Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Linfield University

McMinnville, OR · 11 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 11 · Federal debt reported for 11

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$94,576 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

7.5 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+33%Estimated return after 10 years
$83,072Observed earnings · year 5
$50,180Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $23,644 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$94,576at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$286,1440
2
4
6
8
+$94,57610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 7.5 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$50,850
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$50,850
Sticker price
Average net price$26,536
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$65,935
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$50,850Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$400Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$14,640$3,200 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$69,090Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,640 housing and food allowance plus $3,200 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$83,072 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online8.9%
170 students
Some online courses41%
787 students
No online courses50%
944 students
Undergraduates age 25+11%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Oregon run 3% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% above U.S.
Goods5% above U.S.
Housing9% above U.S.
Utilities7% above U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$26,536Average net price / year
$65,935Cost of attendance
$25,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$265/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$83,072Median earnings · year 5 after completion
70.5%Completion rate
85.2%Admission rate
1,621Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Linfield University

What does Linfield University cost?

Linfield University reports an average annual net price of $26,536 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Linfield University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $83,072 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Linfield University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $25,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Linfield University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 11 field-and-degree records for Linfield University; 11 report year-4 earnings and 11 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year75%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years80%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years88%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$25,000Median federal debt · 746 borrowers
Students who withdrew$10,123Median federal debt · 417 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

1,860Students enrolled at any point
1,773Undergraduate students
87Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$20,059
$30–48k$18,664
$48–75k$22,806
$75–110k$26,070
$110k+$32,519
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$83,072
Year 6$70,643
Year 10$78,638
Full-time retention
79.7%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
72.2%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students71%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

75% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$29,240

Median Parent PLUS debt

264 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$21,000

Median federal student debt

77% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$75,182Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$82,496Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$78,443Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income74%
Middle income81%
Higher income84%
Undergraduate student composition
White57%
Black2%
Hispanic23%
Asian6%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

96thEarnings percentile
68thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$58,347Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$27,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
64%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$69,076Year 1
$81,180Year 4
$83,072Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$109,3742Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$78,6833Business Administration, Management and Operations · Bachelor's Degree$77,9834Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$67,9465Marketing · Bachelor's Degree$66,7316Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness · Bachelor's Degree$58,3477Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas · Bachelor's Degree$57,9758Communication and Media Studies · Bachelor's Degree$54,091

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree · $109,374 reported+23%vs same-degree national median$31,000federal debt2Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree · $77,983 reported+14%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt3Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree · $57,975 reported+13%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt4Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $52,429 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt5Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree · $58,347 reported+7%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt6Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $53,493 reported+5%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in OR

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Portland, OR

University of Portland

Annual net price
$28,210
Observed earnings · year 5
$79,327
Modeled 10-year ROI
+17%
Open college profile →
Portland, OR

Warner Pacific University

Annual net price
$25,629
Observed earnings · year 5
$58,144
Modeled 10-year ROI
-53%
Open college profile →
Newberg, OR

George Fox University

Annual net price
$31,679
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,120
Modeled 10-year ROI
-44%
Open college profile →
Salem, OR

Willamette University

Annual net price
$25,121
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,960
Modeled 10-year ROI
-68%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 11 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$109,374$31,000Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$78,683$28,0000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$77,983$27,0001
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$67,946$27,000Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$66,731$27,000Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$58,347$27,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$57,975$27,000Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$54,091$27,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$53,493$27,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$52,429$27,000Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$49,714$27,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.