Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Florida Institute of Technology

Melbourne, FL · 39 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 37 · Federal debt reported for 18

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$30,194 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

9.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+9%Estimated return after 10 years
$80,275Observed earnings · year 5
$43,188Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $7,549 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$30,194at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$322,5560
2
4
6
8
+$30,19410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 9.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$45,900
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$45,900
Sticker price
Average net price$35,639
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$62,440
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$45,900Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$15,240$3,600 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$65,940Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $15,240 housing and food allowance plus $3,600 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$80,275 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online41%
4,350 students
Some online courses2.6%
279 students
No online courses56%
5,947 students
Undergraduates age 25+5.8%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

67 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Florida run 3% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% above U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing22% above U.S.
Utilities10% below U.S.
Other services1% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$35,639Average net price / year
$62,440Cost of attendance
$27,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$286/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$80,275Median earnings · year 5 after completion
63.5%Completion rate
57.7%Admission rate
1,225Average SAT score
27ACT midpoint
3,404Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Florida Institute of Technology

What does Florida Institute of Technology cost?

Florida Institute of Technology reports an average annual net price of $35,639 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Florida Institute of Technology graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $80,275 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Florida Institute of Technology graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $27,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Florida Institute of Technology worth the same?

No. The current release contains 39 field-and-degree records for Florida Institute of Technology; 37 report year-4 earnings and 18 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year31%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years37%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years42%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$27,000Median federal debt · 1,027 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,148Median federal debt · 1,689 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

12,376Students enrolled at any point
4,708Undergraduate students
7,668Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$29,108
$30–48k$29,213
$48–75k$31,311
$75–110k$36,466
$110k+$40,649
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$80,275
Year 6$41,941
Year 10$43,137
Full-time retention
80.0%
Part-time retention
50.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
67.7%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students55%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

60% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$34,965

Median Parent PLUS debt

530 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$13,782

Median federal student debt

34% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$33,700Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$57,874Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$82,922Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income24%
Middle income47%
Higher income73%
Undergraduate student composition
White56%
Black5%
Hispanic17%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

95thEarnings percentile
57thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$85,906Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$27,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
57%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$69,606Year 1
$90,403Year 4
$80,275Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Systems Engineering · Master's Degree$149,2912Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management · Master's Degree$144,2183Information Science/Studies · Master's Degree$139,1744Engineering-Related Fields · Master's Degree$131,9195Military Applied Sciences · Master's Degree$130,1976Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering · Master's Degree$130,0167Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods · Master's Degree$125,1978Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology · Doctoral Degree$114,742

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Health and Medical Administrative ServicesAssociate's Degree · $50,488 reported+36%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Accounting and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree · $61,624 reported+29%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree · $139,174 reported+23%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $61,516 reported+21%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree · $66,923 reported+20%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree · $77,258 reported+19%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in FL

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Coral Gables, FL

University of Miami

Annual net price
$37,244
Observed earnings · year 5
$73,338
Modeled 10-year ROI
-14%
Open college profile →
Orlando, FL

AdventHealth University

Annual net price
$30,135
Observed earnings · year 5
$75,791
Modeled 10-year ROI
+2%
Open college profile →
Jacksonville, FL

Jacksonville University

Annual net price
$25,180
Observed earnings · year 5
$78,212
Modeled 10-year ROI
+18%
Open college profile →
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Nova Southeastern University

Annual net price
$30,371
Observed earnings · year 5
$71,403
Modeled 10-year ROI
-12%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 39 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree$149,291Not availableNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementMaster's Degree$144,218Not availableNot reported
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree$139,174Not availableNot reported
Engineering-Related FieldsMaster's Degree$131,919Not availableNot reported
Military Applied SciencesMaster's Degree$130,197Not availableNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringMaster's Degree$130,016Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$125,197Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyDoctoral Degree$114,742Not available28
Management Information Systems and ServicesMaster's Degree$107,902Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$107,776Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$106,431$25,125Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,312$27,000Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$98,505Not availableNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree$97,015$26,982Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,753$27,000Not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$91,606$27,000Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,120$27,000Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$86,536$23,000Not reported
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$85,906$54,375Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$85,593Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$84,170Not availableNot reported
Air TransportationBachelor's Degree$83,243$27,000Not reported
Ocean EngineeringBachelor's Degree$80,836$27,000Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$77,258Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$75,661Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$72,717$38,09714
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$67,417$42,124Not reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree$66,923Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$62,019$31,000Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$61,624Not availableNot reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$61,516Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$56,184Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyBachelor's Degree$55,282$32,000363
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree$51,753$53,313Not reported
Information Science/StudiesAssociate's Degree$51,539$26,875Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesAssociate's Degree$50,488Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyAssociate's Degree$41,767Not availableNot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's DegreeNot available$24,250Not reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's DegreeNot available$38,907Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.