Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

University of Portland

Portland, OR · 24 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 22 · Federal debt reported for 18

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$50,430 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

8.5 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+17%Estimated return after 10 years
$79,327Observed earnings · year 5
$40,818Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $12,608 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$50,430at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$292,8400
2
4
6
8
+$50,43010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 8.5 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$58,100
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$58,100
Sticker price
Average net price$28,210
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$73,224
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$58,100Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,020Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$17,260$1,948 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$78,328Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,962 housing and food allowance plus $2,668 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$79,327 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students study without distance-education courses.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online0.8%
30 students
Some online courses21%
788 students
No online courses78%
2,904 students
Undergraduates age 25+1.7%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Oregon run 3% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% above U.S.
Goods5% above U.S.
Housing9% above U.S.
Utilities7% above U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$28,210Average net price / year
$73,224Cost of attendance
$21,370Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$227/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$79,327Median earnings · year 5 after completion
79.8%Completion rate
89.2%Admission rate
1,277Average SAT score
29ACT midpoint
2,957Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about University of Portland

What does University of Portland cost?

University of Portland reports an average annual net price of $28,210 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do University of Portland graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $79,327 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do University of Portland graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,370. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at University of Portland worth the same?

No. The current release contains 24 field-and-degree records for University of Portland; 22 report year-4 earnings and 18 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year81%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years87%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years90%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years91%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,370Median federal debt · 893 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,387Median federal debt · 375 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

3,537Students enrolled at any point
3,115Undergraduate students
422Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$20,070
$30–48k$16,577
$48–75k$23,858
$75–110k$27,021
$110k+$37,284
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$79,327
Year 6$67,913
Year 10$82,804
Full-time retention
88.3%
Part-time retention
0.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
79.2%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students75%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

73% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$50,360

Median Parent PLUS debt

610 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$18,950

Median federal student debt

80% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$85,168Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$81,012Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$82,789Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income79%
Middle income84%
Higher income91%
Undergraduate student composition
White38%
Black3%
Hispanic21%
Asian22%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

95thEarnings percentile
81thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$75,400Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$22,888Median federal debt across categories that report debt
59%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$59,965Year 1
$80,459Year 4
$79,327Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$125,9292Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$105,8593Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$103,8234Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$100,2425Educational Administration and Supervision · Doctoral Degree$97,0646Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$95,6867Mechanical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$93,1198Civil Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$89,448

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree · $95,686 reported+26%vs same-degree national median$24,020federal debt2Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree · $125,929 reported+18%vs same-degree national median$22,590federal debt3Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree · $103,823 reported+17%vs same-degree national median$28,750federal debt4Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $53,963 reported+14%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt5MathematicsBachelor's Degree · $78,568 reported+13%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Social WorkBachelor's Degree · $57,253 reported+11%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in OR

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

McMinnville, OR

Linfield University

Annual net price
$26,536
Observed earnings · year 5
$83,072
Modeled 10-year ROI
+33%
Open college profile →
Newberg, OR

George Fox University

Annual net price
$31,679
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,120
Modeled 10-year ROI
-44%
Open college profile →
Portland, OR

Warner Pacific University

Annual net price
$25,629
Observed earnings · year 5
$58,144
Modeled 10-year ROI
-53%
Open college profile →
Portland, OR

Reed College

Annual net price
$33,013
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,263
Modeled 10-year ROI
-64%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 24 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$125,929$22,590Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$105,859$20,875Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$103,823$28,750Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$100,242Not available0
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$97,064Not available11
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$95,686$24,020Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$93,119$23,681Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$89,448$23,250Not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree$84,313$23,500Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$78,568Not availableNot reported
Applied MathematicsBachelor's Degree$77,908$20,810Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$72,891$22,8210
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree$62,264$20,828Not reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree$62,075Not available0
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$58,051$22,846Not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$57,253Not availableNot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree$54,975$22,875Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$53,963$27,0000
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree$53,853$23,499Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$53,002Not availableNot reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$50,579$22,494Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$49,434$20,057Not reported
ChemistryBachelor's DegreeNot available$22,900Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's DegreeNot available$24,250Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.