Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City

Kansas City, MO · 19 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 16 · Federal debt reported for 14

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$179,742 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

63.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−84%Estimated return after 10 years
$48,385Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$179,742at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$213,5920
2
4
6
8
−$179,74210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 63.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$3,630
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$9,600
Sticker price
Average net price$8,398
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$14,665
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$3,630$9,600 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$2,064Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$5,694Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,246 housing and food allowance plus $8,126 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$48,385 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online24%
4,139 students
Some online courses39%
6,776 students
No online courses38%
6,643 students
Undergraduates age 25+25%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Associate degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,912 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Missouri run 9% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall9% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing30% below U.S.
Utilities21% below U.S.
Other services5% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$8,398Average net price / year
$14,665Cost of attendance
$10,073Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$107/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$48,385Median earnings · year 5 after completion
33.6%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
10,649Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City

What does Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City cost?

Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City reports an average annual net price of $8,398 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $48,385 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $10,073. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City worth the same?

No. The current release contains 19 field-and-degree records for Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City; 16 report year-4 earnings and 14 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year34%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years40%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years45%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years53%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$10,073Median federal debt · 612 borrowers
Students who withdrew$5,500Median federal debt · 1,638 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

18,664Students enrolled at any point
18,664Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$7,279
$30–48k$7,449
$48–75k$9,621
$75–110k$10,667
$110k+$13,171
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$48,385
Year 6$35,026
Year 10$40,796
Full-time retention
66.8%
Part-time retention
38.8%
Completion within 200% of normal time
32.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students30%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

23% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowingNot available

Median Parent PLUS debt

16 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$6,625

Median federal student debt

38% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$37,509Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$45,974Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$51,242Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income30%
Middle income51%
Higher income60%
Undergraduate student composition
White53%
Black17%
Hispanic16%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Associate degree · Broad federal field 14
$36,903Year 1
$74,200Year 5
$98,592Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate degree · Broad federal field 43
$58,019Year 1
$61,036Year 5
$81,295Year 10
Computer Programming.Associate degree · Broad federal field 11
$42,641Year 1
$70,668Year 5
$81,043Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$54,951Year 1
$64,632Year 5
$78,867Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate degree · Broad federal field 15
$53,255Year 1
$68,626Year 5
$78,843Year 10
Computer Programming.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 11
$48,213Year 1
$69,900Year 5
$66,438Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 43
$47,525Year 1
$55,207Year 5
$63,235Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 15
$61,769Year 1
$63,401Year 5
$62,590Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

57thEarnings percentile
16thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$53,619Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$9,795Median federal debt across categories that report debt
69%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$39,252Year 1
$50,121Year 4
$48,385Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Engineering, General · Associate's Degree$80,8432Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$80,3593Computer Programming · Associate's Degree$73,1724Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Associate's Degree$64,9735Precision Metal Working · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$57,7296Criminal Justice and Corrections · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,9887Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,4448Fire Protection · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,042

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $49,056 reported+38%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Computer ProgrammingAssociate's Degree · $73,172 reported+26%vs same-degree national median$11,038federal debt3Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $57,729 reported+19%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree · $47,501 reported+15%vs same-degree national median$7,934federal debt5Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree · $47,408 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$26,214federal debt6Engineering, GeneralAssociate's Degree · $80,843 reported+11%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MO

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Hillsboro, MO

Jefferson College

Annual net price
$7,378
Observed earnings · year 5
$49,826
Modeled 10-year ROI
-77%
Open college profile →
Cottleville, MO

St Charles Community College

Annual net price
$5,837
Observed earnings · year 5
$48,743
Modeled 10-year ROI
-82%
Open college profile →
Bridgeton, MO

Saint Louis Community College

Annual net price
$8,440
Observed earnings · year 5
$43,709
Modeled 10-year ROI
-106%
Open college profile →
Joplin, MO

Missouri Southern State University

Annual net price
$12,007
Observed earnings · year 5
$49,630
Modeled 10-year ROI
-80%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 19 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Engineering, GeneralAssociate's Degree$80,843Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$80,359$21,188Not reported
Computer ProgrammingAssociate's Degree$73,172$11,038Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$64,973$14,843Not reported
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$57,729Not available21
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,988$4,82120
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,444$21,36517
Fire ProtectionUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$56,042$8,75044
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$51,195$13,171Not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR)Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$51,184Not available4
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$49,056Not available13
Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree$47,501$7,934Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree$47,408$26,214Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$44,321$7,321Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasAssociate's Degree$36,771$7,199Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$28,243Not availableNot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$9,08964
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or DiplomaNot available$10,5002,585
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralAssociate's DegreeNot available$8,500Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.