Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Colgate University

Hamilton, NY · 13 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 10 · Federal debt reported for 10

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$38,216 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

8.9 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+13%Estimated return after 10 years
$78,336Observed earnings · year 5
$38,340Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $9,554 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$38,216at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$295,1440
2
4
6
8
+$38,21610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 8.9 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$70,306
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$70,306
Sticker price
Average net price$28,786
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$87,070
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$70,306Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,570Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$17,610$1,736 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$91,222Sum of available published components, before aid

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$78,336 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Attendance format is not fully reported.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully onlineNot reported
Not reported students
Some online coursesNot reported
Not reported students
No online courses100%
3,224 students
Undergraduates age 25+0.2%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
New England Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Rural
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

7 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in New York run 8% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall8% above U.S.
Goods7% above U.S.
Housing22% above U.S.
Utilities34% above U.S.
Other services4% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$28,786Average net price / year
$87,070Cost of attendance
$15,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$159/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$78,336Median earnings · year 5 after completion
91.2%Completion rate
13.9%Admission rate
1,508Average SAT score
33ACT midpoint
3,180Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Colgate University

What does Colgate University cost?

Colgate University reports an average annual net price of $28,786 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Colgate University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $78,336 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Colgate University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $15,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Colgate University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 13 field-and-degree records for Colgate University; 10 report year-4 earnings and 10 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years91%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years91%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$15,000Median federal debt · 338 borrowers
Students who withdrew$5,750Median federal debt · 67 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

3,282Students enrolled at any point
3,261Undergraduate students
21Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$6,086
$30–48k$2,678
$48–75k$13,617
$75–110k$21,831
$110k+$48,234
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$78,336
Year 6$64,949
Year 10$85,139
Full-time retention
93.4%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
91.6%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students94%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

89% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$64,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

89 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$9,688

Median federal student debt

Three-year repayment not reported
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$66,613Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$79,826Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$102,498Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower incomeNot reported
Middle income79%
Higher incomeNot reported
Undergraduate student composition
White64%
Black4%
Hispanic10%
Asian5%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

95thEarnings percentile
93thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$76,492Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$16,125Median federal debt across categories that report debt
100%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$46,979Year 1
$77,917Year 4
$78,336Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$161,9802Economics · Bachelor's Degree$128,8873Political Science and Government · Bachelor's Degree$83,1884Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics · Bachelor's Degree$81,8025International Relations and National Security Studies · Bachelor's Degree$77,1996History · Bachelor's Degree$75,7847Natural Resources Conservation and Research · Bachelor's Degree$70,7608English Language and Literature, General · Bachelor's Degree$60,702

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1EconomicsBachelor's Degree · $128,887 reported+56%vs same-degree national median$17,500federal debt2Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree · $161,980 reported+51%vs same-degree national median$16,000federal debt3HistoryBachelor's Degree · $75,784 reported+50%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree · $81,802 reported+49%vs same-degree national median$16,900federal debt5Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree · $83,188 reported+31%vs same-degree national median$16,250federal debt6Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree · $70,760 reported+29%vs same-degree national median$17,000federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NY

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Clinton, NY

Hamilton College

Annual net price
$28,985
Observed earnings · year 5
$77,354
Modeled 10-year ROI
+9%
Open college profile →
New York, NY

Barnard College

Annual net price
$28,800
Observed earnings · year 5
$79,860
Modeled 10-year ROI
+18%
Open college profile →
Staten Island, NY

Wagner College

Annual net price
$28,241
Observed earnings · year 5
$80,303
Modeled 10-year ROI
+21%
Open college profile →
New York, NY

Pace University

Annual net price
$30,892
Observed earnings · year 5
$79,270
Modeled 10-year ROI
+13%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 13 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$161,980$16,000Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$128,887$17,500Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$83,188$16,250Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree$81,802$16,900Not reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesBachelor's Degree$77,199Not availableNot reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$75,784Not availableNot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree$70,760$17,000Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$60,702$15,875Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$57,996$14,730Not reported
Education, GeneralBachelor's Degree$57,530Not availableNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's DegreeNot available$15,350Not reported
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesBachelor's DegreeNot available$17,250Not reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's DegreeNot available$16,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.