Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus

Atlanta, GA · 39 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 38 · Federal debt reported for 20

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Strong payoff

+$370,766 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

3.8 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+162%Estimated return after 10 years
$104,923Observed earnings · year 5
$104,808Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $92,692 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$370,766at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$228,4640
2
4
6
8
+$370,76610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 3.8 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$12,058
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$34,484
Sticker price
Average net price$12,116
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$28,167
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$12,058$34,484 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$800Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$13,608$3,200 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$29,666Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $13,608 housing and food allowance plus $3,200 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$104,923 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online50%
28,687 students
Some online courses18%
10,416 students
No online courses33%
18,849 students
Undergraduates age 25+1.7%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

1,081 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Georgia run 4% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall4% below U.S.
Goods1% below U.S.
Housing11% below U.S.
Utilities7% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$12,116Average net price / year
$28,167Cost of attendance
$21,672Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$230/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$104,923Median earnings · year 5 after completion
94.0%Completion rate
14.1%Admission rate
1,480Average SAT score
32ACT midpoint
18,785Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus

What does Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus cost?

Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus reports an average annual net price of $12,116 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $104,923 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,672. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus worth the same?

No. The current release contains 39 field-and-degree records for Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus; 38 report year-4 earnings and 20 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years85%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years88%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years90%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,672Median federal debt · 1,361 borrowers
Students who withdrew$19,000Median federal debt · 2,182 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

64,779Students enrolled at any point
22,075Undergraduate students
42,704Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$7,666
$30–48k$7,209
$48–75k$10,818
$75–110k$15,088
$110k+$17,396
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$104,923
Year 6$89,432
Year 10$102,772
Full-time retention
98.1%
Part-time retention
100.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
93.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students86%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

88% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$35,276

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,145 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$20,048

Median federal student debt

83% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$102,952Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$102,612Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$102,695Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income77%
Middle income85%
Higher income88%
Undergraduate student composition
White35%
Black8%
Hispanic9%
Asian35%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Computer Programming.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 11
$189,380Year 1
$253,237Year 5
$245,689Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$155,269Year 1
$203,226Year 5
$237,016Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 52
Not availableYear 1
Not availableYear 5
$218,283Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$101,880Year 1
$147,002Year 5
$216,353Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$137,484Year 1
$174,776Year 5
$202,533Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$109,509Year 1
$165,627Year 5
$186,799Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$124,164Year 1
$156,420Year 5
$179,161Year 10
Communication and Media Studies.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 09
$83,086Year 1
$111,686Year 5
$174,257Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

99thEarnings percentile
95thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$105,130Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,502Median federal debt across categories that report debt
92%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$87,556Year 1
$119,180Year 4
$104,923Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Computer and Information Sciences, General · Master's Degree$195,6222Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods · Master's Degree$180,5303Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$178,4844Computer Science · Master's Degree$169,6895Systems Engineering · Master's Degree$168,4076Industrial Engineering · Master's Degree$164,4277Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$150,6288Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$143,627

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationBachelor's Degree · $99,915 reported+98%vs same-degree national median$28,350federal debt2Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree · $95,697 reported+86%vs same-degree national median$26,354federal debt3MathematicsBachelor's Degree · $122,099 reported+76%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $178,484 reported+72%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $150,628 reported+63%vs same-degree national median$21,125federal debt6Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree · $195,622 reported+58%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in GA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Athens, GA

University of Georgia

Annual net price
$13,936
Observed earnings · year 5
$66,487
Modeled 10-year ROI
-9%
Open college profile →
Kennesaw, GA

Kennesaw State University

Annual net price
$15,048
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,098
Modeled 10-year ROI
-29%
Open college profile →
Augusta, GA

Augusta University

Annual net price
$13,787
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,868
Modeled 10-year ROI
-45%
Open college profile →
Atlanta, GA

Georgia State University-Perimeter College

Annual net price
$11,453
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,218
Modeled 10-year ROI
-50%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 39 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree$195,622Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$180,530Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$178,484Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree$169,689Not availableNot reported
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree$168,407Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree$164,427Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$150,628$21,1250
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$143,627Not availableNot reported
ChemistryDoctoral Degree$137,217Not available15
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringDoctoral Degree$134,630Not available32
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$128,497$25,399Not reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$128,003$21,750Not reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringMaster's Degree$126,979Not availableNot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$123,746Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$123,205Not availableNot reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$122,099Not availableNot reported
Nuclear EngineeringBachelor's Degree$114,772$24,879Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$111,655$27,000Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$106,155$23,000Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$104,104$27,000Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$102,755$22,750Not reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree$102,415$22,750Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,955$27,000Not reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationBachelor's Degree$99,915$28,350Not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$99,226Not availableNot reported
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree$95,697$26,354Not reported
Materials EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,260$17,123Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree$88,100Not availableNot reported
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningMaster's Degree$85,806Not availableNot reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,133$22,957Not reported
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyMaster's Degree$85,081Not availableNot reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree$83,012Not availableNot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree$82,431$21,831Not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree$81,818$27,250Not reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesBachelor's Degree$79,264Not available8
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree$72,940$22,250Not reported
ArchitectureBachelor's Degree$71,292$28,192Not reported
Science, Technology and SocietyBachelor's Degree$65,454$24,125Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's DegreeNot available$25,375Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.