Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

San Luis Obispo, CA · 67 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 65 · Federal debt reported for 50

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$197,470 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

5.6 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+80%Estimated return after 10 years
$89,413Observed earnings · year 5
$66,033Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $49,368 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$197,470at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$246,6600
2
4
6
8
+$197,47010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 5.6 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$13,596
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$34,665
Sticker price
Average net price$16,665
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$32,265
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$13,596$34,665 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,119Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$18,792$3,069 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$36,576Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $19,155 housing and food allowance plus $3,942 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$89,413 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online1.1%
267 students
Some online courses74%
17,572 students
No online courses25%
5,990 students
Undergraduates age 25+2.3%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Suburban
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in California run 11% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% above U.S.
Goods6% above U.S.
Housing54% above U.S.
Utilities59% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$16,665Average net price / year
$32,265Cost of attendance
$18,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$196/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$89,413Median earnings · year 5 after completion
86.4%Completion rate
31.3%Admission rate
21,996Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

What does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo cost?

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo reports an average annual net price of $16,665 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $89,413 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $18,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo worth the same?

No. The current release contains 67 field-and-degree records for California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo; 65 report year-4 earnings and 50 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year83%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years87%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years89%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years90%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$18,500Median federal debt · 3,632 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,166Median federal debt · 1,520 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

24,558Students enrolled at any point
23,408Undergraduate students
1,150Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$7,529
$30–48k$7,253
$48–75k$9,896
$75–110k$15,786
$110k+$27,772
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$89,413
Year 6$72,358
Year 10$90,768
Full-time retention
95.5%
Part-time retention
60.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
87.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students80%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

83% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$31,868

Median Parent PLUS debt

2,165 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,095

Median federal student debt

85% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$89,347Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$88,325Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$93,856Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income82%
Middle income85%
Higher income90%
Undergraduate student composition
White48%
Black1%
Hispanic25%
Asian14%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

97thEarnings percentile
89thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$83,187Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$18,728Median federal debt across categories that report debt
97%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$62,831Year 1
$90,662Year 4
$89,413Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Computer Science · Master's Degree$235,2412Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$158,9773Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$154,7844Computer Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$148,9505Accounting and Related Services · Master's Degree$134,1056Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering · Master's Degree$132,7207Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods · Master's Degree$131,4488Mechanical Engineering · Master's Degree$127,908

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree · $79,432 reported+84%vs same-degree national median$17,961federal debt2PhilosophyBachelor's Degree · $98,592 reported+81%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree · $104,117 reported+63%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree · $110,902 reported+62%vs same-degree national median$17,000federal debt5Computer ScienceMaster's Degree · $235,241 reported+62%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Agriculture, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $84,412 reported+57%vs same-degree national median$21,903federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in CA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

La Jolla, CA

University of California, San Diego

Annual net price
$12,470
Observed earnings · year 5
$84,593
Modeled 10-year ROI
+72%
Open college profile →
Berkeley, CA

University of California, Berkeley

Annual net price
$13,481
Observed earnings · year 5
$95,520
Modeled 10-year ROI
+116%
Open college profile →
San Jose, CA

San Jose State University

Annual net price
$13,760
Observed earnings · year 5
$80,832
Modeled 10-year ROI
+52%
Open college profile →
Los Angeles, CA

University of California, Los Angeles

Annual net price
$12,548
Observed earnings · year 5
$77,498
Modeled 10-year ROI
+41%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 67 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree$235,241Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$158,977Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$154,784$19,298Not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$148,950$20,556Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$134,105Not availableNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringMaster's Degree$132,720Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$131,448Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$127,908Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$125,240$24,449Not reported
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$118,331$18,955Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$113,572Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$112,797$19,691Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$110,902$17,000Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$109,232$20,500Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$108,148Not availableNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree$107,498$22,500Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$106,750$20,500Not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$106,004Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$104,117Not availableNot reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree$102,702$20,500Not reported
StatisticsBachelor's Degree$101,353$17,939Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$101,072$20,424Not reported
Materials EngineeringBachelor's Degree$100,599$17,000Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$98,927$18,500Not reported
PhilosophyBachelor's Degree$98,592Not availableNot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree$96,805$23,000Not reported
Architectural EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,767$25,116Not reported
Agricultural EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,603$16,420Not reported
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningMaster's Degree$89,909Not availableNot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$89,195$18,250Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree$88,396$14,500Not reported
Agriculture, GeneralBachelor's Degree$84,412$21,903Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$83,187$16,718Not reported
Plant SciencesBachelor's Degree$82,487$16,666Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$81,843$17,665Not reported
Agricultural Public ServicesBachelor's Degree$80,965Not availableNot reported
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningBachelor's Degree$80,820$18,167Not reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree$79,570Not availableNot reported
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree$79,432$17,961Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree$78,097$17,500Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.