Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Alexandria Technical & Community College

Alexandria, MN · 19 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 19 · Federal debt reported for 12

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$139,824 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

24.7 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−60%Estimated return after 10 years
$54,494Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$139,824at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$234,7640
2
4
6
8
−$139,82410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 24.7 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$6,236
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$6,236
Sticker price
Average net price$13,691
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$18,698
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$6,236Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,040Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$7,276Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $10,024 housing and food allowance plus $8,540 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$54,494 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online37%
1,554 students
Some online courses23%
968 students
No online courses41%
1,727 students
Undergraduates age 25+18%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Associate degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

1,159 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Minnesota run 1% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall1% below U.S.
Goods1% above U.S.
Housing9% below U.S.
Utilities9% below U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$13,691Average net price / year
$18,698Cost of attendance
$12,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$127/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$54,494Median earnings · year 5 after completion
60.0%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
1,533Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Alexandria Technical & Community College

What does Alexandria Technical & Community College cost?

Alexandria Technical & Community College reports an average annual net price of $13,691 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Alexandria Technical & Community College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $54,494 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Alexandria Technical & Community College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $12,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Alexandria Technical & Community College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 19 field-and-degree records for Alexandria Technical & Community College; 19 report year-4 earnings and 12 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year65%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years69%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years69%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years75%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$12,000Median federal debt · 510 borrowers
Students who withdrew$5,500Median federal debt · 412 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

4,704Students enrolled at any point
4,704Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$8,358
$30–48k$10,633
$48–75k$11,673
$75–110k$15,190
$110k+$17,526
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$54,494
Year 6$46,061
Year 10$49,393
Full-time retention
76.8%
Part-time retention
59.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
61.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students51%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

50% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$6,671

Median Parent PLUS debt

29 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$8,000

Median federal student debt

66% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$43,230Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$50,733Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$59,804Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income52%
Middle income75%
Higher income87%
Undergraduate student composition
White79%
Black2%
Hispanic6%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 47
$67,407Year 1
$78,529Year 5
$85,856Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Certificate, less than 1 year · Broad federal field 43
$50,524Year 1
$72,620Year 5
$85,554Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 43
$60,696Year 1
$77,524Year 5
$85,502Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 15
$55,127Year 1
$70,698Year 5
$84,119Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate degree · Broad federal field 43
$47,730Year 1
$68,192Year 5
$76,644Year 10
Computer Programming.Associate degree · Broad federal field 11
$52,508Year 1
$58,292Year 5
$73,872Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$52,720Year 1
$65,240Year 5
$71,338Year 10
Boilermaking/Boilermaker.Certificate, 2–4 years · Broad federal field 48
$56,029Year 1
$64,485Year 5
$70,298Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

72thEarnings percentile
53thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$53,369Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$12,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
68%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$46,721Year 1
$59,377Year 4
$54,494Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians · Associate's Degree$80,6882Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians · Associate's Degree$73,9193Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$68,0504Criminal Justice and Corrections · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$67,9815Criminal Justice and Corrections · Associate's Degree$67,0666Precision Metal Working · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$65,9467Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences Business Services · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,4848Ground Transportation · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$57,538

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree · $67,066 reported+44%vs same-degree national median$12,000federal debt2Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree · $80,688 reported+38%vs same-degree national median$12,000federal debt3Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $65,946 reported+35%vs same-degree national median$9,500federal debt4Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $67,981 reported+18%vs same-degree national median$18,799federal debt5Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $41,565 reported+17%vs same-degree national median$25,250federal debt6Health and Medical Administrative ServicesAssociate's Degree · $42,995 reported+16%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MN

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Rosemount, MN

Dakota County Technical College

Annual net price
$13,548
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,667
Modeled 10-year ROI
-63%
Open college profile →
Inver Grove Heights, MN

Inver Hills Community College

Annual net price
$11,636
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,912
Modeled 10-year ROI
-61%
Open college profile →
Bemidji, MN

Bemidji State University

Annual net price
$15,261
Observed earnings · year 5
$55,807
Modeled 10-year ROI
-55%
Open college profile →
Bloomington, MN

Normandale Community College

Annual net price
$12,972
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,049
Modeled 10-year ROI
-70%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 19 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree$80,688$12,00018
Electromechanical Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree$73,919$12,0000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$68,050$20,803Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$67,981$18,79996
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree$67,066$12,000Not reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$65,946$9,50043
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences Business ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,484Not availableNot reported
Ground TransportationUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$57,538Not availableNot reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$55,989$13,67148
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$53,369$12,00037
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$50,682Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$47,421Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$46,559$12,375Not reported
Design and Applied ArtsAssociate's Degree$44,165$12,0000
CarpentersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$44,053Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesAssociate's Degree$42,995Not availableNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$42,774$8,250Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$41,565$25,2506
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsAssociate's Degree$38,696Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.