Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Davidson College

Davidson, NC · 6 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 5 · Federal debt reported for 4

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$51,506 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

12.6 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−21%Estimated return after 10 years
$64,801Observed earnings · year 5
$4,503Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $12,877 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$51,506at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$249,5160
2
4
6
8
−$51,50610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 12.6 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$64,410
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$64,410
Sticker price
Average net price$17,379
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$79,475
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$64,410Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$825Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$17,100$1,925 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$84,260Sum of available published components, before aid

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$64,801 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Attendance format is not fully reported.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully onlineNot reported
Not reported students
Some online coursesNot reported
Not reported students
No online courses100%
2,080 students
Undergraduates age 25+0.1%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Suburban
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in North Carolina run 6% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall6% below U.S.
Goods3% below U.S.
Housing19% below U.S.
Utilities11% below U.S.
Other services2% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$17,379Average net price / year
$79,475Cost of attendance
$18,688Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$198/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$64,801Median earnings · year 5 after completion
91.1%Completion rate
13.4%Admission rate
1,469Average SAT score
1,867Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Davidson College

What does Davidson College cost?

Davidson College reports an average annual net price of $17,379 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Davidson College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $64,801 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Davidson College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $18,688. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Davidson College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 6 field-and-degree records for Davidson College; 5 report year-4 earnings and 4 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year83%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years84%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years89%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years93%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$18,688Median federal debt · 252 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,500Median federal debt · 30 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

2,073Students enrolled at any point
2,073Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$9,497
$30–48k$5,354
$48–75k$6,759
$75–110k$18,616
$110k+$42,346
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$64,801
Year 6$62,866
Year 10$81,400
Full-time retention
94.6%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
92.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students91%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

93% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$50,985

Median Parent PLUS debt

96 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,600

Median federal student debt

Three-year repayment not reported
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$75,787Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$76,843Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$89,720Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower incomeNot reported
Middle incomeNot reported
Higher income86%
Undergraduate student composition
White60%
Black7%
Hispanic11%
Asian5%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

85thEarnings percentile
93thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$64,714Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$19,250Median federal debt across categories that report debt
100%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$41,411Year 1
$72,718Year 4
$64,801Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Political Science and Government · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$101,4382Economics · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$101,3103Psychology, General · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$64,7144Sociology · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,9595English Language and Literature, General · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,000

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1English Language and Literature, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $60,000 reported+105%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Psychology, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $64,714 reported+43%vs same-degree national median$18,500federal debt3Political Science and GovernmentUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $101,438 reported+40%vs same-degree national median$19,500federal debt4SociologyUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $60,959 reported+21%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NC

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Concord, NC

Cabarrus College of Health Sciences

Annual net price
$17,618
Observed earnings · year 5
$60,578
Modeled 10-year ROI
-38%
Open college profile →
Wake Forest, NC

Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

Annual net price
$13,090
Observed earnings · year 5
$65,166
Modeled 10-year ROI
-13%
Open college profile →
Misenheimer, NC

Pfeiffer University

Annual net price
$19,076
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,277
Modeled 10-year ROI
-52%
Open college profile →
Boiling Springs, NC

Gardner-Webb University

Annual net price
$17,674
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,632
Modeled 10-year ROI
-70%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 6 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Political Science and GovernmentUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$101,438$19,50053
EconomicsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$101,310$22,62551
Psychology, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$64,714$18,500Not reported
SociologyUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,959Not available6
English Language and Literature, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$60,000Not available26
Biology, GeneralUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$19,00077

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.