Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Gustavus Adolphus College

Saint Peter, MN · 16 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 15 · Federal debt reported for 14

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$102,490 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

16.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−38%Estimated return after 10 years
$61,911Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$102,490at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$271,6000
2
4
6
8
−$102,49010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 16.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$56,076
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$56,076
Sticker price
Average net price$22,900
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$67,613
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$56,076Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$900Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$11,804$1,180 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$69,960Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $11,804 housing and food allowance plus $1,180 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$61,911 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students study without distance-education courses.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online0.0%
0 students
Some online courses2.8%
55 students
No online courses97%
1,915 students
Undergraduates age 25+0.8%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

5 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Minnesota run 1% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall1% below U.S.
Goods1% above U.S.
Housing9% below U.S.
Utilities9% below U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$22,900Average net price / year
$67,613Cost of attendance
$26,774Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$284/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$61,911Median earnings · year 5 after completion
76.6%Completion rate
61.0%Admission rate
1,290Average SAT score
29ACT midpoint
1,878Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Gustavus Adolphus College

What does Gustavus Adolphus College cost?

Gustavus Adolphus College reports an average annual net price of $22,900 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Gustavus Adolphus College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $61,911 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Gustavus Adolphus College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $26,774. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Gustavus Adolphus College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 16 field-and-degree records for Gustavus Adolphus College; 15 report year-4 earnings and 14 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years83%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years90%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$26,774Median federal debt · 603 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 297 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

1,933Students enrolled at any point
1,932Undergraduate students
1Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$12,015
$30–48k$10,783
$48–75k$13,875
$75–110k$19,015
$110k+$29,674
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$61,911
Year 6$51,546
Year 10$65,607
Full-time retention
88.0%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
76.4%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students73%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

70% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$26,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

149 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$23,153

Median federal student debt

80% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$53,007Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$65,754Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$71,248Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income78%
Middle income84%
Higher income85%
Undergraduate student composition
White79%
Black2%
Hispanic6%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$55,150Year 1
$86,622Year 5
$113,981Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 40
$40,342Year 1
$70,298Year 5
$99,994Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$55,935Year 1
$82,929Year 5
$97,992Year 10
Anthropology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 45
$45,334Year 1
$68,521Year 5
$97,664Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$38,875Year 1
$58,264Year 5
$97,091Year 10
Communication and Media Studies.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 09
$51,013Year 1
$66,850Year 5
$91,987Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$71,778Year 1
$86,717Year 5
$86,717Year 10
African Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 16
$40,342Year 1
$65,986Year 5
$79,787Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

82thEarnings percentile
77thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$62,016Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$26,930Median federal debt across categories that report debt
53%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$41,780Year 1
$61,015Year 4
$61,911Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$95,2002Economics · Bachelor's Degree$91,2523Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$86,1144Business/Commerce, General · Bachelor's Degree$79,2605Physics · Bachelor's Degree$73,5406Communication and Media Studies · Bachelor's Degree$69,4237Political Science and Government · Bachelor's Degree$62,2188Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics · Bachelor's Degree$62,016

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree · $95,200 reported+25%vs same-degree national median$26,959federal debt2Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree · $69,423 reported+23%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt3Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $79,260 reported+16%vs same-degree national median$25,625federal debt4Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree · $62,016 reported+13%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5EconomicsBachelor's Degree · $91,252 reported+10%vs same-degree national median$24,474federal debt6Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree · $57,870 reported+6%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MN

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Minneapolis, MN

Augsburg University

Annual net price
$23,873
Observed earnings · year 5
$60,664
Modeled 10-year ROI
-43%
Open college profile →
Northfield, MN

St Olaf College

Annual net price
$23,874
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,029
Modeled 10-year ROI
-49%
Open college profile →
Saint Joseph, MN

College of Saint Benedict

Annual net price
$26,640
Observed earnings · year 5
$60,000
Modeled 10-year ROI
-48%
Open college profile →
Saint Paul, MN

Concordia University-Saint Paul

Annual net price
$18,462
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,646
Modeled 10-year ROI
-27%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 16 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$95,200$26,959Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$91,252$24,474Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$86,114$27,000Not reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$79,260$25,625Not reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree$73,540$26,000Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$69,423$27,000Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$62,218$27,000Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree$62,016Not availableNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$57,870$27,000Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$54,202$25,640Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$53,277$25,914Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree$49,758$23,250Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$48,822Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$47,629$27,000Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$46,987$27,000Not reported
ChemistryBachelor's DegreeNot available$26,901Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.