Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Iowa State University

Ames, IA · 88 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 85 · Federal debt reported for 68

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$52,596 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

12.6 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−21%Estimated return after 10 years
$65,176Observed earnings · year 5
$5,440Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $13,149 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$52,596at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$254,3560
2
4
6
8
−$52,59610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 12.6 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,787
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$28,881
Sticker price
Average net price$18,589
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$24,018
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,787$28,881 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$700Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$10,808$2,400 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$24,695Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $9,576 housing and food allowance plus $2,900 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$65,176 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online5.3%
1,711 students
Some online courses52%
16,684 students
No online courses43%
13,738 students
Undergraduates age 25+3.4%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
Land-grant institution
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

98 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Iowa run 12% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall12% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing35% below U.S.
Utilities17% below U.S.
Other services7% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$18,589Average net price / year
$24,018Cost of attendance
$22,869Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$242/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$65,176Median earnings · year 5 after completion
75.3%Completion rate
88.7%Admission rate
1,204Average SAT score
25ACT midpoint
25,367Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Iowa State University

What does Iowa State University cost?

Iowa State University reports an average annual net price of $18,589 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Iowa State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $65,176 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Iowa State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $22,869. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Iowa State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 88 field-and-degree records for Iowa State University; 85 report year-4 earnings and 68 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year71%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years76%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years79%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years83%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$22,869Median federal debt · 7,504 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 3,509 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

32,301Students enrolled at any point
26,843Undergraduate students
5,458Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$10,582
$30–48k$11,506
$48–75k$15,463
$75–110k$19,605
$110k+$22,496
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$65,176
Year 6$53,873
Year 10$63,386
Full-time retention
87.6%
Part-time retention
81.5%
Completion within 200% of normal time
75.4%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students69%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

67% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$22,340

Median Parent PLUS debt

2,667 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$19,000

Median federal student debt

73% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$58,795Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$61,085Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$67,621Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income63%
Middle income77%
Higher income81%
Undergraduate student composition
White75%
Black2%
Hispanic7%
Asian4%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Computer Programming.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 11
$126,300Year 1
$148,888Year 5
$221,868Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$113,420Year 1
$171,456Year 5
$192,261Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$102,825Year 1
$140,961Year 5
$166,117Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$95,823Year 1
$120,087Year 5
$152,227Year 10
Anthropology.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 45
$89,458Year 1
$115,056Year 5
$138,999Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 27
$92,521Year 1
$132,649Year 5
$138,294Year 10
Agricultural Business and Management.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 01
$86,016Year 1
$120,035Year 5
$133,464Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$81,671Year 1
$103,248Year 5
$133,214Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

86thEarnings percentile
75thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$62,341Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$23,250Median federal debt across categories that report debt
40%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$50,667Year 1
$68,277Year 4
$65,176Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Industrial Engineering · Master's Degree$139,5902Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$136,1323Statistics · Master's Degree$130,1314Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$123,1095Plant Sciences · Master's Degree$116,1496Veterinary Medicine · First Professional Degree$111,7427Mechanical Engineering · Master's Degree$106,2458Computer Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$105,753

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Plant SciencesMaster's Degree · $116,149 reported+64%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree · $69,673 reported+44%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree · $93,379 reported+20%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $123,109 reported+19%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree · $139,590 reported+17%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Family and Consumer Economics and Related StudiesBachelor's Degree · $62,341 reported+17%vs same-degree national median$18,062federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Iowa City, IA

University of Iowa

Annual net price
$22,531
Observed earnings · year 5
$66,310
Modeled 10-year ROI
-21%
Open college profile →
Sheldon, IA

Northwest Iowa Community College

Annual net price
$14,800
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,526
Modeled 10-year ROI
-52%
Open college profile →
Cedar Falls, IA

University of Northern Iowa

Annual net price
$15,901
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,258
Modeled 10-year ROI
-70%
Open college profile →
Council Bluffs, IA

Iowa Western Community College

Annual net price
$14,629
Observed earnings · year 5
$49,011
Modeled 10-year ROI
-83%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 88 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree$139,590Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$136,132Not availableNot reported
StatisticsMaster's Degree$130,131Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$123,109Not available7
Plant SciencesMaster's Degree$116,149Not available5
Veterinary MedicineFirst Professional Degree$111,742Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$106,245Not available1
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$105,753$24,337Not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$104,211$24,663Not reported
Construction EngineeringBachelor's Degree$100,676$20,500Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,705$26,997Not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$95,102Not availableNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree$94,089$26,572Not reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$93,379Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,914$23,750Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,773$20,188Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$92,050Not availableNot reported
Agricultural EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,576$21,500Not reported
Agricultural EngineeringMaster's Degree$87,824Not availableNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$87,413Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,938$23,500Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,427$25,250Not reported
Materials EngineeringBachelor's Degree$83,416$23,125Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$83,267$24,438Not reported
Engineering-Related FieldsBachelor's Degree$82,548$25,236Not reported
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningMaster's Degree$79,527Not availableNot reported
Agricultural MechanizationBachelor's Degree$78,890$20,946Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$78,304$22,2505
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$75,360$21,750Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$75,355$23,414Not reported
StatisticsBachelor's Degree$72,581$23,625Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$70,706$23,250Not reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree$69,673Not availableNot reported
ArchitectureBachelor's Degree$69,310$31,000Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree$67,529$16,972Not reported
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyMaster's Degree$66,778Not availableNot reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$66,486$23,250Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$66,482$23,250Not reported
Food Science and TechnologyBachelor's Degree$65,943$26,254Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$65,204$26,250Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Iowa State University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.