Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Mississippi State University

Mississippi State, MS · 62 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 60 · Federal debt reported for 49

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$137,070 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

22.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−55%Estimated return after 10 years
$56,331Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$137,070at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$250,3800
2
4
6
8
−$137,07010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 22.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,202
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$27,637
Sticker price
Average net price$17,595
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$29,267
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,202$27,637 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$12,902$6,409 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$30,713Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $13,187 housing and food allowance plus $6,409 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$56,331 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online20%
4,941 students
Some online courses44%
11,085 students
No online courses36%
9,208 students
Undergraduates age 25+7.5%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
Land-grant institution
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

99 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Mississippi run 13% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall13% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing44% below U.S.
Utilities22% below U.S.
Other services4% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$17,595Average net price / year
$29,267Cost of attendance
$22,142Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$235/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$56,331Median earnings · year 5 after completion
66.7%Completion rate
77.6%Admission rate
1,219Average SAT score
26ACT midpoint
18,397Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Mississippi State University

What does Mississippi State University cost?

Mississippi State University reports an average annual net price of $17,595 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Mississippi State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $56,331 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Mississippi State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $22,142. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Mississippi State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 62 field-and-degree records for Mississippi State University; 60 report year-4 earnings and 49 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year61%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years63%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years69%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years72%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$22,142Median federal debt · 4,759 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,081Median federal debt · 3,443 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

25,545Students enrolled at any point
20,101Undergraduate students
5,444Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$14,332
$30–48k$14,372
$48–75k$18,671
$75–110k$20,704
$110k+$22,987
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$56,331
Year 6$43,487
Year 10$51,513
Full-time retention
82.5%
Part-time retention
47.4%
Completion within 200% of normal time
64.4%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students50%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

53% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$19,562

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,980 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$16,000

Median federal student debt

59% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$44,732Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$53,701Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$59,010Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income54%
Middle income68%
Higher income76%
Undergraduate student composition
White73%
Black16%
Hispanic5%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

74thEarnings percentile
62thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$58,363Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,219Median federal debt across categories that report debt
23%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$41,867Year 1
$59,311Year 4
$56,331Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Veterinary Medicine · First Professional Degree$137,8922Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$128,0493Civil Engineering · Master's Degree$110,8214Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$106,0395Chemical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$95,9686Construction Management · Bachelor's Degree$94,0687Mechanical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$93,8938Industrial Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$92,332

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Agricultural Production OperationsBachelor's Degree · $69,160 reported+29%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $128,049 reported+24%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree · $78,998 reported+19%vs same-degree national median$20,500federal debt4Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree · $110,821 reported+13%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesMaster's Degree · $86,410 reported+9%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Animal SciencesBachelor's Degree · $52,755 reported+6%vs same-degree national median$20,938federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MS

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

University, MS

University of Mississippi

Annual net price
$13,314
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,853
Modeled 10-year ROI
-49%
Open college profile →
Columbus, MS

Mississippi University for Women

Annual net price
$12,411
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,745
Modeled 10-year ROI
-36%
Open college profile →
Alcorn State, MS

Alcorn State University

Annual net price
$13,265
Observed earnings · year 5
$49,285
Modeled 10-year ROI
-82%
Open college profile →
Hattiesburg, MS

University of Southern Mississippi

Annual net price
$21,708
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,681
Modeled 10-year ROI
-94%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 62 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Veterinary MedicineFirst Professional Degree$137,892Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$128,049Not availableNot reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$110,821Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$106,039$26,750Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$95,968$23,298Not reported
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$94,068$30,500Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$93,893$22,500Not reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,332$27,000Not reported
Engineering, OtherBachelor's Degree$91,124$19,4690
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$90,234Not availableNot reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,444$17,625Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesMaster's Degree$86,410Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$85,275$19,500Not reported
TaxationMaster's Degree$85,149Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$82,852$24,896Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$81,203$21,219Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$79,635Not available22
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$79,068$22,500Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree$78,998$20,500Not reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$74,780$27,750Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$74,542$25,350Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$70,904$21,500Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$70,367$22,500Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$69,787$22,050Not reported
ArchitectureBachelor's Degree$69,699$31,000Not reported
Agricultural Production OperationsBachelor's Degree$69,160Not availableNot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$62,082$26,2860
Interior ArchitectureBachelor's Degree$61,421$22,254Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$61,364$21,500Not reported
ForestryBachelor's Degree$58,499$19,750Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree$58,226Not available0
Nutrition SciencesMaster's Degree$57,622Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$57,090Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$55,993$24,7001
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$54,325$26,547Not reported
Animal SciencesBachelor's Degree$52,755$20,9380
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$51,427Not availableNot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$51,221$23,3131
Plant SciencesBachelor's Degree$50,653$20,311Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$50,503$25,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Mississippi State University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.