Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Midwestern State University

Wichita Falls, TX · 28 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 27 · Federal debt reported for 17

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$91,024 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

16.7 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−40%Estimated return after 10 years
$58,560Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$91,024at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$226,6240
2
4
6
8
−$91,02410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 16.7 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,580
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$12,530
Sticker price
Average net price$11,656
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$22,652
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,580$12,530 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$600Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$11,124$4,036 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$26,340Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $11,124 housing and food allowance plus $4,036 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$58,560 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online32%
2,068 students
Some online courses49%
3,162 students
No online courses19%
1,265 students
Undergraduates age 25+22%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

521 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Texas run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing3% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$11,656Average net price / year
$22,652Cost of attendance
$21,030Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$223/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$58,560Median earnings · year 5 after completion
42.7%Completion rate
93.5%Admission rate
4,087Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Midwestern State University

What does Midwestern State University cost?

Midwestern State University reports an average annual net price of $11,656 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Midwestern State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $58,560 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Midwestern State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,030. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Midwestern State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 28 field-and-degree records for Midwestern State University; 27 report year-4 earnings and 17 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year50%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years63%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years69%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,030Median federal debt · 1,371 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,500Median federal debt · 1,387 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

6,147Students enrolled at any point
4,903Undergraduate students
1,244Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$8,856
$30–48k$9,886
$48–75k$11,445
$75–110k$15,365
$110k+$18,988
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$58,560
Year 6$46,637
Year 10$55,747
Full-time retention
63.9%
Part-time retention
55.6%
Completion within 200% of normal time
44.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students35%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

47% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$14,576

Median Parent PLUS debt

690 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$13,533

Median federal student debt

53% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$53,458Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$55,147Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$61,171Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income47%
Middle income57%
Higher income66%
Undergraduate student composition
White41%
Black14%
Hispanic28%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$98,992Year 1
$114,157Year 5
$123,919Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$62,818Year 1
$92,948Year 5
$106,266Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$77,149Year 1
$86,253Year 5
$100,908Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$63,451Year 1
$72,204Year 5
$100,794Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$57,372Year 1
$90,004Year 5
$96,105Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Associate degree · Broad federal field 51
$53,566Year 1
$72,192Year 5
$83,306Year 10
Outdoor Education.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 31
$47,243Year 1
$67,042Year 5
$81,671Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$43,122Year 1
$64,652Year 5
$79,937Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

78thEarnings percentile
28thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$59,289Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$26,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
30%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$50,745Year 1
$62,250Year 4
$58,560Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$132,4982Health and Medical Administrative Services · Master's Degree$90,7183Mechanical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$87,1604Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$87,0095Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$84,5476Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Bachelor's Degree$83,6227Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$77,6408Dental Support Services and Allied Professions · Bachelor's Degree$74,347

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree · $49,896 reported+21%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree · $83,622 reported+18%vs same-degree national median$24,000federal debt3Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree · $132,498 reported+10%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsBachelor's Degree · $74,347 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$19,500federal debt5Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesBachelor's Degree · $51,917 reported+2%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree · $84,547 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$23,338federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TX

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

San Antonio, TX

The University of Texas at San Antonio

Annual net price
$10,836
Observed earnings · year 5
$58,103
Modeled 10-year ROI
-41%
Open college profile →
Denton, TX

Texas Woman's University

Annual net price
$11,963
Observed earnings · year 5
$60,022
Modeled 10-year ROI
-34%
Open college profile →
Odessa, TX

The University of Texas Permian Basin

Annual net price
$12,723
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,411
Modeled 10-year ROI
-46%
Open college profile →
Houston, TX

University of Houston-Downtown

Annual net price
$10,542
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,780
Modeled 10-year ROI
-33%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 28 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$132,498Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$90,718Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$87,160$31,000Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$87,009$27,000Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$84,547$23,338Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$83,622$24,000Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$77,640Not availableNot reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$74,347$19,500Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$66,000$24,900Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$63,445Not availableNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$61,966$24,000Not reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$61,418Not availableNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$59,534Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$59,289$27,373Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$55,986$28,026Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$52,286$28,000Not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesBachelor's Degree$51,917Not availableNot reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$51,901$35,135Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$50,888$25,668Not reported
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesBachelor's Degree$50,067$22,244Not reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree$49,896Not availableNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree$48,989$27,375Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$47,651$26,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$46,729$25,000Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsMaster's Degree$45,895Not availableNot reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree$39,067Not availableNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$38,748Not availableNot reported
HistoryBachelor's DegreeNot available$30,500Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.