Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Cleveland State University

Cleveland, OH · 68 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 68 · Federal debt reported for 43

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$120,246 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

20.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−50%Estimated return after 10 years
$56,881Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$120,246at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$239,0560
2
4
6
8
−$120,24610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 20.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$12,988
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$18,510
Sticker price
Average net price$14,764
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$27,159
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$12,988$18,510 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,000Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$15,104$3,700 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$32,792Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $15,090 housing and food allowance plus $3,700 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$56,881 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online13%
2,234 students
Some online courses49%
8,194 students
No online courses38%
6,314 students
Undergraduates age 25+19%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

278 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Ohio run 7% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall7% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing27% below U.S.
Utilities4% below U.S.
Other services1% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$14,764Average net price / year
$27,159Cost of attendance
$21,797Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$231/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$56,881Median earnings · year 5 after completion
50.6%Completion rate
91.3%Admission rate
23ACT midpoint
8,969Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Cleveland State University

What does Cleveland State University cost?

Cleveland State University reports an average annual net price of $14,764 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Cleveland State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $56,881 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Cleveland State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,797. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Cleveland State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 68 field-and-degree records for Cleveland State University; 68 report year-4 earnings and 43 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year41%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years47%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years54%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,797Median federal debt · 3,987 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,305Median federal debt · 3,303 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

16,864Students enrolled at any point
11,031Undergraduate students
5,833Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,958
$30–48k$13,561
$48–75k$14,727
$75–110k$15,690
$110k+$20,378
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$56,881
Year 6$44,625
Year 10$52,131
Full-time retention
70.3%
Part-time retention
38.1%
Completion within 200% of normal time
51.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students43%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

52% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$14,730

Median Parent PLUS debt

893 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$16,417

Median federal student debt

46% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$47,878Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$56,074Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$57,525Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income39%
Middle income53%
Higher income65%
Undergraduate student composition
White56%
Black18%
Hispanic9%
Asian4%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$70,870Year 1
$101,595Year 5
$154,543Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$74,729Year 1
$104,232Year 5
$139,184Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$73,904Year 1
$104,755Year 5
$132,270Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$73,753Year 1
$97,912Year 5
$124,524Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 40
$70,625Year 1
$87,772Year 5
$121,052Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$58,897Year 1
$88,437Year 5
$119,554Year 10
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 13
$81,671Year 1
$97,859Year 5
$117,024Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 40
$67,570Year 1
$116,180Year 5
$112,807Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

75thEarnings percentile
39thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$60,380Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$26,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
7%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$43,332Year 1
$61,322Year 4
$56,881Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions · Master's Degree$116,7802Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$115,2853Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$108,8404Mechanical Engineering · Master's Degree$106,5605Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$101,6356Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$100,3857Biomedical/Medical Engineering · Master's Degree$94,5568Law · First Professional Degree$91,229

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree · $116,780 reported+28%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree · $83,938 reported+19%vs same-degree national median$24,357federal debt3SociologyBachelor's Degree · $57,211 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$25,575federal debt4Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree · $67,214 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$20,738federal debt5Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree · $88,732 reported+5%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Psychology, GeneralMaster's Degree · $64,167 reported-1%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in OH

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Akron, OH

University of Akron Main Campus

Annual net price
$13,946
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,971
Modeled 10-year ROI
-49%
Open college profile →
Dayton, OH

Wright State University-Main Campus

Annual net price
$15,415
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,485
Modeled 10-year ROI
-48%
Open college profile →
Celina, OH

Wright State University-Lake Campus

Annual net price
$11,081
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,485
Modeled 10-year ROI
-44%
Open college profile →
Columbus, OH

Adult and Community Education-Hudson

Annual net price
$14,915
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,635
Modeled 10-year ROI
-68%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 68 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree$116,780Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$115,285Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$108,840Not available0
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$106,560Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$101,635Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$100,385$23,365Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$94,556Not availableNot reported
LawFirst Professional Degree$91,229Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$89,792Not availableNot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$88,732Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,595$25,5470
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$87,713$27,000Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$86,337$31,125Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,184$25,000Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$83,938$24,357Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$82,201$27,500Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$81,185$28,826Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsFirst Professional Degree$74,579Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$73,669$24,365Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$73,575$29,750Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$73,476$25,2503
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$72,661$25,731Not reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$72,439Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$70,853Not availableNot reported
International BusinessBachelor's Degree$68,241Not available0
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree$67,614$24,050Not reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree$67,214$20,738Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$65,203$27,0001
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree$64,255Not available12
Psychology, GeneralMaster's Degree$64,167Not availableNot reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$63,541$24,744Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$63,455Not availableNot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$62,852$32,5000
MarketingBachelor's Degree$61,829$24,2190
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$58,930$29,0012
Social WorkMaster's Degree$58,916Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$58,518Not availableNot reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$58,346$26,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$58,143Not available0
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$57,641Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Cleveland State University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.