76.2%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

Not availableYear 1
$74,740Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$6,228
Estimated loan paymentNot available
14borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$74,740 vs. $91,532

$16,792 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Natural Sciences Managers$150,570 median wageVA estimate · 1,470 jobs · 11-9121$110,300–$185,220 middle 50% of VA wages+8.2% projected U.S. growth · 9,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeMathematicians$148,030 median wageVA estimate · 400 jobs · 15-2021$120,990–$175,610 middle 50% of VA wages+0.6% projected U.S. growth · 100 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeData Scientists$126,430 median wageVA estimate · 8,920 jobs · 15-2051$97,390–$165,610 middle 50% of VA wages+34.6% projected U.S. growth · 24,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeMathematical Science Occupations, All Other$59,990 median wageVA estimate · 180 jobs · 15-2099$53,620–$113,090 middle 50% of VA wages+7.1% projected U.S. growth · 200 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeMathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary$75,830 median wageVA estimate · 1,570 jobs · 25-1022$53,610–$103,470 middle 50% of VA wages+1.7% projected U.S. growth · 3,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeActuaries$131,900 median wageVA estimate · 440 jobs · 15-2011$100,580–$166,920 middle 50% of VA wages+9.2% projected U.S. growth · 1,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeStatisticians$114,920 median wageVA estimate · 720 jobs · 15-2041$87,140–$149,230 middle 50% of VA wages+11.0% projected U.S. growth · 1,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeEconomists$137,590 median wageVA estimate · 950 jobs · 19-3011$93,920–$179,730 middle 50% of VA wages+4.7% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeFinancial Risk Specialists$126,510 median wageVA estimate · 1,770 jobs · 13-2054$98,430–$162,270 middle 50% of VA wages+7.4% projected U.S. growth · 4,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeFinancial and Investment Analysts$105,490 median wageVA estimate · 10,410 jobs · 13-2051$80,990–$137,490 middle 50% of VA wages+7.2% projected U.S. growth · 24,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeBiological Scientists, All Other$96,030 median wageVA estimate · 1,650 jobs · 19-1029$78,540–$113,570 middle 50% of VA wages+4.7% projected U.S. growth · 4,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeFinancial Specialists, All Other$92,930 median wageVA estimate · 5,070 jobs · 13-2099$67,850–$124,590 middle 50% of VA wages+4.1% projected U.S. growth · 9,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degree
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services

about 15.6%
02

Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation

about 12.5%
03

Public Administration

about 10.9%
04

Educational Services

about 10.9%
05

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

about 9.4%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Blacksburg, VA

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

$43,250 higher earnings

Earnings
$117,990
Debt
$20,500
Annual net price
$24,953
View outcomes →
Chapel Hill, NC

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

$45,099 higher earnings · $5,458 lower annual net price

Earnings
$119,839
Debt
$15,300
Annual net price
$11,655
View outcomes →
Berkeley, CA

University of California, Berkeley

$43,674 higher earnings · $3,632 lower annual net price

Earnings
$118,414
Debt
$14,598
Annual net price
$13,481
View outcomes →
Santa Barbara, CA

University of California, Santa Barbara

$34,620 higher earnings · $1,004 lower annual net price

Earnings
$109,360
Debt
$17,000
Annual net price
$16,109
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

Not reported observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →