Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Husson University

Bangor, ME · 23 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 21 · Federal debt reported for 14

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$170,340 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

28.2 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−65%Estimated return after 10 years
$54,368Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$170,340at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$264,0200
2
4
6
8
−$170,34010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 28.2 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$23,304
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$23,304
Sticker price
Average net price$21,005
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$35,852
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$23,304Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,150Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$12,682$1,800 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$38,936Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $11,000 housing and food allowance plus $2,450 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$54,368 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online39%
1,557 students
Some online courses46%
1,808 students
No online courses15%
598 students
Undergraduates age 25+12%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
New England Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

219 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Maine run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods3% below U.S.
Housing21% below U.S.
Utilities35% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$21,005Average net price / year
$35,852Cost of attendance
$27,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$286/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$54,368Median earnings · year 5 after completion
59.4%Completion rate
81.0%Admission rate
1,180Average SAT score
2,618Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Husson University

What does Husson University cost?

Husson University reports an average annual net price of $21,005 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Husson University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $54,368 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Husson University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $27,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Husson University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 23 field-and-degree records for Husson University; 21 report year-4 earnings and 14 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year56%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years62%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years64%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years65%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$27,000Median federal debt · 982 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,500Median federal debt · 758 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

4,524Students enrolled at any point
3,731Undergraduate students
793Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$16,606
$30–48k$16,898
$48–75k$17,496
$75–110k$21,273
$110k+$25,262
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$54,368
Year 6$41,554
Year 10$45,025
Full-time retention
75.3%
Part-time retention
24.1%
Completion within 200% of normal time
60.5%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students55%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

56% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$17,600

Median Parent PLUS debt

353 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$22,000

Median federal student debt

57% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$41,591Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$45,347Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$50,695Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income52%
Middle income63%
Higher income75%
Undergraduate student composition
White80%
Black6%
Hispanic1%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

71thEarnings percentile
51thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$56,244Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$27,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
24%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$47,273Year 1
$62,950Year 4
$54,368Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration · Doctoral Degree$134,2242Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$131,4093Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$83,3934Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$78,1675Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions · Doctoral Degree$74,8206Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions · Bachelor's Degree$71,5297Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions · Master's Degree$68,2928Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$65,815

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsBachelor's Degree · $71,529 reported+28%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt2Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyBachelor's Degree · $55,648 reported+10%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree · $131,409 reported+9%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Audiovisual Communications Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree · $48,777 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt5Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree · $56,244 reported+3%vs same-degree national median$28,769federal debt6Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree · $55,315 reported-0%vs same-degree national median$27,178federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in ME

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Waterville, ME

Thomas College

Annual net price
$18,885
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,158
Modeled 10-year ROI
-68%
Open college profile →
New Gloucester, ME

Unity Environmental University

Annual net price
$19,104
Observed earnings · year 5
$43,695
Modeled 10-year ROI
-105%
Open college profile →
Waterville, ME

Colby College

Annual net price
$17,180
Observed earnings · year 5
$70,828
Modeled 10-year ROI
+4%
Open college profile →
Lewiston, ME

Maine College of Health Professions

Annual net price
$26,312
Observed earnings · year 5
$69,660
Modeled 10-year ROI
-14%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 23 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationDoctoral Degree$134,224Not available15
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$131,409Not available3
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$83,393Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$78,167$29,000Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$74,820Not available36
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$71,529$27,000Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree$68,292Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$65,815$27,375Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$62,059$27,0007
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$61,215$27,000Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$56,244$28,769Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyBachelor's Degree$55,648Not availableNot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$55,315$27,178Not reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree$51,833$26,963Not reported
Security Science and TechnologyBachelor's Degree$51,772Not availableNot reported
Homeland SecurityUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$51,559Not available0
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$50,096Not availableNot reported
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$48,777$27,000Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$48,241$31,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$45,390$29,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$40,445$27,000Not reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$27,0000
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's DegreeNot available$27,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.