Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Marian University

Indianapolis, IN · 12 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 12 · Federal debt reported for 9

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$84,142 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

14.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−30%Estimated return after 10 years
$64,193Observed earnings · year 5
$2,983Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $21,036 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$84,142at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$276,0720
2
4
6
8
−$84,14210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 14.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$40,664
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$40,664
Sticker price
Average net price$24,018
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$56,258
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$40,664Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$13,850$4,699 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$60,413Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $10,031 housing and food allowance plus $4,811 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$64,193 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online27%
1,281 students
Some online courses26%
1,229 students
No online courses47%
2,186 students
Undergraduates age 25+21%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

225 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Indiana run 7% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall7% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing26% below U.S.
Utilities14% below U.S.
Other services1% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$24,018Average net price / year
$56,258Cost of attendance
$27,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$286/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$64,193Median earnings · year 5 after completion
67.2%Completion rate
95.5%Admission rate
2,266Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Marian University

What does Marian University cost?

Marian University reports an average annual net price of $24,018 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Marian University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $64,193 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Marian University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $27,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Marian University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 12 field-and-degree records for Marian University; 12 report year-4 earnings and 9 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year52%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years60%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years61%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years63%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$27,000Median federal debt · 1,019 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,334Median federal debt · 616 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

4,756Students enrolled at any point
3,435Undergraduate students
1,321Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$23,195
$30–48k$19,896
$48–75k$21,690
$75–110k$26,092
$110k+$26,671
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$64,193
Year 6$55,704
Year 10$58,759
Full-time retention
75.9%
Part-time retention
100.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
63.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students57%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

50% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$24,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

213 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$18,750

Median federal student debt

56% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$52,964Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$62,813Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$61,023Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income52%
Middle income58%
Higher income72%
Undergraduate student composition
White56%
Black17%
Hispanic15%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

84thEarnings percentile
63thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$66,725Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$27,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
58%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$61,718Year 1
$72,150Year 4
$64,193Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Medicine · Doctoral Degree$174,9932Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$81,7063Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$77,7714Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$76,7805Educational Administration and Supervision · Master's Degree$76,2986Business Administration, Management and Operations · Bachelor's Degree$66,9597Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness · Bachelor's Degree$66,4918Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods · Master's Degree$62,593

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1MedicineDoctoral Degree · $174,993 reported+48%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree · $66,491 reported+22%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt3Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree · $76,298 reported+6%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $50,399 reported+6%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt5Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $53,635 reported+6%vs same-degree national median$26,750federal debt6Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree · $62,593 reported+4%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IN

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Crawfordsville, IN

Wabash College

Annual net price
$24,336
Observed earnings · year 5
$64,747
Modeled 10-year ROI
-29%
Open college profile →
Angola, IN

Trine University

Annual net price
$25,355
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,278
Modeled 10-year ROI
-35%
Open college profile →
Notre Dame, IN

Saint Mary's College

Annual net price
$25,292
Observed earnings · year 5
$65,300
Modeled 10-year ROI
-28%
Open college profile →
Greencastle, IN

DePauw University

Annual net price
$22,264
Observed earnings · year 5
$65,357
Modeled 10-year ROI
-24%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 12 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
MedicineDoctoral Degree$174,993Not available143
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$81,706$37,444Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$77,771$31,000Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$76,780$27,500Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$76,298Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$66,959$27,000Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$66,491$27,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$62,593Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$61,951$27,000Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$54,648$27,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$53,635$26,750Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$50,399$27,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.